Hostages : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
Hostages Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A surgeon (Toni Collette) is forced to agree to assassinate the president (James Naughton) during an operation after a rogue FBI agent (Dylan McDermott) takes her family hostage. This Jerry Bruckheimer-produced conspiracy thriller is based on an Israeli series.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 20, 2013
    83
    Smart, intriguing thriller, but the opener is slightly overheated.
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    80
    If you get past the large leap and buy into the premise, Hostages promises surprising switchbacks and character development ranking among the best of the season.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Things get tense fast in CBS’ new Hostages, and if it can maintain that tension for 13 weeks, the network has a winner.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Sep 23, 2013
    67
    If the writing can bring invention to the thriller parts and smarts to the domestic parts, and invention, Hostages could have an indefinite hold on our imagination.
  5. Reviewed by: Cody Ray Shafer
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Other than a few other corny ideas (the whole Presidential assassination trope is a little cliché), Hostages delivers a compelling plot with enough tension to keep viewers interested for 45 minutes.
  6. Reviewed by: Zack Handlen
    Sep 23, 2013
    58
    While the pacing is solid and the direction is competent, nothing rises above the average. The pilot is too tasteful to be intense, and too silly to be affecting. It’s middlebrow to the bone.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 23, 2013
    25
    The characters wander a spectrum from boring to irritating (guess which end the two teenage kids wind up on?), and the situation already feels unsustainable by the end of the first episode.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 9 out of 32
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    They go with what they are given,the show has everyday values such as family and bond, but it also has a thrilling sense of what is going toThey go with what they are given,the show has everyday values such as family and bond, but it also has a thrilling sense of what is going to happen next, now that his team is beginning to unravel and the light at the end of the tunnel for the good doctor is getting bigger, there is still a sense of wonder whether or someone is going to step into that light and block the way, the show feels like it doesn't have that much going on, but the questions that still remain are why and who? the main characters cant be the whole thing. Im still dying to see who's behind the curtain making all these calls. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    Intense and a good ending, may be a little bit to long for a series and you losing it after 45 minutes, but you pick it up very easily andIntense and a good ending, may be a little bit to long for a series and you losing it after 45 minutes, but you pick it up very easily and never would you think what could happen next. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Really enjoyable show. Very good character development and writing except for the characters of the two teenagers. Dylan McDermott and theReally enjoyable show. Very good character development and writing except for the characters of the two teenagers. Dylan McDermott and the rest of the hostage takers are interesting throughout the season. A worthwhile watch and each episode ends making you want more. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    6
    Usually anything with "Jerry Bruckheimer" is a total utter show. I've finished the series so I think I can come up with a accurate review ofUsually anything with "Jerry Bruckheimer" is a total utter show. I've finished the series so I think I can come up with a accurate review of the show.

    This show is as Cliché as it gets. The writing is dull, the script is poorly written and it is as predictable as it seems. You have the show supposed to be taken seriously when a Colonel blatantly saying on the phone "Kill our friend on Pennsylvania avenue" and a President's Chief of Staff dropping dead with out any suspicion whatsoever? These are the kind of elements that make a silly, dumb, and sad excuse for entertainment. I feel like a 12 year old could comprehend this show just as easy as me. The writing isn't different nor innovative with characters who seem to get out of anything at anytime. This show reeks of an attempt to be hard hitting when it is just plain silly. The only honest reason I watched the series is because the had a great set of cast members; well at least some of them were. I enjoy seeing Dylan McDermott, Toni Collett, and Tate Donovanon screen but the show no where made up for my time watching the show. BOTTOM LINE I did sometimes have myself sitting on my couch going "whats going to happen next episode?" so It was not a complete waste of time. It's a melodrama with some sort of energy, but for the people who seem to like a easy, comprehendible entertainment program these days **cough**the current law & order svu***cough* you will be at home.
    Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    5
    I tried to like this. Right away, you feel it's too over the top. It's yet another show where everyone is in on a conspiracy and there areI tried to like this. Right away, you feel it's too over the top. It's yet another show where everyone is in on a conspiracy and there are conspiracies inside the conspiracy. But 20 minutes into the second show, we've got the assasination postponed two weeks, and you can see they're already trying to stretch this thing out, and it's annoying and depressing and implausible. So ready to never think about this show again. Bye. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2014
    4
    Hostages is a perfect example of a seies out staying its welcome. What started out as fresh and exciting, albeit still ludicrous has becomeHostages is a perfect example of a seies out staying its welcome. What started out as fresh and exciting, albeit still ludicrous has become laughably ridiculous. I started out by giving this series an 8, but since it has gone on and on my rating has dropped to 4. I have 1episode left to view, but I don't think there will be any rallying for me to improve my thoughts at this late stage. I will just be grateful for it to end PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    The writing is unrealistic and verging on cartoonish. The Sanders family continues to miss opportunities to get out of their "hostage"The writing is unrealistic and verging on cartoonish. The Sanders family continues to miss opportunities to get out of their "hostage" situation. They're not suffering from Stockholm syndrome--each has had plenty of opportunity to escape, yet they are portrayed as bumbling, ineffectual fools. All any of them would have had to do was to go to the press and the local police. Duncan's team would have been exposed as murderers and criminals, and they would have no more power over any of the Sanders family. The format is tiring and predictable. We all know by now that no matter what the Sanders family members do, they will be caught or stopped by Duncan's team, so why bother watching? Even the ending will be unreal and absurd, with the Sanders family finally getting out of their predicament by some cheap deus ex machina device and Duncan somehow surviving as the misguided anti-hero. Ridiculous, absurd and a waste of time--as much of network TV is. Collapse

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers