• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 30, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 17 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Nov 29, 2011
    38
    Aside from a few funny jokes padded between layers of groaners, there's quite a bit to hate--or at least strongly dislike--about Fox's new sitcom.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 22, 2011
    38
    An abysmal new series, but Tony winner Katie Finneran is a great comic talent. [5 Dec 2011, p.48]
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Nov 29, 2011
    33
    With the show so half-hearted about its subject matter, Teenage Daughter has to lean on the hackiest of punchlines.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 21, 2011
    33
    It was too much like what you see in an afternoon at Tyson's Corner.
  5. Reviewed by: David Eckstein
    Nov 30, 2011
    30
    It quickly devolves into borderline slapstick comedy that was old when the Three Stooges were doing it.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Abernethy
    Nov 30, 2011
    30
    I Hate My Teenage Daughter offers precious few chuckles and lots of angst and argument.
  7. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Nov 29, 2011
    30
    It should be funnier, but aptly enough, the pilot fails by also clumsily trying too hard, pushing what should be lighthearted portraits of insecure, inadequate mothers into grotesque caricatures.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 29, 2011
    30
    That foundation [of reality-based underpinnings], however, pretty much crumbles amid the broad tone, constant squabbling and improbabilities.
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Nov 30, 2011
    25
    You're left with a show mothers and daughters can both hate.
  10. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Nov 29, 2011
    25
    Sad to say, another round of Black Friday madness would deliver more laughs than this brainless new sitcom.
  11. We're left with a shrill sitcom that's hard not to hate.
  12. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    25
    It's one joke ground to dust as the moms abuse their daughters and vice versa, ad infinitum.
  13. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Nov 30, 2011
    20
    It should be called We Hate Every Character on Our Own Sitcom.
  14. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 30, 2011
    20
    The writing is so trite that when the teens balk in an upcoming episode at the idea of a Family Night (to which the ever-present ex-husbands are invited), we share their despair.
  15. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 29, 2011
    20
    There's exactly one funny moment in the dreadful Fox sitcom I Hate My Teenage Daughter.
  16. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 29, 2011
    20
    To make them all screwy but lovable, in the vein of "Raising Hope," requires more work than this show seems to want to do.
  17. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Women are as capable of writing a misogynist, soul-killing TV comedy as anyone else. Exhibit A: I Hate My Teenage Daughter, a shrieky nightmare.
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 10 out of 13
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    Jamie Presley tries hard to bring this show to life, but the other woman's character is annoying and the writing is terrible, so ultimately she fails.
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    If you think that a mother calling her own daughter a **** is high comedy, then this is the show for you. Those of us who actually love our children, despite whatever conflicts we have have, may want to pass on this. Full Review »
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, this show had mostly its funny moments, but also had some boring moments as well. Other than that this show has me laughing till the last scene, and I love Jaime Pressley's acting in this. Plus the two daughters really show good acting skills in their acting. Full Review »