• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Go On Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sportscaster Ryan King (Matthew Perry) is sent to mandatory group counseling after the death of his wife.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Aug 8, 2012
    100
    Happily, they are not your average sitcom weirdo crazy group-therapy people. These folks are oddballs, yes, but they are oddballs trying to overcome great tragedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Aug 8, 2012
    80
    [Go On] is among the best new comedies of the season.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Aug 7, 2012
    70
    The best thing about Go On is, not surprisingly, Perry.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Aug 8, 2012
    67
    There's enough in this first episode to bring me back for more, but a lot of potential trouble signs along the way.
  5. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    63
    The push-pull between over-talking and ignoring will drive Go On.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 8, 2012
    60
    The pilot is aiming for a balance of dark humor, heart and flat-out funny that it doesn't quite manage.
  7. 30
    It holds the distinction of being the first TV show I've ever wished that I could punch in the crotch.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    I find this show very light and funny. Matthew Perry is great comic. He makes me smile every time I see and hear him. It`s difficult to combine drama and comedy in one show, but Matthew Perry does it very well.So I think it must go on:) Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Love this show! The show is funny, deep at the same time and it just makes you smile. Matthew Perry's humour is great! He and the whole cast make me laugh every time> One of the best comedy shows in tv. Collapse
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    it is a really wonderful show, which combines the difficulty some people face in the society over the loss of someone and the connection we all have when we are confined in a room and share our feelings. i just wish they increase more stars. i heard courtney cox would be a guest and i think its awesome Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    7
    I think Matthew Perry has grown a lot since Chandler and I think is about time people see it. I think for a pilot it really shows a promising line in the plot that will follow, with a good cast and a great performance by Perry himself. Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2012
    7
    First off: I am NOT a Matthew Perry fan. I find him to be 2-dimensional and, well, a cardboard cutout of himself in everything he appears in.

    Except this.

    I've only watched the first ep, but it was enough to get me to write this review. Also, I am not a sports fan, in any way at all, so the idea of watching Matthew Perry play a sportscaster didn't fill me with a warm enthusiasm. But I'll be watching again.
    Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    This show is very watchable. Not going to say it is the best show on television. Some characters work and some don't. The crazy guy doing the Zach Galifiankis impression is broken and should have been played by someone who can make it work. I still enjoy each episode even if it isn't very funny because it is all very light and likable. The dead wife ghost as a recurring character is kinda dumb. It was interesting for an episode but she shouldn't be a regular character. Overall it looks to be one of the few shows I am keeping on the DVR recording. Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    1
    I tune my tv on warner ch just to wait for another late sitcom, and "Go On" is played, Oh Lord, it's a painful to see it....that guy (Mathew Perry) does nobody tell him that his career ends when "Friends" get out of air? Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. Fall TV Second Look: Go On (NBC)

    Fall TV Second Look: Go On (NBC) Image
    Published: October 10, 2012
    The August pilot for NBC's new Matthew Perry sitcom stands among the highest-scoring new fall comedies. But how good has "Go On" been over its subsequent episodes? Find out what critics have been saying about the show over the past month.