Happy Endings : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 13, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 12, 2011
    83
    Happy Endings quickly gets its game in gear and emerges as ABC's best new sitcom since Better Off Ted unfortunately failed to find an audience.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 11, 2011
    80
    Happy Endings excels at fearless humor that's sometimes shocking, not because it's gratuitous, but because it's an unexpected surprise--and a welcome one at that.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 14, 2011
    75
    At least Endings has something fresh at it's core....Even better, the well-cast ensemble includes Casey Wilson. [25 Apr 2011, p.44]
  4. Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Apr 13, 2011
    75
    When Happy Endings is funny, it's need-to-pause-the-DVR-because-I'm-laughing-so-hard funny. And viewers should easily be able to commit to that.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 13, 2011
    75
    Happy Endings, which sounds like the special at a cheap massage parlor, is so funny I heard a noise I haven't heard in a very long time while watching a sitcom: the sound of me yelping so loudly it could frighten dogs.
  6. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Apr 12, 2011
    75
    Original, it's not. But these friends do have chemistry, and some great moments as a hipster Greek chorus.
  7. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 7, 2011
    75
    After seeing four episodes of the newest pal-com, Happy Endings, I'd have to say it's...not bad at all.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 12, 2011
    70
    It is nothing new, but it is well assembled and expertly played.
  9. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 12, 2011
    70
    Turns out Happy Endings is one of those rare TV cases of rising above, as the writing and the ensemble energy trump the stale premise.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    Funny. Really. Out of all the new "Comedy" shows on TV right now, this has the best fresh and "twenty something" vibe that is close to the eraFunny. Really. Out of all the new "Comedy" shows on TV right now, this has the best fresh and "twenty something" vibe that is close to the era of Friends. It's not as good as How I Met Your Mother, but something to definitely check out. For most people there is probably at least one relate-able character. Full Review »
  2. May 25, 2011
    10
    I think this show is the funniest comedy out there right now! Right up there with "how I met your mother." Every episode has at least oneI think this show is the funniest comedy out there right now! Right up there with "how I met your mother." Every episode has at least one scene that you find yourself rewinding to, because you were laughing too hard to see the whole thing. Every character has their own unique and comedic flare to bring to the table. I look forward to it every week and haven't been disappointed yet. Please, check it out! You won't regret it! Full Review »
  3. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    Even after only one short season I have fallen for this modern comedy and all of its characters. The humor in this show is both hilarious andEven after only one short season I have fallen for this modern comedy and all of its characters. The humor in this show is both hilarious and just subtle enough to be fully enjoyable. The characters are believable, heart warming, play their roles beautifully. The plot gives you the option to either watch one episode or enjoy the series as a whole which is always a plus. Not to mention the slight romantic tones give this shows an edge over all others of its kind. Full Review »