How to Get the Guy : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 12, 2006
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 37
  2. Negative: 9 out of 37

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. PamelaH
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    I loved this show! I am so bummed it is gone. I too am sad they left us hanging.
  2. Stacey
    May 22, 2007
    10
    I thought it was a creative, practical, entertaining show. I learned so much! I was all ready to nominate a guy friend of mine for what I hoped would be the sequel ("How to Get the Girl") but then it disappeared. I hope they bring it back, too.
  3. JessL
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    I'm absolutely hooked! Can't wait to see how it all turns out. =)
  4. CatherineR
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Awesome show. Truly gives good advice on how to get a guy. I am dating more after trying some of the things the girls were told to do. :-)
  5. CarolynF
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    Love this show!!! Please tell me it will be on again.
  6. EmilyA
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    I love this show! I am 24, married with 2 children & it is still very helpful & fun. It sparked our love life back up. It reminds us of when we were dating!
  7. EllenH
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    It was a great show about normal women, not porn stars or actresses. It was a realistic portrayal of smart, nice women who have a hard time in the dating world. Let us see the ending!!
  8. MichaelH
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Great show...in a great location... San Francisco!
  9. Audra
    Aug 2, 2006
    10
    I loved this show! It was what I looked forward to watching Monday nights. I was so disappointed when it was cancelled and actually went into withdrawl! I hope somehow we will be able to see the remaining 2 episodes.....please, I need my How To Get The Guy fix!
  10. LynnA
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    Bring it back. I can't believe they left us hanging. Obviously you can't believe any of the critics. This was really enjoyable to watch.
  11. AbbieK
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    I cant belive that it is gone, they didnt even let us kno what happened! they better bring it back next year!
  12. FannyO.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    that guy Dennis was so hot!
  13. SuzW
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    Hey as a single women who is attempting to get back into the dating game after 5 yrs, I loved this show. I thought it was filled with good information. I would volunteer in a heartbeat to have them help me.
  14. ErinO
    Jul 16, 2006
    9
    I love this show since the first episode. I think its interesting and different from other reality/dating shows. It hasn't been on for two weeks and im devesatated, i hope it returns and not left hanging!
  15. JTHolt
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    I thought it was a cute, light-hearted special that would run just 4-6 weeks - about right for the summertime. I visited the program website recommended it to several friends. And then I was disappointed that ABC stopped it after 4 programs when matters were still not settled. My TV guide said it was coming but more supernanny crap was inserted instead. Supernanny is good too but I wanted I thought it was a cute, light-hearted special that would run just 4-6 weeks - about right for the summertime. I visited the program website recommended it to several friends. And then I was disappointed that ABC stopped it after 4 programs when matters were still not settled. My TV guide said it was coming but more supernanny crap was inserted instead. Supernanny is good too but I wanted this program to continue. Expand
  16. SandyR
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    I love this show. I'm in my mid-thirties and recently back in the dating scene. I have always been shy and awkward in social settings and had no clue how to get the guys to even talk to me. This show has been a real eye opener.
  17. IrisR
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    I really enjoyed watching this show and I hope they bring it back.
  18. JeriC
    Jul 7, 2006
    8
    I agree the 1st episode was not really good. But, I decided to give the show a chance being single and the other episodes have been quite eye opening to me. I like the show very much. The show is a breath of fresh air after having to deal with all the get the bachelor shows. The bachelor shows are really a bad example for young girls, implying that girls have to fall in line by huge I agree the 1st episode was not really good. But, I decided to give the show a chance being single and the other episodes have been quite eye opening to me. I like the show very much. The show is a breath of fresh air after having to deal with all the get the bachelor shows. The bachelor shows are really a bad example for young girls, implying that girls have to fall in line by huge numbers in order to get her mate. I grew up with no father and have been clueless about men. The show gives very good advice and information to women. One thing I am concerned about is the show does not focus at all on things that one can catch from dating. Kissing: h. pylori, a highly contageous stomach bacteria, kissing or utensil contact. Genetil herpes: kissing, touching, not just sex. I think the show should highly recommend using protection between partners. And getting all the blood tests and other tests. Expand
  19. LindaB
    Jul 10, 2006
    8
    It was beginning to grow on me. I definitely want to know which guy each of them chose. Please don't leave me hanging.
  20. JoAnnK
    Jul 12, 2006
    8
    I was dissappointed when the show cancelled. I was waiting to see who they ended up with. Is it coming back on?
  21. Bella
    Jul 17, 2006
    8
    I am someone who thinks dating is silly and have always had the most meaningful romantic relationships come out of freindships..so I thought I would hate this show but as it turns out- I like it. The show is funny and although it is highly styled and edited very tightly, I find it refreshing. A reality show where people treat one another with respect! I mean come on ladies, no more Sunday I am someone who thinks dating is silly and have always had the most meaningful romantic relationships come out of freindships..so I thought I would hate this show but as it turns out- I like it. The show is funny and although it is highly styled and edited very tightly, I find it refreshing. A reality show where people treat one another with respect! I mean come on ladies, no more Sunday nights with Carrie and the girls was hard on all of us. Although this show does not compare in content, it did make me call my girlfreinds a few times for a laugh. This alone is a great thing. Dating is weird and atleast I know I am not alone on this one! For those who hate it- don't take it so seriously- it is TV! Expand
Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. 30
    It's thoroughly artificial and proud of it. The four women are a little too attractive, their comments and voiceovers feel a little too semi-scripted, and everyone is a little too willing to ignore the camera crew on the dates.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    33
    Guy is almost that bad date that makes for a good story, but instead it's just a bad date that won't say good night. [16 Jun 2006, p.70]
  3. It's an artificial conceit for a superficial show.