• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Homeland Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 535 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Six months after the end of last season, Carrie has returned from treatment to live with her family and Brody is given an opportunity to run for a higher office.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 27, 2012
    100
    The series' thriller engine turns on, turns over and begins to purr.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Sep 20, 2012
    100
    Without a doubt, Homeland is the best drama on TV right now.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2012
    100
    The show hasn't lost its clever agility at building pressure-cooker suspense and then lobbing in a surprise. [8 Oct 2012, p.55]
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 27, 2012
    100
    The show doesn't seem to have lost any ballast moving forward from the intensity of season one.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 28, 2012
    100
    What's most important is that Homeland provides a smart, thrilling hour of entertainment for the next 12 weeks.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 28, 2012
    100
    Given the extravagances of the plot and the characters, that it feels plausibly seated in the real world is a testament to everyone involved in its production. But it is especially due to the actors.
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Von Doviak
    Sep 26, 2012
    75
    Even when the spy-thriller plot gears are audibly grinding, the acting remains expertly calibrated.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 65
  2. Negative: 11 out of 65
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is a show that knows what it's doing. The writing is crisp, as is the directing. The acting is amazing, especially Danes, Lewis, and Patinkin.
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    This show is really above and beyond everything on television, breaking bad and homeland probably have the best writing and acting out of any show ever created. Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Breaking bad and this show are way above anything else currently on television. Amazing everything. Do yourself a favor and check out the show. The critics are dead on. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    8
    Season Two has some of the best acting I've seen on television in years. The episodes are very well directed and, for the most part, production values are strong, although the lower television budgets can be visible at times with motorcades, crowds, etc. The locations are sometimes obviously not metro Washington DC -- sometimes characters are supposed to be in DC yet 25-story buildings are all around them (the city limits buildings to about 14 stories).

    The big letdown for me in Season Two is that the writing is not as strong as in the first season. The dialog and characters are still strong, but the plot at times seems implausible. It seems a bit too much like 24 on occasion, which is no surprised, considering some of the writers came from that show. On the whole, I hope the writing in Season Three is stronger -- the writers need to leave the 24 template behind and seek to create their own.
    Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    Still a good show but its all getting a bit silly ...and Claire Danes character is waay to over - emotional and weepy...especially for a so-called CIA agent. The romance that is on and off again between the 2 main protagonists makes little sense also. Collapse
  6. Oct 10, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the acting is as sublime as season one, I am having a hard time suspending disbelief with some of the action in season 2 through episode 2. This is not to say I hate the show but I wonder why nobody else seems to be bothered by these crazy plot holes.

    Just a few of my questions below.

    I know they try to explain away Brody's access to classified information because he may be a VP candidate, but come on. A first term representative is watching live feeds of the US attempting to kill the most wanted man in the world?

    Even getting past that we are supposed to believe that all of our best targets are kept on a one page list that is kept in a 4 button combination safe. Also, said list is accessible if you can be alone in an office for two minutes. If I is that easy why not just pay off a janitor rather than risk a deep cover terrorist that is a congressman? Even if we get past that, we are to believe that Brody could really save Nazir with a text from the situation room. One would think that international texts during top secret missions might be blocked or at least tracked. Domestic texts for that matter too.

    Finally, I am dreading how they get around Brody being exposed by the video Sal finds at the end of episode 2. If the beginning of this season is any indication it will be beyond belief!
    Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    Just watched this for the 1st time. What a crock. Complete nonsense. If it was a Disney show I could buy it, but this is what passes for drama these days????
    Utter nonsensical garbage.
    Expand

See all 65 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Critics Are Getting Fed Up With Homeland. Are You Still On Board?

    TV Critics Are Getting Fed Up With Homeland. Are You Still On Board? Image
    Published: October 21, 2013
    In the span of two years, Showtime's "Homeland" has transitioned from one of TV's best dramas to one of its most disappointing, according to many critics. Find out why they feel that way, and whether last night's episode changed things for the better.
  2. Episode Reviews: Homeland Season 2 Finale

    Episode Reviews: Homeland Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: December 17, 2012
    Did last night's season-ending episode rescue an Emmy-winning show that had been running off the rails in recent weeks? Find out what critics are saying about the "Homeland" finale inside.
  3. 2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 13, 2012
    Nominees for the 70th annual Golden Globe Awards were announced Thursday morning, with Lincoln, Argo, and Django Unchained leading the film nominees and Homeland and Modern Family among the TV leaders. Inside, get a full list of this year's nominees, and a look at major snubs and surprises.
  4. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  5. 2012 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2012 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 24, 2012
    How was last night's Emmy broadcast? Sample the reactions of TV critics to the show, and get an analysis of the evening's winners and losers (including a complete list of winners).
  6. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  7. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  8. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  9. Episode Review: Homeland Season 1 Finale

    Episode Review: Homeland Season 1 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Showtime's "Homeland" is the fall's best new show, but did last night's finale live up to critics' elevated expectations? We sample their reactions inside.
  10. 2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2011
    Get a complete list of film and television nominees for the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards.
  11. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  12. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.