• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 29, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Hello Ladies Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Stephen Merchant (Life's Too Short) stars in this HBO comedy about a tall and awkward Englishman searching for the woman of his dreams in Los Angeles.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 27, 2013
    80
    It is funny and disturbing in exactly the manner and proportions one would expect from his earlier works.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    A little buzzkill-condescending, but there's enough mirth to affirm the sitcom's promise. [4 Oct 2013, p.61]
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Oct 3, 2013
    70
    Little by little, Hello Ladies grows on you.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 27, 2013
    58
    Hello Ladies is so much of a piece with both "The Office" and "Life's Too Short"--oblivious asshole keeps putting himself in humiliating situations because of an overinflated sense of self--that it's tiresome almost from the start.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 27, 2013
    50
    Hello Ladies already seems well-worn by the end of Episode 2. Some of Merchant’s asides are amusing enough, but not to the point of caring one way or the other about what befalls his character.
  6. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 27, 2013
    50
    We've seen this show before, in fresher settings, with stronger comic structure --from, in fact, the same creators: Merchant and American "Office" writers Lee Eisenberg and Gene Stupnitsky.
  7. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 27, 2013
    40
    Stephen Merchant plays a socially awkward British web designer living in Los Angeles who's not good with women, but in ways so obvious (and obnoxious) that it's hard to commiserate with him, much less laugh.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    Critics have no idea what they're talking about. Very nice to finally see Stephen Merchant as a leading character, as he thoroughly deserves it. Have been following him since the XFM radio days and think this show is brilliant. Well done to HBO for thinking outside the box yet again and showing why TV has become such an interesting medium in the last 5-10 years.

    They should allow more british reviews on here as I think many of the critics here have a serious issue with the humour differences and the subtleties. Americans need things spelled out so they're so quick to write something off if they don't get it straight away.

    Watch it and see for yourself, and don't pay any attention to the critics Stephen, your show is awesome!
    Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    Reviewers have clearly missed the boat on this show. People love it. Wonder why they are so quick to dismiss Merchant. This show is actually a more honest portrayal of what most of LA acting scene actually is. Funny it clearly is, but it presents much more than that. The acting is great and the show should be renewed. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    Cant wait for rest of the series. The dry awkwardness corners are rounded off compared to his earlier 'more british' programs but had some good laughs and had some great chemistry between Merchant and friends and his love interest alike. Love seeing Merchant as the fish out of water in big LA Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    This is one of the funniest new shows on TV. can't wait for the rest of the season to unfold and see what Jessica and Stuart get themselves into. Also Rory and Wade are HILARIOUS. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    It took until the 5th episode for me to really get hooked, but now I'm anxious to know what happens to the main characters, so I hope this series is renewed! As always, so sweet and sad, and painfully funny. Contrary to what some reviewers have said, the stories and jokes don't seem contrived, but are shockingly and outrageously realistic, according to what I've heard about Hollywood from actor friends trying to live and work there. Stuart's Englishness and gangliness make him a kind of outsider to the bizzare world of Los Angeles, just as we viewers are. His awkwardness and painful attempts to fit in mirror how we are all flawed and struggling, as are all those beautiful Hollywood kids trying to make it in that meat grinder of a metropolis. I love Stephen Merchant's intelligence and humor and have really enjoyed this series... The 7th one made me cry with sympathy for Stuart, so I know he is on to something. More, we want more! Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    I love this show. Can't wait from week to week to see what's coming next. A hilarious fresh new show. I see a lot of similarities humor wise between Hello Ladies and Todd Margaret. Give this show a chance and you won't be disappointed. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    I would like to like this show, I really would but this guy is so blinded by fantasy he completely misses out on the real people who cross his path. His ego and superficial ways makes you lose all sympathy for him. I know too many men like him out here in Los Angeles so watching a show about these jerks ends up just irritating me Expand

See all 27 User Reviews