Jericho : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2006
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 287 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 287

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. KevinK.
    Oct 1, 2006
    3
    I agree with "Anonymous" who gave it a 3. Too many things made me go "huh?" Many things in this show were simply ridiculous and contrived. A nuclear attack upon the U.S. indeed could happen, but if it did it, real people wouldn't act this way. It reminded me of some of those really BAD "made for TV" disaster movies, which are at least laughable to watch. Jericho wasn't even I agree with "Anonymous" who gave it a 3. Too many things made me go "huh?" Many things in this show were simply ridiculous and contrived. A nuclear attack upon the U.S. indeed could happen, but if it did it, real people wouldn't act this way. It reminded me of some of those really BAD "made for TV" disaster movies, which are at least laughable to watch. Jericho wasn't even funny in that way, it was just stupid. With all the hype I was looking forward to the premiere, but was very disappointed. I decided to give it another chance, and thought the second episode was a little better. I admit to being sucked in to see what would happen next. But overall I saw bad acting, bad dialogue, no characters to whom I could relate, and everything seemed so phony. Couldn't the writers at least do a little research about nuclear explosions and their aftermath, fallout shelters, etc.? For example, don't they know that sealing doors and windows with plastic sheeting and duct tape is for a GAS attack and would be no protection at all against nuclear radiation? Air doesn't become radioactive. Radiation from fallout dust particles acts like invisible light, and doesn't turn corners. What is needed in a fallout shelter is simply mass (metal, earth, wood, bricks, etc.) above and on all sides, and a long entrance that turns at least one corner. No door is even necessary. I think that only people who have low IQ's or who are able to suspend their reasoning abilities will enjoy this show; the rest of us will be too frustrated by all the incorrect details and bad acting. Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 21, 2006
    3
    Too many things that made me go "huh?" 1.) Did he not have a fractured leg after the car accident? The bone was STICKING out, right? Yet he walks miles to find that school bus (we know this because it goes from midday to night time). 2.) The guy doesn't know CPR, yet he knows how to preform surgury with juicebox straws, bandaids, and a pocket knife to revive a young girl by cutting a Too many things that made me go "huh?" 1.) Did he not have a fractured leg after the car accident? The bone was STICKING out, right? Yet he walks miles to find that school bus (we know this because it goes from midday to night time). 2.) The guy doesn't know CPR, yet he knows how to preform surgury with juicebox straws, bandaids, and a pocket knife to revive a young girl by cutting a slit in her windpipe to help her breathe. A kid asks, "where did you learn that?" His reply,"Military School" 3.) And what would a GREAT drama be without escaped criminals from the back of a paddywagon After seeing this, it was hard to focus on the bad, overwritten, script and even worse acting. However, as sad as it may be, I'll probably still watch because the plot sure sucks you in. Collapse
  3. johnc
    Sep 24, 2006
    2
    poor writing and and a contreived plot
  4. C.Cotton
    Sep 24, 2006
    3
    What if Disney made a disaster show and used the typical bad lines with the cliche father estranged son dynamic and (dramatic pause......) added a mysterious african american man with the answer to everything hmmm.. I guess you would get Jericho. Shows like this is why Scifi type shows get a bad wrap. B actors and C- writing.
  5. DanG
    Sep 30, 2006
    0
    Primetime television should be entertaining without Holywoodization of a Nuclear bombs going off
  6. harryg
    Apr 14, 2007
    3
    The main problem with this show is the characters, aside from Jake Green and Hawkins they all come across as small minded and parochial. The fact that they spend all their energy attempting to get through the situation by working together is unrealistic. It would be more interesting to find out what is going on outside of this small town, the reason this does not happen is the The main problem with this show is the characters, aside from Jake Green and Hawkins they all come across as small minded and parochial. The fact that they spend all their energy attempting to get through the situation by working together is unrealistic. It would be more interesting to find out what is going on outside of this small town, the reason this does not happen is the contmeporary obsession in TV (all blame/credit to 'Lost') of convincing viewers to continue watching only to find out answers to questions the writers pose. It is entirely unbelievable that after one month nobody from a town of 5000 wants to know where the bombs came from. Expand
  7. BrianOG
    Nov 18, 2006
    3
    Forget about the scientific goofs. There's enough bad in the basic writing to make this turkey deserve a 3. My problem is basically that this show's hook is the aftermath of a nuclear attack on a small town. Yet it seems 80% of each episode is some guy thinking about leaving his wife. A hostage drama, a bus full of kids that need to be saved, a girl dreaming about her wedding. Forget about the scientific goofs. There's enough bad in the basic writing to make this turkey deserve a 3. My problem is basically that this show's hook is the aftermath of a nuclear attack on a small town. Yet it seems 80% of each episode is some guy thinking about leaving his wife. A hostage drama, a bus full of kids that need to be saved, a girl dreaming about her wedding. OK OK I never quite got the point of Lost either but that's just me.... Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2011
    0
    How do you screw up a post apocalypse story? HOW? The people who produced Jericho apparently know how. Jericho is a stupid show for stupid people. You seriously have to be a naive fool to think this show is engaging. Once again we have the type of cliche obnoxious characters that Hollywood thinks the average American thinks is heroic. People would not act as orderly and calm as theHow do you screw up a post apocalypse story? HOW? The people who produced Jericho apparently know how. Jericho is a stupid show for stupid people. You seriously have to be a naive fool to think this show is engaging. Once again we have the type of cliche obnoxious characters that Hollywood thinks the average American thinks is heroic. People would not act as orderly and calm as the residents of Jericho, who apparently don't feel grief or a sense of great loss after the destruction of their nation. USA goes boom? No problem. Wife problems? Let's devote a whole episode to it!

    Glad this crap show got cancelled.
    Expand
  9. Jan 23, 2012
    2
    Like many other people, I was lured into this show with great expectations. The idea of a nuclear attack on the U.S should have been great! Instead, they ruined it with boring and predictable love triangles, marital problems, teenage dramas and entire episodes consumed by things that have nothing to do with the nuclear attack.

    So, essentially, you walk into the show expecting some sort of
    Like many other people, I was lured into this show with great expectations. The idea of a nuclear attack on the U.S should have been great! Instead, they ruined it with boring and predictable love triangles, marital problems, teenage dramas and entire episodes consumed by things that have nothing to do with the nuclear attack.

    So, essentially, you walk into the show expecting some sort of Homefront inspired event that sees the characters struggling to survive an invasion. Unfortunately, what you actually get is the OC styled drama and characters who you can't even care enough to remember their names.
    Expand
  10. chrisb
    Apr 9, 2007
    1
    The premise is great. However, as the story unfolded, it became crystal clear to me the writers had no intentions of recognizing a realistic apocolypse. There are numerous inconsistancies regarding gas, food, shelter, electricity, etc..etc..but the flaw that made me stop watching this program was the character "Hawkins" & everything that surrounds him. He apparently isnt subject to the The premise is great. However, as the story unfolded, it became crystal clear to me the writers had no intentions of recognizing a realistic apocolypse. There are numerous inconsistancies regarding gas, food, shelter, electricity, etc..etc..but the flaw that made me stop watching this program was the character "Hawkins" & everything that surrounds him. He apparently isnt subject to the entire towns plight. He drives a large old Cadillac frequently, yet never needs gas. Food, shelter, & electrcity for his numerous gadgets is endless. His story is more about the love of his family & the top secret operation he is involved in. In my opinion its another network farce, where the Black man overachieves at everything & anything he does. He is incredibly intelligent, strong, caring, & clever. He is righteous & deeply moral while he saves the world. In 45 years of life I never met that Black man, he exists only on TV. Less than 3% of FBI is black. Yet blacks represent the largest % in HS dropout rates, fatherless children, violent crime & prison inmates. He is none of these. Like all Black movie/TV actors he is the exact opposite. Brainwashing propaganda, that simple. Expand
  11. davec
    Apr 9, 2007
    0
    Stupid.
  12. SpencerK.
    Jun 4, 2008
    0
    There are very few shows I've watched that are as bad as this one. I'm five episodes in to the first season now, and I have no feelings for any of the characters in the show. Any one of them could die in the next episode, and it would mean very little to the overall plot. Writing, acting, and directing is all a flop. Decent idea for a show, but too bad J.J. Abrams is already There are very few shows I've watched that are as bad as this one. I'm five episodes in to the first season now, and I have no feelings for any of the characters in the show. Any one of them could die in the next episode, and it would mean very little to the overall plot. Writing, acting, and directing is all a flop. Decent idea for a show, but too bad J.J. Abrams is already busy with Lost. Expand
  13. SeymoreButts
    Oct 19, 2006
    0
    Show just sucks............periods..........
  14. AndrewJ.
    Nov 9, 2007
    2
    I'm finished I gave it a good shot but how could they kill off Beth Grant? The only watchable character of the series. Boring!
  15. MrG
    Sep 21, 2006
    2
    There are few experiences more mind-numbingly dull than watching a disaster movie. The focus on the disaster itself rarely leaves any scope for the development of anything which is of real, human, interest, and despite whatever moralistic overtones are attached to them, function as cathartic destruction fantasies for their neurotic audiences. As such, the narrative material is usually There are few experiences more mind-numbingly dull than watching a disaster movie. The focus on the disaster itself rarely leaves any scope for the development of anything which is of real, human, interest, and despite whatever moralistic overtones are attached to them, function as cathartic destruction fantasies for their neurotic audiences. As such, the narrative material is usually pretty thin, so imagine stretching that out across a whole television series and it soon becomes apparent that Jericho is not tapping an especially rich vein capable of sustaining a serialized production. I guess I shouldn't have been surprised therefore, that they resorted to setting up a Lost-esque ensemble of 'mysterious' characters and multiple unknowns pertaining to the situational setting -- read: gimmicks. But, and this is a testament to the power of hype, I was both surprised and dismayed by the magnitude of the catastrophe. Expand
  16. May 29, 2014
    0
    Thanks to this show we'll probably not get another post-apocalyptic tv show for another 20 years. Terrible run of the mill American TV story line. More concern about who is sleeping with who than the environmental and safety factors of being post-nuke. Keep your romdram out of my favorite story plots.
  17. Aug 5, 2016
    3
    Loved it for the first 18 episodes, but then it took a turn away from the mysterious sci-fi angle that I was enjoying towards a shoot-em-up militaristic drama, dare I say similar to day time dramas (soap opera style). I liked the thoughtfulness and "what if" factor that was originally part of the show, but the last few episodes have become tiresome and it's become very apparent why thisLoved it for the first 18 episodes, but then it took a turn away from the mysterious sci-fi angle that I was enjoying towards a shoot-em-up militaristic drama, dare I say similar to day time dramas (soap opera style). I liked the thoughtfulness and "what if" factor that was originally part of the show, but the last few episodes have become tiresome and it's become very apparent why this show was cancelled. Don't waste your time getting lulled into the initial goodness of the show. You will end up disappointed. Expand
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 9 out of 30
  1. A catastrophic nuclear crisis never looked as boring and convoluted as it does here.
  2. "Jericho" doesn't pretend to be artistically risky, but it's got a scary and gripping theme in an age of terrorism and nuclear thuggery.
  3. Jericho works when it sticks to the eerie surreality of a nuclear attack... The show, unfortunately, flops about in its first two episodes, leaning too heavily on the action-adventure stuff.