Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 1, 2011
    75
    Rivers scarcely pretends any of the setups are real--it's just more material for her. [7 Feb 2011, p.41]
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 26, 2011
    70
    If you're a committed Riversian, and I am, Joan & Melissa: Joan Knows Best? is an enjoyably lighthearted hour of prime Joan shtick.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 26, 2011
    60
    Ms. Rivers is, even in this silly imposture, very funny, making jokes and playing the role of doting grandmother and interfering mother self-mockingly.
  4. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 25, 2011
    58
    The target viewer wouldn't watch all this predictable--I mean, impulsive--bickering and button-pushing while thinking: I wonder why all the paintings and posters on the walls in the background are blurred out? And then think: Geez, why am I even wondering about that? The audience for Joan Knows Best? will be loving Joan's visits to three plastic surgeons Tuesday, not fretting.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 25, 2011
    50
    At 60 minutes, these episodes will test even loyal fans, although some viewers will discover a new respect for Melissa, who displays patience not unlike Job in her trials. Still, Joan is her mother. Everyone else can skip the guilt trip.
  6. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 25, 2011
    25
    Added to these uncomfortable, setup situations are some others that simply defy explanation.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 25, 2011
    25
    Episodes are one hour each, requiring ample manufactured "drama" to keep this thing percolating.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite reality show, and very insightful into both Joan & Melissa's lives. What a treat to get to see Joan every week, and also get a glimpse of what life is really like for themselves and their families. Although some moments appear a bit scripted, overall the viewer gets the sense that this is the real deal. And there's no one in entertainment today who is as quick, and as funny as Joan.

    I highly recommend this show!!!
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    I love this show. Of course the incidents are set up to let Joan do what she does best...be hysterically funny...but being the mother of a grown daughter the show highlights many of the same big issues that arise between mothers and daughters...albeit a bit over the top...but that is what makes it entertaining. I admire Ms Rivers for how she has reacted to all of the setbacks in her life and career..she is a real workhorse and a very talented one at that. And I love Melissa....she loves her mom but struggles to assert her own identity...love love love the show Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    I love this show! Had to find a place to express this. Joan had me on the apprentice. I watched Joan as a kid when she performed while pregnant with Melissa on TV... love watching Joan push the boundaries and Melissa react....Joan's grandson - well only out of the mouths of babes..."it's a chick magnet" describing her car was hysterical....Love this show...hope to follow it for a long time.... Full Review »