Human Target : Season 2

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2010
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 17, 2010
    80
    Human Target was a good wise-guy action adventure last season. It's already looking like a better one this season. The main reason: Two girls, Indira Varma and Janet Montgomery, have crashed the testosterone party.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 17, 2010
    80
    In an effort to (one hopes) broaden the show's appeal, Human Target immediately welcomes two new regular female characters, a rare example of tweaking a formula and making it even more fun to watch.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Nov 16, 2010
    91
    Still smart, still good, still fun, Human Target remains one of TV's best comic books.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Nov 17, 2010
    80
    The escapism is sky high. Valley remains as charismatic as ever, with McBride's disdainful asides and Haley's chilly creepiness intact. It would be unfortunate if Human Target somehow got soapy or dumber, because good popcorn is rare.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Nov 17, 2010
    70
    Human Target is still Human Target. If you enjoyed the show last year, you will now. If, like me, you were hoping for something just a little bit deeper, you might need to wait a while to see.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Nov 17, 2010
    70
    I can't promise I'll make it to the end of Season 2 with Chance and company (my DVR bears witness to the fact that my eyes are, well, bigger than my eyes), but at least I'll know where Target is.
  7. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 19, 2010
    75
    The interplay of the sexes has been used to better effect on other action vehicles--including FX's animated Archer--but the actresses lighten the tone, adding zip to a show that thrives on speed. [29 Nov 2010. p.42]
  8. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Nov 17, 2010
    75
    New regulars Indira Varma (Luther) and Janet Montgomery (Entourage) help star Mark Valley lighten the tone--and the action remains nifty.
  9. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Nov 17, 2010
    70
    Human Target will never be mistaken for a great, complex or provocative show, but it does provide a consistently fun hour of action. And there's definitely room for that on network TV.
  10. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Nov 12, 2010
    75
    Thanks to the exciting new chemistry on the show, Human Target can now find complications within the ensemble, and not just within each week's set piece.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    If you are a fan of tight, well written, well acted action movies than this is the show for you. Every time I watch an episode I amIf you are a fan of tight, well written, well acted action movies than this is the show for you. Every time I watch an episode I am constantly surprised at how good it is. Imagine, if you will, an extremely talented script writer who has clearly watched and internalized every single action movie for the last 40 years, ripped through all of slow moving and poorly constructed plot lines and said, "I can do this better." That is what Human Target is. I have yet to be let down. The biggest mystery for myself is how they afford all of the incredible sets and locations they shoot in. It's so much bigger than a TV show, each episode is essentially an action movie that lasts an hour. It's not your typical procedural where they traipse back and forth across the same 4 sets and then chase a guy down at the end of the ep. They fly all over the world, blow big things up (i.e. choppers and planes), take out the bad guys and try to send a message of redemption for unsavory past deeds and most importantly it is all about doing the right thing. This is what T.V. should be. Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    I love the new (female) additions to the cast. Jackie Earle Haley & Chi McBride are obviously phenomenal, but the new "big boss", who wasI love the new (female) additions to the cast. Jackie Earle Haley & Chi McBride are obviously phenomenal, but the new "big boss", who was awesome in "Luther". will be excellent on Human Target. And the new wiley street-level thief seems like she'll be a lot of fun. Yes, this is a comic-book type of show, but we need some testosterone on TV in the absence of The Unit. A little right vs. wrong action. Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2010
    7
    The beginning of the second season didn't exactly flow naturally from the cliffhanger ending of the first and they changed the magnificentThe beginning of the second season didn't exactly flow naturally from the cliffhanger ending of the first and they changed the magnificent opening credits music to something similar but underwhelming. However, the core adventuring party is still fun, the new female rogue character seems nice and the tone is still the winning mixture of high adrenaline and not really being worried about heroes win win the day - they always will. Full Review »