Hemlock Grove : Season 1

  • Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 225 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 225

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    Hemlock Grove is REALLY weird, and REALLY gross. But it is SO weird, and SO gross, that you have to keep watching to find out what happens. It's haunting and clever and does supernatural in an original and spooky way. I couldn't think of any series that I would compare to Hemlock Grove, except for maybe Bedlam. If you're a fan of adult supernatural dramas and horror movies, Hemlock GroveHemlock Grove is REALLY weird, and REALLY gross. But it is SO weird, and SO gross, that you have to keep watching to find out what happens. It's haunting and clever and does supernatural in an original and spooky way. I couldn't think of any series that I would compare to Hemlock Grove, except for maybe Bedlam. If you're a fan of adult supernatural dramas and horror movies, Hemlock Grove is a great choice of a series for you. Just be warned that the last episode makes no sense whatsoeever. Expand
  2. May 19, 2014
    8
    If you like supernatural shows which consists of werewolves, mad scientists, dragons, gypsies and a crazy story line to follow this show is for you. Netflix has just announced the season 2 premiere for Hemlock Grove this July 2014, I am looking forward to it. It's not the best Super Natural series out there, but it is worth a chance to continue forward.
  3. Oct 20, 2013
    3
    This show is pretty terrible. The more I watch, the worse it gets. I really enjoyed the first two or three episodes but it just keeps declining in quality.

    I don't even know what Famke Janssen is trying to do when she speaks, her accent is well off. The storyline just drags and halfway through the season doesn't seem to go anywhere. The only good thing to say is that several of the
    This show is pretty terrible. The more I watch, the worse it gets. I really enjoyed the first two or three episodes but it just keeps declining in quality.

    I don't even know what Famke Janssen is trying to do when she speaks, her accent is well off. The storyline just drags and halfway through the season doesn't seem to go anywhere.

    The only good thing to say is that several of the actors are great as are the effects.

    They're lucky this is a Netflix show because if this aired on TV it would've been cancelled.
    Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    Wow just Wow I will start by saying I absolutely love this show. I just finished season one today and the whole premise is Epic in my opinion. The setting is Impeccable and very dreary in the best way possible. I love the characters in the show all of them shine but specifically "Landon Liboiron" as Peter Rumancek and "Bill Skarsgard" as Roman Godfrey. I will say that Eli Roth has such aWow just Wow I will start by saying I absolutely love this show. I just finished season one today and the whole premise is Epic in my opinion. The setting is Impeccable and very dreary in the best way possible. I love the characters in the show all of them shine but specifically "Landon Liboiron" as Peter Rumancek and "Bill Skarsgard" as Roman Godfrey. I will say that Eli Roth has such a creative imagination that shouldn't be overlooked nor is it in this show. I did expect a tad more violence then there was but that is to be expected due to character development. I would recommend this to anyone. I'm so excited for season two coming this Friday on July 11th!!!!! Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Sometimes you can read the user reviews and see they are higher than the 'professional critics' reviews and think to yourself it's just some dumb ass teens or some idiot social media marketing gimp employed by the film company but here, the professionals are wrong. Hemlock grove was really really enjoyable! It has that kind of quirky Twin Peaks vibe and a kind of 'this is our style, getSometimes you can read the user reviews and see they are higher than the 'professional critics' reviews and think to yourself it's just some dumb ass teens or some idiot social media marketing gimp employed by the film company but here, the professionals are wrong. Hemlock grove was really really enjoyable! It has that kind of quirky Twin Peaks vibe and a kind of 'this is our style, get used to it' about it as a netflix original that house of cards had, that draws you in and makes you think someone up there in netflix towers is all about good drama and not set pieces designed to make you come back from the next ad break. Who keep burbling on about it being twilight?? It really IS NOT, its way more intimate and thought enjoyable, Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I was actually surprised by how much I loved this show. It was actually well put together and had possibly the most realistic werewolf transformation I've ever seen! The characters are real interesting along with all their stories. Some episodes are real emotional. This is what it would be like to be a werewolf or vampire in real like. But be warned, this show does not sugar coat ANYTHINGI was actually surprised by how much I loved this show. It was actually well put together and had possibly the most realistic werewolf transformation I've ever seen! The characters are real interesting along with all their stories. Some episodes are real emotional. This is what it would be like to be a werewolf or vampire in real like. But be warned, this show does not sugar coat ANYTHING gore or sex wise and the story line will take you on a crazy ride! Expand
  7. May 7, 2013
    3
    I went into this show with no expectation other than the hope of it being watchable but it WAS not even that for me. It felt uneasy to watch because I could not make sense of what it wanted to say. It just seemed to be going nowhere. Although the sister who was tall and had a disfigurement was the most intriguing of the characters.
  8. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    I had to turn it off about 2/3 through the first episode. The acting was ridiculous and Famke Janssen's accent was so bad that I was embarrassed for her. The production value looks like an amateur high school project and the dialogue is cheesy and robotic. A serious misstep for Netflix. Nowhere near the quality of House of Cards.
  9. Oct 1, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hemlock Grove was the kind of show I was expecting to be **** I was expecting some kind of Twilight rip off (movie I already don't like to begin with). I was running out of shows to watch and my very-grown-up-manly-friend recommended it to me. I thought to myself ''hell, why not? If it's bad...well too bad.'' I see that the reviews are not that great and I actually understand why. It is not the kind of show most of people will enjoy.

    Now my review! Well, I ended up binge-watching the two seasons in like 4-5 days and that's a good sign. It is truly a great show. Why? Because for once, we can experience an original and different approach of the werewolf/vampire stories which are way overused (poorly) since the last couple of years.

    We follow the story of Roman (upir/vampire) and Peter (werewolf), two young adults living in the small town of Hemlock Grove - a weird and mysterious place where people die and disappear quite often. Both characters have strong personalities and anger management issues. Peter is aware that he's a werewolf and his mother and him are living like gypsies on the road since forever. Roman is a rich boy who comes from a upir family, but he doesn't really know about it and is very confused about who he is and why he has different ''needs'' than other people. Peter and Roman are best friends, very close, but very impulsive which can ruin their friendship forever and cause chaos around them - around the people they love.

    I won't go in details, but the relationship between the two is very strange and special. Both actors are delivering emotions and playing their roles greatly. I would say that Roman's character is a little bit more interesting than Peter for the simple reason that we learn to know Roman at the same time he discovers himslef, which is very exciting. Secondary characters come and go, but the main ones (Olivia, Letha, Norman and Shelly) have a strong importance to the story. Some episodes will be focused on those characters, more than on Roman and Peter.

    Negative points? I would say that the reason why I did not put 10 is because some of the secondary actors are kind of annoying/over-the-top. I feel like Christina & Letha are two characters who got very intense background/personalities, but they're not important enough to dig deeper. I wish we had to know more about them in order to understand why they are who they are. Also, I felt like some episodes were a little irrelevant.

    Hemlock Grove is a medium-paced action/drama TV show that is bringing a feeling of freshness in the fantastic genre. Netflix did a great job in the last two years, building a thrilling (and not kitcsh/cheap) serie for young adults to enjoy. Not only pre-teens like vamps and wolves! I learned that the Season 3 will be the last and it saddens me very much. Please share the love so that more people can appreciate it.
    Expand
  10. Apr 20, 2013
    2
    dog sh!t would be too kind a description for this show. the acting is awful, the accents are unbelievable, the people are irrational. It's basically twilight the TV show (or what I imagine to be twilight the TV show since I've never seen or read twilight).. I couldnt take more than 20 minutes of episode one and was tempted to just cancel my netflix subscription in protest of this ranciddog sh!t would be too kind a description for this show. the acting is awful, the accents are unbelievable, the people are irrational. It's basically twilight the TV show (or what I imagine to be twilight the TV show since I've never seen or read twilight).. I couldnt take more than 20 minutes of episode one and was tempted to just cancel my netflix subscription in protest of this rancid manure

    It's a sad showing that the shown in the first 30 seconds are probably the best thing to come from this garbage
    Expand
  11. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    When I first started watching this show, my husband and I laughed when we shouldn't have and I started to think it was horrible but I couldn't stop watching it. My husband gave up on it on episode 2 but I stayed the course and was pleasantly surprised to actually like Hemlock Grove for what it is. Does it have pacing issues? Yes. Are there accent issues? Yes. But i consider a show good ifWhen I first started watching this show, my husband and I laughed when we shouldn't have and I started to think it was horrible but I couldn't stop watching it. My husband gave up on it on episode 2 but I stayed the course and was pleasantly surprised to actually like Hemlock Grove for what it is. Does it have pacing issues? Yes. Are there accent issues? Yes. But i consider a show good if i can keep pushing through it and be thoroughly entertained.

    So check this out if you are bored and cannot find anything on Netflix. And watch until at least episode 3 before you pass judgement. It is like LOST in that way.
    Expand
  12. May 30, 2015
    0
    just watched the first ten minutes of this and srsly..wtf is this? 2 roman gypsies doing what all gypsies do'? the mother smokes opium while "MOTHERS LITTLE THIEF" steals some clothes? man, does realy every badass speak russian in america and when clothes get stolen u know that gypsies are near? this is so racist cant believe its a netflix production. just thought about paying the 9bucksjust watched the first ten minutes of this and srsly..wtf is this? 2 roman gypsies doing what all gypsies do'? the mother smokes opium while "MOTHERS LITTLE THIEF" steals some clothes? man, does realy every badass speak russian in america and when clothes get stolen u know that gypsies are near? this is so racist cant believe its a netflix production. just thought about paying the 9bucks per month, but not to racist pricks. Expand
  13. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    1. the script is lackluster and poor, and that's being generous. everything about the show is mundane. sure there's a guy that turns into a dog, but that's about it. nearly all of the show involves actors standing delivering lines OR having softcore porn on screen, which i hate with a passion, it's just evidence of wasting 15 minutes, without dialogue. This is a detective story with one1. the script is lackluster and poor, and that's being generous. everything about the show is mundane. sure there's a guy that turns into a dog, but that's about it. nearly all of the show involves actors standing delivering lines OR having softcore porn on screen, which i hate with a passion, it's just evidence of wasting 15 minutes, without dialogue. This is a detective story with one character having psychic powers and the other being able to turn into a dog, which doesn't help the plot at all.
    2. the actors are terribad. literally it is like they are reading the script as they film it. the fake accent is over the top bad.
    3. the gore is unnecessary and misplaced. the writers literally are like, "oh and we need gore this episode", and the pull out a flash back of a gore scene or randomly show someone being pummeled, with blood oozing out.
    4. this series is about tricks and not about story. There is one episode where they have 10 sex scenes, including a lesbian one. so let's count, that's the entire episode. They literally had nothing to write about that day. and, if sex doesn't do it for you, wait up, someone is going to get mad over nothing, so you can see some anger drama. but, wait, if that's not your gig, they'll pull out the gore stick, here boy, fetch, look at the gore.
    5. sloooooooooooooooooow, everything is slow in this series. for 9 episodes we have no clue what the real plot is, who they are talking about, who this dragon is, why does one character have psychic powers; why does one character turn into a dog; why do the two main women hate each other; why is the uncle screwing his sister, when he is married. At some point some of these answer need to come to light.
    Expand
  14. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I don't get really engaged with a lot of shows, but this one drew me right in. It's like reading a book, revealing the story one page at a time. Love it and can't wait for season 2
  15. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    Beautiful and chaotic. Every conversation reads like poetry. Every set looks like an oil painting. Compeling characters, slow burn passionate story. My favorite show currently is "Rectify", but this is so much more fun that i think it really should be hemlock Grove. If this doesn't prove that critics are morons, nothing can.
  16. Dec 14, 2014
    2
    @Woodsy - I agree, nothing grabs my attention, cliche characters and script. Roman Godfrey (Bill Skarsgard) is trying too hard to be Steve Buscemi, a la Boardwalk Empire. But he's supposed to be in high school. In fact, all the "kids" look too old. I'll give it one more episode, otherwise I'm out.
  17. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Worth watching more than just the pilot. I enjoyed the series quite a bit. I felt it picked up a few episodes in, slowed down a bit in the middle, then picked up in the end. The acting aside from a couple characters was done really well.

    There was quite a bit left unsolved and seems as though it is set up for a 2nd season.
  18. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe.
  19. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this show, it's unique and it doesn't hold back. I feel they did an excellent job with the cast and the special effects are top notch everything looks so realistic. I'm really looking forward to season 2.
  20. Feb 17, 2014
    2
    The story was confused, pulled in too many directions, and felt like a re-run of so many other shows we have seen in this genre. I feel the show runner had many ideas for this show and tried to use them all in one season. It ended in a big mess.
  21. Apr 29, 2015
    5
    This show is good, well written and has realistic reactions to unrealistic events. However it is SLOW, my god is it slow. I find my self wanting to watch it while also checking my email during it. While nothing like DBZ it goes in the same bucket as its a great show until I try to watch it.
  22. May 9, 2013
    7
    While it never really got amazing, I did watch the show start to finish. I found it layered too many mysteries on top of one another without offering enough explanation. Eventually it seemed like every character on the show knew what was going on while we, the audience, were in the dark. However, I found it enjoyable enough and would probably watch a second season if it would refineWhile it never really got amazing, I did watch the show start to finish. I found it layered too many mysteries on top of one another without offering enough explanation. Eventually it seemed like every character on the show knew what was going on while we, the audience, were in the dark. However, I found it enjoyable enough and would probably watch a second season if it would refine some of the areas that weren't as great. I would be really excited if there were more special effects shots and supernatural goings ons. Expand
  23. Sep 9, 2014
    3
    This is the third netflix original tv series I've watched and so far I'm 1 out of 3! Yet again, netflix has released another terrible show onto unsuspecting people! This one is worse than "orange is the new black", at least story wise. Hemlock grove starts off with some guy in a store just staring at the entrance door, some girl looks in and walks away, the next scene is those same twoThis is the third netflix original tv series I've watched and so far I'm 1 out of 3! Yet again, netflix has released another terrible show onto unsuspecting people! This one is worse than "orange is the new black", at least story wise. Hemlock grove starts off with some guy in a store just staring at the entrance door, some girl looks in and walks away, the next scene is those same two people having sex in and a car. The guy she's screwing obviously has a thing for blood as you find out later in this horrible series. Next up, some girl is invited to her teacher's home(female teacher) but she gets mauled by an animal in a field. I've never seen a collection of UNINTERESTING characters in a tv show....ever! i literally hated every characterexcept Olivia, she was the only reason i watched the first season,her son wasn't just a spoiled little brat, his acting is TERRIBLE!, and he's completely unlikable! peter(he's a wolf) is a gypse and lives with his mom and is also unlikable....the somewhat friendship isn't even worth discussing since their always at each other's throats, also, I've never seen high school kids look so grown up...they spend the majority of their time getting drunk,smoking and snorting coke. The first few deaths occur between episodes 1 and 2 and after that, NOTHING interesting happens until episode 7! Its just terrible, there's a scene where peter is getting harnessed by his school mates, he pushs one of them and he tries to get away but guess where he runs....the freaking school bus!? After the first person is killed, the police dont even check the girls phone and questions the teacher....oh and shelly...well what can i say, she's just some disfigured girl...nothing to see here..i guess...all through season 1 there's no hint of the killers identity(which is good) but when you see who it is....well lets just say that i wasn't buying it. The story is weak and full of plot holes and generally doesn't make sense...to become a wolf all you have to do is drink from it's paw print!? how absurd! And about that scene in the final episode..my god, that had to be THE. WORST. final ten minutes I've ever seen, did she want him to eat the baby? or just feed on it a little? In any case, it left more questions then answers which i doubt is worth finding out in season 2! Watching each episode was hard since i just hated the characters, they were so bland and uninteresting too me,i didn't have an inkling of sympathy for any character save for Olivia. 3/10 Expand
  24. Apr 21, 2013
    3
    This is really hard to watch. the main characters are decent actors, but a lot of the show is spoiled by terrible acting from the supporting cast and extras etc. I almost immediately felt like someone was trying to make a serious show based off The Monster Mash. It's just too far of a stretch to get on board with.
  25. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    Not yet finished with the show, but other reviews seem harsh. The acting is not terrible but it is not great. Interesting characters and gritty cinematography keep the show going. If you are looking for a show to watch on a boring weekend give it a try.
  26. May 6, 2013
    2
    Sloooowwwww.....when we got to the middle of Episode 7 we just could not stand it any more and had to fast forward to hope to get thru the remaining ones quickly. We stopped at E10.

    I got so fed up with this show that I searched the internet to find the ending before I went to bed. From what I read the ending left a lot of answers unanswered, guess to attempt to stretch it out into
    Sloooowwwww.....when we got to the middle of Episode 7 we just could not stand it any more and had to fast forward to hope to get thru the remaining ones quickly. We stopped at E10.

    I got so fed up with this show that I searched the internet to find the ending before I went to bed. From what I read the ending left a lot of answers unanswered, guess to attempt to stretch it out into Season 2,3,4.....oh please, NO!!!! No more!!!!! How many more times do we need to see these characters having sex (not even good scenes), and listen to their same long drawn boring conversations?! This book should have been a two hrs show and that's it!!!

    TO: TV executives, please make note that not every book or a show idea needs to be a multiple season show. Do what other countries do, create an interesting show that ends in six months, than move on to another story. When you stretch out a show by inserting reruns between episodes, and the audience has to wait five months for the new episodes, audience like us would have forgotten the storyline and lost interest with the characters to follow it further. It is a big turnoff to look forward to watch the show and it turned out to be a rerun.Good example for us are: Once Upon a Time, Revenge, Lost...we have stopped watching it all together.
    Expand
  27. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    I watched the first seven episodes in one go, and I haven't been as entertained in a very long time. It was difficult to get away from the screen and into bed. It's three o'clock in the middle of the night and I'm working early.

    Reading other reviews, the show seems like a "love it or hate it" kind of thing, although it seems to me that those who didn't like it only watched one episode
    I watched the first seven episodes in one go, and I haven't been as entertained in a very long time. It was difficult to get away from the screen and into bed. It's three o'clock in the middle of the night and I'm working early.

    Reading other reviews, the show seems like a "love it or hate it" kind of thing, although it seems to me that those who didn't like it only watched one episode or less.

    Anyway, if you like mystery, horror, fantasy with a light dash of sci-fi, you should stop reading this silly review and go watch Hemlock Grove. Now.

    And to Netflix: Keep this up and you can take all my money.
    Expand
  28. Apr 19, 2013
    4
    Besides Janssen's accent, the show is pretty good. Good acting, story is interesting. Creepy and weird at the same time. Hope for more great original series from Netflix.
  29. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    As a fan of werewolf movies, I was eagerly looking forward to this
    show. I went in with no expectations or biases, having never so much as
    viewed a trailer for it. Sadly, Hemlock Grove fails to deliver in every possible way. The first episode's narrative was impossible to follow, the characterization is shallow, the music is amateur and heavy-handed, the camera-work and editing
    As a fan of werewolf movies, I was eagerly looking forward to this
    show. I went in with no expectations or biases, having never so much as
    viewed a trailer for it.

    Sadly, Hemlock Grove fails to deliver in every possible way. The first
    episode's narrative was impossible to follow, the characterization is
    shallow, the music is amateur and heavy-handed, the camera-work and
    editing choices absolutely baffling, and the acting is absolutely
    painful to behold.

    I want not only 50 minutes of my life, but the brain cells I lost while
    watching this show's first episode back really couldn't subject
    myself to view any more of it.

    Don't waste your time on this one.
    Expand
  30. May 1, 2013
    8
    Although has shades of teen-horror yarns like 'Twilight', Hemlock Grove manages to not fully commit to a young audience. Takes a few episodes to get going, but it's enjoyable, with decent performances from the two young front men especially. If you're a fan of True Blood, you'll probably enjoy this.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.
  2. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.