Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Inspector George Gently Image

No score yet - based on 0 Critics

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Summary: Welcome to the Inspector George Gently guide at Chief Inspector George Gently of Scotland Yard is an old-fashioned policeman who has gained respect but few friends through his single-minded pursuit of law-breakers and his disgust with the corruption in the police force. Gently decides to retire after the murder of his wife, but not before solving one final case. Relocating to Northumberland, where he is aided by the ambitious young Det Sgt John Bacchus, Gently deploys a combination of reason, deduction and a somewhat jaded understanding of man's nature to get his man. Inspector George Gently is adapted from the Inspector Gently novels written by Alan Hunter, but relocates him from Norfolk to Northumberland. The 46 novels, published between 1955 and 1999, were contemporary, but the show is set firmly in 1964. The first season was broadcast under the George Gently banner. Inspector George Gently is a Company Pictures production for the BBC.


Network: BBC-1 , BBC
Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Seasons: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Cast Credit
Martin Shaw George Gently
Lee Ingleby John Bacchus