• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 27, 2013
    60
    Homeland is wearing a bit thin even while it nobly stays the course.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    This new season of Homeland.... comes across at times like a newborn foal on wobbly legs.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2013
    60
    These latest episodes represent a tentative first step toward seeing whether the show can re-ascend to those heights or, conversely, plummet into an abyss of implausibility. Like so much else pertaining to Homeland, at this point, it could go either way.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 27, 2013
    58
    Homeland now stumbles through familiar territory, and the view the second time around isn’t half as compelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 20, 2013
    40
    The third season doesn’t just stretch credulity, it tries patience.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 311 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 11 out of 36
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    Oh come on. This is more like a (very bad) soap opera set at the CIA than a spy show. In my opinion it has been deteriorating steadily forOh come on. This is more like a (very bad) soap opera set at the CIA than a spy show. In my opinion it has been deteriorating steadily for some time now and has finally become completely unwatchable.

    Specifics: let's start with Carrie Mathison. The WORST candidate for a CIA agent in the history of fiction. Her behavior would get her thrown out of a Starbucks let alone a senior role at the CIA. I can't understand how this is supposed to be a sympathetic character. She is a goddamned nightmare. A loud, aggressive, annoying, drama queen idiot. Probably one of the least likeable characters I have ever seen. I also can't understand why Claire Danes has received so many accolades for her performance. She just contorts her face, sobs, looks confused and yells a lot.

    Not that she's on screen all that much since the show now seems to be more focused on the love life of the teenage daughter of the terrorist from the previous show, and her gormless mother. My suggestions is watch this in a format you can fast forward unless you are interested in a teen romance/ coming of age drama in which case why are you watching a show about the CIA and terrorism? Go and rent Romeo and Juliet.

    The only likeable characters are Saul and Peter Quinn, who actually do some spy stuff sometimes in between crises of conscience, usually about Carrie. Quinn is a bad-ass stone cold killer. Or was. Now he wants to quit the CIA because of the way they treat people or something. Saul is an insightful troubled man with the weight of the world (or at least the protection of the USA) on his shoulders. I was pleased to see he didn't chicken out of green lighting the only bit of action on the show so far (I thought he would). However Saul regularly puts his obligations to the country second to being nice to Carrie (who causes more harm to the country/ CIA than Brodie does), giving her lots of "one more chance" opportunities and apologizing to her for perfectly reasonable things (to which she always shouts her catch phrase "f**k you Saul!").

    The plot itself has gotten so contorted I have no idea what is going on. Since last season the plot has alternated between everyone thinking Brody is a terrorist except Carrie who thinks he's innocent and her boyfriend, and everyone thinking he's innocent apart from Carrie who thinks he's a terrorist and stalks him. Brodie himself is apparently not sure and might have accidentally bombed the CIA. Currently it's the everyone says he is/ Carrie says he isn't/ stalker set up and Brodie himself is on holiday in Canada.

    Writers of Homeland, here's what I think ought to happen from here: Saul gets demoted because he let Carrie ruin the CIA/show. He is ordered to shut Carrie up once and for all. Being thoroughly fed up with her bullsh*t Saul orders Peter Quinn to kill her. Quinn goes to warn her because he has a conscience now, but she is so goddamned annoying he ends up shooting her in the head and remembers how to be bad ass. Brodie is upset at Carrie's death and vows to bomb the CIA on purpose this time and the rest of the show is about actual spying where Saul (trying to revive his career) and Peter Quinn (bad ass again) try to stop Brodie (who has finally made up his mind that he is a terrorist after all). In order to do so they kidnap Brodie's daughter and put her somewhere very, very far away from the cameras where she cannot communicate with her boyfriend. Out of kindness they let her mother go with her.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    2
    Bring back brody already, I'm sick of seeing Carrie and Dana over and over again. The best part of the series was Brody; Dana is by far theBring back brody already, I'm sick of seeing Carrie and Dana over and over again. The best part of the series was Brody; Dana is by far the most uninteresting and now she is getting the most screen time which is just ridiculous. Full Review »
  3. Oct 6, 2013
    3
    Season three is like watching a balloon slowly deflate. Where's the eminent danger? This season has turned an exciting story line into aSeason three is like watching a balloon slowly deflate. Where's the eminent danger? This season has turned an exciting story line into a melodrama train wreck. How many more Carrie meltdowns are we suppose to endure? Hey writers it's time to catch some bad guys. Get on with it! Full Review »