Homeland : Season 1

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1081 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    I'll admit, I wasn't planning to watch "Homeland" at all. Since 9/11, few television shows have treated the subject of national security with subtlety, insight, or the slightest hint of moral complexity, preferring a lobotomized patriotism that flattens characters into stick figures, stories into lessons, and ideas into platitudes. Given that Showtime's new offering didn't strain veryI'll admit, I wasn't planning to watch "Homeland" at all. Since 9/11, few television shows have treated the subject of national security with subtlety, insight, or the slightest hint of moral complexity, preferring a lobotomized patriotism that flattens characters into stick figures, stories into lessons, and ideas into platitudes. Given that Showtime's new offering didn't strain very hard to distinguish its title from ABC's egregious "Homeland Security," I assumed it would offer more of the same, though with better production values. I ended up watching the pilot because of Damian Lewis, not just because he's talented but because he tends to choose challenging, interesting projects. And "Homeland" does indeed look as though it may stand comparison with "Life" and "Band of Brothers." At the center of the series is a profound and pressing question: is a rescued American POW the same man he was before? Or has he become a traitor of the deadliest sort, repudiating American values just as he becomes a national symbol of them? It's a question that is both ingenious as a plot device and profoundly important, affecting countries and communities such as the armed forces, as well as the soldier's friends, family, and the man himself. And, so far, it remains a real question, because, on "Homeland," no character's judgment is without problems that make it at least slightly untrustworthy, so no one who claims to know the truth actually does. Thrilling stuff! And the series does indeed have Showtime's customary polish, starting with excellent acting by principals and walk-ons alike. Lewis's depiction of surface calm and subterranean chaos is, as expected, mesmerizing; he can do more with a single cheek muscle than most actors can with an extended soliloquy. I was almost as pleased not to recognize Claire Danes as an unstable CIA expert, a smart, edgy performance that perfectly balances strength and weakness. My only quibble, so far, is with a few minor plot details that seem improbable--and, for all I know, these will turn out to be clever bits of misdirection intended to fool the likes of me. Otherwise, if the series maintains the energy and intelligence of the pilot, it should appeal to a large, enthusiastic audience. Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    Great, suspenseful, and realistic show.
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    A show about a CIA agent trying to stop a terrorist attack? Not exactly original but the show does it very well. I was drawn to the show after seeing such good reviews, and decided to give it a chance since most of Showtimes series are very good.

    And i was not disappointed. The pacing is excellent, closer to that of a movie than tv show. The first season isn't over, and more has been
    A show about a CIA agent trying to stop a terrorist attack? Not exactly original but the show does it very well. I was drawn to the show after seeing such good reviews, and decided to give it a chance since most of Showtimes series are very good.

    And i was not disappointed. The pacing is excellent, closer to that of a movie than tv show. The first season isn't over, and more has been revealed than most shows do in multiple seasons.

    The question I have is what will happen with subsequent seasons. At this pace, the main story of whether Brody is turned or not will be concluded by the end of season one, unless there is another twist, which is very possible. I just hope they do not change Brody into a "good guy" because then the show loses it's main source of momentum and will become very cliche.

    If you are looking for a well-acted, fast paced, high quality series, look no further. After getting past the generic first half of the pilot, the true source of this show's intrigue is revealed, and it becomes hard to look away...
    Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    Had I reviewed Homeland after an Episode or two, I might have rated Hoemland with a 10 out of the gate. I really thought it muddled along quite a bit at the midpoint and would likely have dropped to a 6, but having seen all but the finale to Season 1, I'll settle @ 8. In many ways Homeland is "24" with a brain, but at times it gets as loopy and unrealistic as "24" and as much as IHad I reviewed Homeland after an Episode or two, I might have rated Hoemland with a 10 out of the gate. I really thought it muddled along quite a bit at the midpoint and would likely have dropped to a 6, but having seen all but the finale to Season 1, I'll settle @ 8. In many ways Homeland is "24" with a brain, but at times it gets as loopy and unrealistic as "24" and as much as I ordinariliy enjoy Clare Danes, her character (or perhaps just her acting) was far too whiney and melodramatic. Good show, but I think the critics have been a tad too generous with their critiques. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    7
    Given the lack of any great shows on TV right now, Homeland does a good job of filling the void. It is not amazing, but it is a solid, good show. I likened it to 24 with less action and replacing Jack Bauer with an annoying Claire Danes. Saul is awesome, as are the Marines and the suspense of not knowing who is a good guy and who is a "terrorist". The show really gets into gear towards theGiven the lack of any great shows on TV right now, Homeland does a good job of filling the void. It is not amazing, but it is a solid, good show. I likened it to 24 with less action and replacing Jack Bauer with an annoying Claire Danes. Saul is awesome, as are the Marines and the suspense of not knowing who is a good guy and who is a "terrorist". The show really gets into gear towards the end. I was somewhat disappointed with the outcome of the season finale, but it certainly kept me in suspense the whole time. Most episodes are available on-demand or online to keep you entertained in-between Dexter episodes or until Game of Thrones and Spartacus return. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    First of all, i believe if a show gets on Showtime, It must be good, example A, Dexter. This is no exception. the premise is an American POW is found and freed. The CIA is noticing that threats are rising and an agent assumes its the POW. I dont want to get anymore in detail but the story is excellent and never really stops leaving you at the end of each episode wanting more. The onlyFirst of all, i believe if a show gets on Showtime, It must be good, example A, Dexter. This is no exception. the premise is an American POW is found and freed. The CIA is noticing that threats are rising and an agent assumes its the POW. I dont want to get anymore in detail but the story is excellent and never really stops leaving you at the end of each episode wanting more. The only other shows that had me this way are; Dexter, 24, The Walking Dead and Breaking Bad (I watch a lot of TV, don't judge me). This has become one of my favorite new shows and I say you must watch the first episode, after that you'll be hooked. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Nothing like any other TV show we have ever seen. Suspense, Thrill, simply great Entertainment. The Characters slowly unveiling their motives and of course the big question: Is he the suspected one???
  8. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    A really great show, spectacularly acted by Danes and Lewis, with the supporting cast nailing it all around them as well, and the writing is terrific as well. Character development is crucially made poignant for the two leads as they are pulled by forces they cannot control, and all these wonderful qualities lead to an excellent conclusion. My only complaint is that the road the finaleA really great show, spectacularly acted by Danes and Lewis, with the supporting cast nailing it all around them as well, and the writing is terrific as well. Character development is crucially made poignant for the two leads as they are pulled by forces they cannot control, and all these wonderful qualities lead to an excellent conclusion. My only complaint is that the road the finale took could easily lead to a pattern of maintaining the status quo, which is an unfortunate turn taken by its network-mate Dexter in its sixth season, but my hope is the writers won't let that happen. Expand
  9. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    FLAWLESS! It was easily one of the best series of 2011. It had a very strong direction, over the top performances, great writing and brilliant twists and turns.
  10. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This was a great show and great season, Homeland Season 1. This, Game of Thrones and Boardwalk Empire are easliy the best shows on TV. Wondeful and a must watch. Keep you on th edge of your seat.
  11. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a rollercoaster ride. This show reminds me (in a good way) of 24. Carrie does some things that defy belief. Of course the reason she is so good and so bad relates to her mental illness. Expand
  12. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I watched the pilot for this show online, and I have never seen anything like it before. It is truly brilliant and Claire Danes is one of the greatest actresses alive.
  13. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    The show is good. My problem is with Metacritics deeply flawed system of rating entire seasons based on the reviews of only the the first episode. They need a per episode rating and then a cumulative rating based on all of the episodes after the season ends. For a site like this, you'd think it would be a no brainer.
  14. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    An intriguing and engaging drama that is striking in its realism. The dilemma at the core of the story will no doubt keep many viewers hooked and the show does a good job of maintaining it throughout the season. The two leads are excellent, especially Claire Danes who plays an obsessive and tenacious CIA agent. The supporting cast are all given depth and contribute to the overall story.An intriguing and engaging drama that is striking in its realism. The dilemma at the core of the story will no doubt keep many viewers hooked and the show does a good job of maintaining it throughout the season. The two leads are excellent, especially Claire Danes who plays an obsessive and tenacious CIA agent. The supporting cast are all given depth and contribute to the overall story. Each episode is paced well so that the story seldom sags and holds viewer interest. However, I can't help but feel that Homeland is missing something that would take it from 'great TV show' to 'classic TV show'. I haven't been able to pinpoint just what this is but regardless, Homeland is still one of the best new series of 2011. Expand
  15. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    Just finished watching the season finale and was blown away at how good this show was. Best show of the year for me so far (although I haven't got to Breaking Bad or Boardwalk Empire on my DVR yet). This definitely kept me squirming on my couch. I look forward to season 2.
  16. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Authentic, intense, engaging drama. A class of its own in this genre. Great actors. In fact, very giving, and generous actors. The acting alone deserve our time. Clare Danes is simply fearless. Damian Lewis is a dark horse, a pleasant surprise. David Harewood is a genius of subtlety. Morena Baccarin immense talent is still being under-utilized. Engaging, well-paced, complex, REFRESHINGAuthentic, intense, engaging drama. A class of its own in this genre. Great actors. In fact, very giving, and generous actors. The acting alone deserve our time. Clare Danes is simply fearless. Damian Lewis is a dark horse, a pleasant surprise. David Harewood is a genius of subtlety. Morena Baccarin immense talent is still being under-utilized. Engaging, well-paced, complex, REFRESHING writing /directing style. As long as the show don't descend into over-compressed pacing and cheapening of females with excessive shock-value nudity and taboo sex, more please. Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    My dad got me into this show and its so good brody gets the babes and there are so many twists this season not gonna spoil it but ya watch this show its awesome
  18. Jan 17, 2013
    9
    I was apprehensive about Homeland before watching it as there are a lot of similar shows that try to tackle the 'Homeland Security' plot and fail miserably. However, after forcing myself to watch it didn't take long before I was hooked - Homeland does a very good job at building the suspense from a very early point and hasn't eased up since. The characters personal story lines are a bitI was apprehensive about Homeland before watching it as there are a lot of similar shows that try to tackle the 'Homeland Security' plot and fail miserably. However, after forcing myself to watch it didn't take long before I was hooked - Homeland does a very good job at building the suspense from a very early point and hasn't eased up since. The characters personal story lines are a bit disappointing to me, but the general originality and 'pressure cooker' atmosphere of the main plot more than make up. Expand
  19. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    Great 2011 final. Good balance in characters. Real suspense, exactly what we would have expected from the beginning. And special reward to Brody's daughter who brings the emotion. The way it was moving at the beginning, I wouldn't have though I would take that pleasure in the end.
  20. Oct 3, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To put it simply, this is the best new fall show. Damien Lewis yet again proves that he was more than a one hit wonder as Major Winters. His portrayal of sgt. Brody has stirrings of iconic character etched into its potential slot.. Well written and even better preformed, the ticks of a man who's just been brought back from the dead are performed with such nuance that if Lewis keeps this up he'll be looking at emmy's in no time. Daines is just as fantastic, in her portrayal of a bipolar CIA agent. No massive fits, no absurd outbursts, just Daines portraying a woman who is fighting for her country while trying to keep it together. The pilot keeps the plot to simply setup. No radical and insane ideas that you would find in shows like 24. Instead it plays like what one would imagine a return from the afterlife would be like for a soldier who gave his all fro his country. The writing is tense without pushing to hard, emotional without being throwaway fluff, intelligent without losing its gravitas. If the rest of the season delivers on what the pilot has proposed, I will be glued to it from start to finish. Expand
  21. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Far more fascinating than I would have expected, the writing and acting here is really incredible and the show does a great job of building atmosphere in the small moments while also painting a fairly complicated big picture: we're constantly left in doubt as to whether Carrie's hunch about Damien is correct, even as an audience we (or at least I) tend to become less sure as the show goesFar more fascinating than I would have expected, the writing and acting here is really incredible and the show does a great job of building atmosphere in the small moments while also painting a fairly complicated big picture: we're constantly left in doubt as to whether Carrie's hunch about Damien is correct, even as an audience we (or at least I) tend to become less sure as the show goes on. And then further doubt is cast that we're correct in going in the "not terrorist" direction. Watching the penultimate episode now, I'm not unsure, and that's quite a feat for a show to pull off for so many episodes. He seems like a very decent guy, yet I could also imagine him blowing up Congress: how messed up is that? Expand
  22. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Combines with Breaking Bad as the 2 best drama series on television.
  23. Nov 9, 2012
    8
    This is good stuff. Homeland is grounded, but knows how to throw in a twist. We also have some very good acting going on here.
  24. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    You know, this is easily the best new show on. And perhaps the best thing that Showtime has ever aired. Maybe even including the movies. Because everything works out here. Last year the best new show was Boardwalk Empire on HBO. Now Showtime has tooken that delightful spot with Homeland. I am more than impressed.
  25. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. One hour of my life that I am happy to be spend on TV. The entire cast is fantastic and Claire Danes is an amazing lead. This should be a hit at the Emmys.
  26. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    I happen to turn to Showtime just as the pilot was airing so i figured i would give it a chance since there was a lot of hype about it and that Mandy Patinkin is in it. The acting is very well done and the storyline is not to complicated to understand. After i saw the second episode, i am now hooked. I love it so much i just created an account on here so i could tell you this. Homeland =I happen to turn to Showtime just as the pilot was airing so i figured i would give it a chance since there was a lot of hype about it and that Mandy Patinkin is in it. The acting is very well done and the storyline is not to complicated to understand. After i saw the second episode, i am now hooked. I love it so much i just created an account on here so i could tell you this. Homeland = 5 stars! Expand
  27. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    I have been hooked on it since the first episode. Homeland is one to keep you on the edge of your seat, and I wish my Sunday nights would come sooner.
  28. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Everyone has said enough I believe; I do not need to say much more than Homeland is high quality stuff, with some superb performances from some superb actors. Damien Lewis+Claire Danes+Mandy Pantinkin=Acting heaven. Even the kids are great.. Go watch it.
  29. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Sin dudas hasta lo que se puedo de la serie pinta para ser uno de los mejores (si no el mejor) estreno del año, muy buen guion, buenos diálogos, excelentes actuaciones, y como si esto fuera poco uno se regocija la vista viendo a Claire Danes, que mas se puede pedir?
  30. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This is the one to watch for 2011-2012. Gripping story line, excellent actors and a perfectly matched soundtrack. Think Eyes Wide Shut plonking piano but miles better and utterly relevant. Am ready for the next episode and cant wait to see where this goes. V's Anna showing a bit of breast too, what would would Diana make of that!
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 3, 2011
    75
    What seems like a straightforward question--Is Nick a traitor to his country?--might be the most devilishly complicated thing to answer, and definitely worth pursuing in this complex show.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 3, 2011
    90
    Homeland is an absolutely riveting immersion in the paranoia and burnout of America after a decade of the war on terrorism.
  3. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Oct 3, 2011
    100
    It's no lie to say you don't get this sort of stylish and challenging stuff very frequently on TV, adult subject matter treated maturely in a series that makes you squirm and think.