Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 9, 2010
    100
    A winner. And for the Hoffmans' sake--plus family and friends along for the ride--let's hope there is gold in that hard, cold ground.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    It's entertaining enough if real-life make-it-or-break-it tension is what you're looking for in TV. That's also a bit of better-them-than-me satisfaction that comes in watching this and all the Tough Guy TV shows. Gold Rush has the added element of will-they-or-won't-they make it rich.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Dec 9, 2010
    58
    With its relentless narration, Gold Rush: Alaska more often plays like anaudible.com download with stunning visuals of Sarah Palin's home state as a backdrop.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Gold Rush brims with can-do spirit, but such an exercise is only as good as its characters, and after two installments, it's hard to distinguish one prospector from the next.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Both shows ["Storage Wars" and Discovery's Gold Rush: Alaska] also have their moments of absorbing drama and distasteful levels of bullheadedness, set against an American backdrop that once again seems mere steps away from the full-on, Cormac McCarthy-style apocalypse.
  6. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Dec 9, 2010
    30
    Gold Rush is jaw-dropping television. Not only are most of these men total boobs and incompetents, but their stupidity borders on criminal at times.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jan 7, 2013
    2
    In summary: A bunch of incompetent morons trying to find some gold with no result....ps: and they are annoying as hell. The show is dragged out and nothing happens. They are the kind of people i would never accompany (backstabbing, jealous, The Hoffman family has no authority or leadership skills, and they have no idea how to get gold...). I see no reason why someone would join them ( I am a peaceful person, but they way the Hoffmans talk to their employees is very disrespectful, and they behave aggressively if something does not goes as planned....I would like to hurt them real bad sometimes). Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2014
    1
    The first 40 min. Is footage from the last weeks episode, I already saw this @%+!& last week!!!!!!!!!!!! Stop wasting my time!!!!!!!! Get a new editor !!!!!!!!!! Dumb @/&?"! Full Review »
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    I found this show to be quiet interesting to watch, i mean who doesnt dream of finding gold,haha. Sure there are some flaws in the story like assuming someone finds the motherload, which has not occured over all 3 seasons so hopefully they do on the next one, but good to watch anyways Full Review »