Helix : Season 1

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 10, 2014
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 178

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 9, 2015
    8
    Apparently no one in this series understands quarantine protocol. But other than the silliness in the scientific ignorance of the show, it's pretty entertaining.
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    7
    Expectations are let down, met, and exceeded in SyFy's new sci-fi thriller Helix. It definitely oscillates. There are many disappointing moments that involve any and all combinations of stiff acting, hackneyed dialogue, and contrived plot points (then again, it IS television). However, it's the savory moments of unbridled suspense and scientific curiosity that make this show enjoyable, andExpectations are let down, met, and exceeded in SyFy's new sci-fi thriller Helix. It definitely oscillates. There are many disappointing moments that involve any and all combinations of stiff acting, hackneyed dialogue, and contrived plot points (then again, it IS television). However, it's the savory moments of unbridled suspense and scientific curiosity that make this show enjoyable, and possibly even worth watching. Diseased super-humans crawl through air ducts while the CDC slowly unravels the twisted research that is going on in the Arctic. Technicians are violently infected to the beat of ditzy elevator soundtracks. There are also smaller story lines, such as Dr. Farragut and Dr. Walker's distant romantic pasts, and whatever the hell conspiracies Major Balleseros is running. But trust me, you won't give a second thought to those.
    The show's all science fiction fun, playing off the notions and fears that modern science and genetics present in the pursuit of a more perfect human being (haven't we seen that premise before). And yes, you'll roll your eyes at least five times an episode. But I would give at least the first two episodes a shot. This spiffy and safely produced approach towards biogenetics gone wrong may appeal to you.

    FINAL SCORE: 70 (pretty good)
    Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    First impressions of the show are good, I enjoy seeing similar stories pushed to the limit to keep us hanging on the edge of our seats. For me the acting is important but can get by some inexperienced actors with a good story.

    Helix is trying to force us to expect the unexpected, and I'm eating it up, the earlier episodes are a little slow as we engage the characters then incomes the
    First impressions of the show are good, I enjoy seeing similar stories pushed to the limit to keep us hanging on the edge of our seats. For me the acting is important but can get by some inexperienced actors with a good story.

    Helix is trying to force us to expect the unexpected, and I'm eating it up, the earlier episodes are a little slow as we engage the characters then incomes the corporation who has plans (which are still not clear except that they want the virus.... Is it going to be the normal pharmaceutical trap of infect and sell the cure for profits???? Having said that does that explain the immortality of some characters, could this turn to be a creation of a new race and only the strongest can survive?

    However whatever the final episode brings... lets hope for the network order a 2nd season.
    Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    I'm amazed at how much I like this show. It is very suspenseful and chilling. I was skeptical at first since I'm not a huge fan of syfy series but this one I'm glad to make an exception. the story is about members of the CDC go to a base in the arctic to contain a possible outbreak, as you can expect things go BAD and things just get worse from there. I don't want to spoil any of theI'm amazed at how much I like this show. It is very suspenseful and chilling. I was skeptical at first since I'm not a huge fan of syfy series but this one I'm glad to make an exception. the story is about members of the CDC go to a base in the arctic to contain a possible outbreak, as you can expect things go BAD and things just get worse from there. I don't want to spoil any of the story because it needs to be experienced by the viewer. The acting is also well done as are the special effects and CG. The way things are going I think this series will be one, if not the best syfy series on this season. Helix is a gripping, suspenseful and at times chilling tv series that shows what could happen when scientist try to play god. 9/10 Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Show has a real sense of mystery and suspense that really hooks you early in the first 3 episodes. Makes you want to stick around and see what happens. Really looking forward to see what the writers come up with next.
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    A 9 is too high for this show but I think a 6.0 is so incorrect that I am giving it a 9. Firstly, this show is entertaining. It's fun and interesting to watch. The science is actually pretty accurate sometimes and the ideas are interesting as well. They even got the pupil dilation with the morphine injection correct (Unlike Requiem for a Dream. The characters are pretty good but couldA 9 is too high for this show but I think a 6.0 is so incorrect that I am giving it a 9. Firstly, this show is entertaining. It's fun and interesting to watch. The science is actually pretty accurate sometimes and the ideas are interesting as well. They even got the pupil dilation with the morphine injection correct (Unlike Requiem for a Dream. The characters are pretty good but could certainly use some more depth and background. Normal isn't interesting, the show seems to grasp this with the overall plot but not with he characters. Each character has quirks like any human being, but this is television, so making things more dramatic and interesting is good and fun to watch, and thus it would have been nice for some of the main characters to be a greater extent of abnormal. The show is predictable at times, and unpredictable on rare occasions thus far, but that's fine with me. It's great entertainment overall. Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Helix is a show unlike any show you've seen before. It is however, not unlike any movie you've seen before. Helix plays out very much like a movie, or it's TV equivilent, a mini-series. It's premise has never been done before in a week to week format. Movies such as "The Thing" or "Contagion" are the closest examples I could think of to describe Helix. Helix is an original, powerful dramaHelix is a show unlike any show you've seen before. It is however, not unlike any movie you've seen before. Helix plays out very much like a movie, or it's TV equivilent, a mini-series. It's premise has never been done before in a week to week format. Movies such as "The Thing" or "Contagion" are the closest examples I could think of to describe Helix. Helix is an original, powerful drama by the people that brought you the epic space odyssey, Battlestar Gallatica. As a viewer, you are given solid elements, constants that remain the same. There is a base in the arctic, there is a deadly virus. These things don't change. And then you are given the variables, the things that fluctuate, the characters. In this show, there are many sides, many agendas, and many goals. You dont know who you can trust. Everyone has secrets, everything is a mystery and questions are always being raised. But what makes helix so great, is that questions ... are also being answered. Together, along with Dr. Alan Farragut and his CDC team, you delve into the mystery of the base, the virus, and the people who run it. And it's all brilliant.

    I cannot recommend a more intelligent, and well produced series, than Syfy's Helix.
    Expand
  8. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    Not the smartest newcomer of this season; however, I'm compelled to say that this show grows on you (not like a wart).

    First, I want to address the first two episodes, which aired as one, in its premiere on Syfy. The first half works a lot like Andromeda Strain, setting up the storyline and the claustrophobic atmosphere. By the end of the third episode, the show hits its stride with
    Not the smartest newcomer of this season; however, I'm compelled to say that this show grows on you (not like a wart).

    First, I want to address the first two episodes, which aired as one, in its premiere on Syfy. The first half works a lot like Andromeda Strain, setting up the storyline and the claustrophobic atmosphere. By the end of the third episode, the show hits its stride with some nice intensity. Should the effects be better? Sure. But I start to care for the characters and buy into the mystique to look the other way. Is it derivative? Yes, but I think that's the play...like homage after homage...playing into our own pop culture bricolage and giving us a pastiche based on our worst fears--especially for hypochondriacs.

    The show does need better writing in terms of dialogue and perhaps bringing in more "tip of the hat" to philosophy like what LOST was able to accomplish--the type of fodder that creates a canon for science fiction fans to devour, scrutinize, and blog about to get through the week until the next episode.

    RDM and company needs to trust their audience more and give us a density of ideas that makes our Friday night (or DVR) watching a more rich experience in fear and nightmarish gore.
    Expand
  9. Apr 1, 2014
    7
    There's some pretty bad (over)acting and the plot is often silly, but the suspense works and somehow we got to like it enough to keep on watching, even the silly bits.
  10. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    4 episodes in, this Syfy drama has shown its willingness to create mystery. It's utilized the horror associated with the virus to explore character histories and the mythology of Helix's world in general. The biggest pitfalls result from the archetypal characters. But a few of these characters are already being fleshed out. That said, it's been fun trying to unpack the source of the virus4 episodes in, this Syfy drama has shown its willingness to create mystery. It's utilized the horror associated with the virus to explore character histories and the mythology of Helix's world in general. The biggest pitfalls result from the archetypal characters. But a few of these characters are already being fleshed out. That said, it's been fun trying to unpack the source of the virus and the duplicitous intentions of several of the characters. Expand
  11. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well im all caught up to Episode 9 , and i must say it started slow, , the following episodes 4,5 and 6 began getting Decent. they begin to flesh out the characters as well as building suspense and mystery as to WTH is up with The EYES ?? ;> .........Episodes 7-9 Really Kick the action up and begin to unfold kind of whats all going on between the several subplots....I.E , Mika times 2 , Balisares, Julia and hitake, the Brothers Boss Vector , and ends with The Missing VIAL being walked out of the DOME.......ALL in all i love the show, definetly glad i stayed for the first 3 or 4 episodes as it is now one of my favorites shows and DEFINITELY MY FAV. ScyFy Show and ONLY show i watch on ScyFy cause 90% of the rest of their programming is GHOST CHASERS but i digress ....... 10 Thumbs up.....GIVE it 4 episodes if you are on the Fence you wont be Dissapointed !!!! Expand
  12. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    Helix is a sci fi series set at an arctic research base where a virus gets loose and infects half the staff.A group from the CDC arrive to investigate and then the fun begins.Right off the bat,I love it.This is one of the SYFY channels better series I can ever recall.Fully fleshed characters run the gamut of emotions and are 3 dimensional.Well so far all except the main male character heroHelix is a sci fi series set at an arctic research base where a virus gets loose and infects half the staff.A group from the CDC arrive to investigate and then the fun begins.Right off the bat,I love it.This is one of the SYFY channels better series I can ever recall.Fully fleshed characters run the gamut of emotions and are 3 dimensional.Well so far all except the main male character hero who has yet to impress me as 3 dimensional..ot it could be the script is not giving him a chance..Everyone else -excellent.I'm fussy so I do not let actors off the hook easilly for cardboard portrayals.I am grateful SYFY is learning a thing or two about good television.If you like The Walking Dead and Regenesis ,well put em together and you have Helix.Another element that stands out is the soundtrack-it is engaging and effective.I can't predict if Helix will stay interesting but I love it so far. Expand
  13. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Excellent series full of suspense and a lot of mystery to keep you coming back for more. The pure isolation element with all of the various characters conflicting motives (although the full picture behind a lot of these motives has yet to be completely revealed) make for a dark entangled web. I find a couple of the negative reviews quite humorous where they site standard CDC proceduresExcellent series full of suspense and a lot of mystery to keep you coming back for more. The pure isolation element with all of the various characters conflicting motives (although the full picture behind a lot of these motives has yet to be completely revealed) make for a dark entangled web. I find a couple of the negative reviews quite humorous where they site standard CDC procedures when the unique location, the base's nature and the disease itself make for anything but a standard situation. Awesome show. Expand
  14. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    The dialogue can be a little cheesy, and the story line a little far fetched, but the show has proved to be exciting and unpredictable. I really find myself looking forward to this show on Friday nights.. I wasn't sure after the first episode or two, but I am definitely hooked.
  15. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    It oscillates all the first shows were really good. Not that there have been bad shows .

    It is a good history considering all takes place in a claustrophobic environment
  16. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    At first it doesn't appear too original but it is a slow burner and despite the at times poor dialogue the characters get stronger over time. It takes some well known concepts and carries them out effectively with the addition of a few unexpected twists and turns
  17. Sep 25, 2016
    8
    First half of S1 was amazing - straight up 9/10, with possibilities of going to a 10/10 if it had kept up the pace. But keep up the pace it didn't, it just quickly degraded around mid-season and started doing really cheap, cheesy and stupid things (like introducing absolutely childish and cartoony characters like "The Scythe", or like the decidedly too many close-up horror scenes withFirst half of S1 was amazing - straight up 9/10, with possibilities of going to a 10/10 if it had kept up the pace. But keep up the pace it didn't, it just quickly degraded around mid-season and started doing really cheap, cheesy and stupid things (like introducing absolutely childish and cartoony characters like "The Scythe", or like the decidedly too many close-up horror scenes with happy music). So sadly I had to take it from a 9 and demote it to an 8. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    83
    The story is an edge-of-your-seat kind of thriller. Clues are dropped, but you never know what’s coming next.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    Billy Campbell anchors the cast admirably as Dr. Alan Farragut.... Mr. Sanada is always intriguing to watch. And some of the show’s support players bring welcome spunk to the claustrophobic world of the research center, especially Catherine Lemieux as Dr. Doreen Boyle, a smart pathologist with a smart mouth.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 10, 2014
    70
    Helix doesn't reinvent the virus thriller, but it's a solid slice of genre entertainment that offers some creepy visuals and believable scares.