• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 28, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 8
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Oct 28, 2010
    90
    I've seen two weeks of the season, and so far I'm rapt. In Treatment may be in uncharted ground with its new, original stories, but it remains a show that rewards patience, and patients.
  2. Reviewed by: Heather Havrilesky
    Oct 25, 2010
    60
    As entertaining as In Treatment can be at times, the third season may be the most grueling of them all. It's tough to see how any of these characters will find anything remotely resembling a sense of happiness before the season is over. Unfortunately, this season may also be the most simplistic so far.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 25, 2010
    100
    Unlike a few characters in seasons one and two whose lives I just wasn't interested in, I won't be skipping any therapy sessions this season. They are all fascinating.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Holcomb
    Oct 25, 2010
    75
    These episodes are mini-dramas that could work on any theatrical stage and yet there's nothing theatrical about the way they're presented here. The episodes work primarily because of how carefully and subtly they're acted, photographed, and most crucially, edited.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 25, 2010
    80
    The new guest cast is uniformly solid....The whole show is now on its own for the first time, since the previous two seasons were adapted from an Israeli series. That series ran for only two years, so this new In Treatment will have to work from scratch. What it has scratched out so far is impressive.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 25, 2010
    100
    Gabriel Byrne is in every minute of the show, delivering one of TV's most faceted and intriguing performances....All of the new characters promise to engage as their stories and backstories begin to unfold.
  7. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 25, 2010
    90
    There are only three patients this time around, and their stories, written by executive producers Anya Epstein and Dan Futterman, offer a thematic cohesion that seems richer, though perhaps more familiar. More important, the show remains a rare and wonderful opportunity to watch fine actors work their way through excellent material, earning it consistent praise and HBO's commitment, despite low ratings.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 25, 2010
    80
    While In Treatment isn't perfect by any means, given its uneven start and improbable origins, it's as good as anything with two characters yammering probably has a right to be.
  9. Reviewed by: Marisa Carroll
    Oct 25, 2010
    70
    Though some action is depicted outside the two therapists' offices, most episodes are dominated by the sessions themselves, which unfold as brilliantly performed one-act plays.
  10. Reviewed by: David Zurawik
    Oct 25, 2010
    100
    The power of the writing and performances are such that after just 30 minutes, you feel as if you know each of these characters intimately--and you find yourself already caring about them. And you wonder what role they will play in the troubled life and journey of Dr. Paul Weston.
  11. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 25, 2010
    100
    In Treatment deftly picks up where it left off--midpoint in the journey of Paul Weston's soul--and reminds us why we took this trip with him in the first place. The new cast is superlative, Bryne is intoxicating, and Ryan is an especially excellent addition. Bon voyage.
  12. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 25, 2010
    67
    Of the cast, Winger seems to be the weakest link, brittle and uncertain, but it's too soon in her arc to write her off. The series is like a mystery novel, but the crimes of the heart here are ones the patients unwittingly inflict upon themselves and the lengths they'll go to hide from the truth. Watching Byrne's sullen shrink match wits with Ryan's cool therapist is the best reason to book an appointment with In Treatment.
  13. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Oct 24, 2010
    80
    Now it's a compliment to say that Season 3 does: Paul's relationships with his new patients are as finely etched as before. The writing may seem a little less sophisticated--each session offers incremental insights about the patient that can seem a bit pat or forced--but over all In Treatment is still an absorbing dramatization of psychotherapy.
  14. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 24, 2010
    70
    It took me a while to overcome the "been there, analyzed that" feelings I had in the opening episodes, as Paul and his patients began the familiar dance, wherein they talk about only what they're comfortable talking about while Paul, like a good detective, tries to solve the mystery of what's really bothering them.
  15. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Oct 24, 2010
    75
    The acting is brilliant, the problems are relatable, and the truths Dr. Weston is chasing are profound. On the other hand, In Treatment is the epitome of American self-indulgence, both for the actors and the characters they're playing.
  16. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Season three's In Treatment [scripts are] entirely original. That may partly account for the so-far stagey quality of the episodes involving Jesse (Dane DeHaan), a 16-year-old gay male adoptee confronting a birth-mother problem....There is, otherwise, little that can detract from this series now roaring back with its old miraculous suspense and flinty intelligence.
  17. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2010
    88
    Therapist Paul Weston a human-shaped cloud who grumbles with the low thunder of the maladjusted, has drifted back for a gripping new season of HBO's In Treatment. Gabriel Byrne plays the part flawlessly, and he's up against two especially rewarding talents. [1 Nov 2010, p.42]
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    This season has managed to make me angry and anxious. Not in a bad way but in a good way because the way they present and act makes me feel like I am the one in the couch and no matter what side I see myself in I can just taste tension. This kind of immersion I have never felt before with any show. Full Review »
  2. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Wow. They've done it again! This time without scripts from Israel. Every episode is fascinating. The acting is amazing, though it's a little hard to tell with Debra Winger as her role is that of a person who's largely fake. We were a little confused by the first episode with the young adopted man, as it seemed that we were entering in the middle, but that turned out to be smart and effective. My main question is whether Paul, the psychotherapist will survive until the end of the season. All in all, clearly one of the best shows on TV. Full Review »
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    Out of psychic steam. This domestic third series is a real let down - a crash and burn version that will not make it to a fourth series. Though the acting is still top-notch, Paul Weston has run out of road - he is too depressed and is repeating himself. The patients are interesting but not that credible - the intellectual Sunil would not put up with the **** he is being forced to suffer. Jesse flip flops five times an episode. Frances is a narcissist - the best performer this year IS Debra Winger. And the flirtation with the new therapist is just terrible - a bum note in a series that had, until this one, not sounded a single one.

    Still, this is unmissable - intelligent, superbly acted, sometimes moving, always different.
    Full Review »