• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 8, 2010
  • Season #: 1
Hellcats Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Marti Perkins (Aly Michalka) uses her dance and gymnastics skills to win a cheerleading scholarship at Lancer University after losing her other scholarship, but it is only the beginning of the drama she will encounter.
  • Genre(s): Sports, Drama, Sports
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Despite this silly and derivative setup, the pilot is actually a lot of fun. The performances are uniformly good and there are moments of promising depth to balance all the peppy hair-swinging, abs-flexing dance numbers.
  2. We've seen it all before, but it's still fluffy fun. [10 Sep 2010, p.82]
  3. For all its formulaic predictability, though, this show has an acerbic self-awareness that may defuse the cynicism you may bring to it.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    Played partly tongue in cheek, the show's premiere isn't quite unabashedly trashy enough to completely qualify as a guilty pleasure, but one can see it developing into that.
  5. Tom Welling's picked up all the wrong lessons from behind the screen, from premise to character development. Hellcats is poorly paced and its attempts at comedy and drama stumble.
  6. With all due respect to cheerleaders, and, um, hellcats, I'm a dog person myself. So when I say I didn't actually hate Hellcats, it means something. If nothing else, I'm in awe of the athleticism.
  7. 10
    It is mean-spirited, painfully dumb and badly acted.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    I really liked the episode, but I'm from Russia. I would like it to continue, the second season. At least for 2 million people. Sorry but that will not happen, but I hope that for him who ever undertake. Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2010
    7
    Its funny and it gives a diverse site rather than the happy cheerleaders that we usually see today. The show is classic CW mirroring shows like One Tree Hill. The show itself isn't fresh but it will be interesting to see how they develop the characters, as its still very early on. The only problem for me is that it seems very 'Bring it on' as another reviewer suggested but that might change in episodes to come. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2010
    7
    It actually wasn't that bad. Most of the acting was good, and the pilot was fun, and cheerful.
    I can see it getting lots of fans, but I'm
    waiting for the ratings to tell me if it gets renewed or canceled. Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2010
    6
    I just watched the show, to be honest I'm not sure yet what I think about it. I'm definitely going to watch next week episode, to see what I really think about the show. So the pilot did his job because I'm curios about next week. I'm afraid the show will be to predictable, first episode sure was. I wonder whether the show will make it through this season, I don't think there will be a lot of fans. But who knows. Only time will tell. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2010
    5
    Vainglorious acting and overused material make this sexy, cheer-leading manifestation a drag at times. The script seems very sophomoric even when the writers give hints that their lead character isn't all that. Collapse
  6. Sep 13, 2010
    5
    The lead actress brings something new to this very tired genre, and the relationship between the incoming football coach and the cheerleading coordinator might be fun, but overall this lacks that certain something that grabs you and makes you want to watch another episode. Granted, I'm far from the target demographic, but this type of show should have a little something for everyone. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2010
    2
    Not so good. I made it all the way to the first 20 minutes of the pilot until she put a tape of Bring It in the VCR and I thought wow rip off a movie premise and then flaunt it. I'm not a fan of Glee but I can see the people on Glee have some talent to sing and dance, this is a less good copy of a show I don't even watch. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews