• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 13, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Happy Endings Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Creator: David Caspe
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Apr 13, 2011
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 12, 2011
    83
    Happy Endings quickly gets its game in gear and emerges as ABC's best new sitcom since Better Off Ted unfortunately failed to find an audience.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Apr 13, 2011
    75
    When Happy Endings is funny, it's need-to-pause-the-DVR-because-I'm-laughing-so-hard funny. And viewers should easily be able to commit to that.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 14, 2011
    75
    At least Endings has something fresh at it's core....Even better, the well-cast ensemble includes Casey Wilson. [25 Apr 2011, p.44]
  4. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Apr 12, 2011
    50
    Happy Endings is both a retro version of "Friends" and a more superficially progressive one.
  5. Reviewed by: Brent McKnight
    Apr 13, 2011
    50
    As of one episode, it's decently entertaining, though its sharp writing suggests potential. It's earned my interest for at least a couple of more episodes.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 13, 2011
    50
    Some of the situations they encounter on the dating and relationship circuit are promisingly wacky, but the tortured jokes lean way too heavily on pop-culture references.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 12, 2011
    30
    It's all too frantic, too full of obnoxious people contorting themselves into stupid lies in the service of jokes that never quite land.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. May 25, 2011
    10
    I think this show is the funniest comedy out there right now! Right up there with "how I met your mother." Every episode has at least oneI think this show is the funniest comedy out there right now! Right up there with "how I met your mother." Every episode has at least one scene that you find yourself rewinding to, because you were laughing too hard to see the whole thing. Every character has their own unique and comedic flare to bring to the table. I look forward to it every week and haven't been disappointed yet. Please, check it out! You won't regret it! Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Initially, I was only pulled to this show because one of the actors (Damon Waynes, Jr.) from the "The New Girl" pilot was on this show. DamonInitially, I was only pulled to this show because one of the actors (Damon Waynes, Jr.) from the "The New Girl" pilot was on this show. Damon Waynes, Jr. does an excellent job playing the goofy, but lovable husband to the almost OCD wife played by Eliza Coupe. Adam Pally plays the very lovable, atypical gay man who takes underachiever to a whole new level and Zachary Knighton and Elisha Cuthbery play the split couple the show is loosely based around. However, a lot of the show's scenes are stolen by the very talented Casey Wilson, who plays the someone neurotic, Penny. A lot of the themes are pretty relevant to a lot of 20somethings/30somethings, from relationships to professional dreams. All-in-all, one of the greatest new shows that's come out last midseason. Expand
  3. May 5, 2013
    10
    Great well written under rated show with interesting characters. Kind of How I Met Your Mother meets Spaced mets Scrubs. Lots of filmGreat well written under rated show with interesting characters. Kind of How I Met Your Mother meets Spaced mets Scrubs. Lots of film references. Not for those who like more serialized shows, though does help to see the first to understand how characters relate to each other. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With all the shows that came out this year hoping to capture the magic of "Friends", I think this show came closest. The cast is young, attractive (Of course Elisha Cuthbert, but Casey Wilson, hello!), each character is unique and funny (favorites so far...Casey Wilson's Penny & Adam Pally's Max), and I love the fact they got Damon Wayans to play his son's character's father. And the hipster episode? Hilarious. Can't wait for the second season. Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    Funny. Really. Out of all the new "Comedy" shows on TV right now, this has the best fresh and "twenty something" vibe that is close to the eraFunny. Really. Out of all the new "Comedy" shows on TV right now, this has the best fresh and "twenty something" vibe that is close to the era of Friends. It's not as good as How I Met Your Mother, but something to definitely check out. For most people there is probably at least one relate-able character. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    enjoyed the show ..light fare , a bit thirty something , meets about last night (rob lowe) with current themes slipped in like side dishes atenjoyed the show ..light fare , a bit thirty something , meets about last night (rob lowe) with current themes slipped in like side dishes at a diner. modern approach to most . The gay character was ..sadly not even close. But loved him just the same. Hugs Adam, you have it going on anyway.
    But his hag (the adorable and zoftdig penny wilson) added enough viggor and zest to overcome adam pally's attempts at gay . eliza coupe was intense..love it.. daman wayans jr incredible,funny, unpredictable..why could'nt he be the gay character he has the range ..the next jim carrey meets Daman Sr (very talented and intense man)
    zachary knighton -a delight, gorgeous, funny and you connect with his sense of "what the hell happened back at the alter" . elisha cultbert - wanted to hate her for leaving alex..loved her anyway..she's great and connected well with all the cast. added fun, lively, and a sense of style , not afraid to laugh at herself.
    miss this show..cancelled :(
    Expand
  7. JBM
    Apr 17, 2011
    2
    I had high hopes for this show with the promotion and the success of Modern Family. I was badly disappointed. The characters wereI had high hopes for this show with the promotion and the success of Modern Family. I was badly disappointed. The characters were uninteresting but trying very hard and with no success to be funny. The show had no central sense of "place" and the relationships of the characters hard to figure out. None of the characters were likable. The pilot was muddled with far too many subplots going on all at once. I was at the same time confused and did not care to try to figure it out. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.