Jungle Gold Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: George Wright and Scott Lomu travel to Ghana to mine for gold.
  • Genre(s): Reality
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 26, 2012
    83
    The show's repetitive voice-overs are annoying. But you'll be sucked into this dangerous venture.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 26, 2012
    75
    Somehow, like the alchemists of old, Jungle Gold ends up making gold from lead.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 26, 2012
    60
    It feels somehow as if there's a backstory here we don't fully know about. Still, their adventures are instructive and the dangers seem genuine.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 26, 2012
    50
    Jungle Gold uses every available editing trick to heighten the tension and get the audience rooting for Scott and George, but the approach is so steeped in xenophobia and Great White Hunter short-hand this might as well have been made in the 1930s.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 20 out of 23
  1. KB1
    Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Wow this world has become bitter and cynical. The guys may be in a lot of debt but at least they are working to find a way out. Look at howWow this world has become bitter and cynical. The guys may be in a lot of debt but at least they are working to find a way out. Look at how this world is, so many people who lost their shirt in the recession are sitting around and living off handouts. These guys are working, the show is a little cheesy at times which makes me laugh because you know these guys are actors. But its fun, a nice break from so much of the garbage that is on TV.
    And if these two jerks should be thrown out of Ghana DennisH, what about the Chinese who are squatting on other peoples properties? These guys seem to hire local people and sounds like they pay them, last I checked that is helping some of the industry in Ghana, what do you do living there "part time"?

    What I find particularly disgusting about several of these reviews is that they do not talk about the show they merely attack the actors in the show and speak of their alleged greed and misuse of their money. I would ask how do you know where they came from? Do you know what their circumstances were prior to this show? I sure don't but I know enough people who were fleeced during the the real estate boom that it comes as no shock that these two guys are in the hole, deep. The difference I see is that they are doing something different to get out of it. That is why I find this show fun!
    If i lost a grip of money in the housing market I would probably go back to school and get another degree like so many are right now, not these guys, they're mining gold in Ghana. That's thinking outside the box if I have ever heard of it. At least they are doing something to try to provide for their families and pay off debts. If you have time on Friday night and want to watch an entertaining albeit cheesy show at times, Jungle Gold is fun, occasionally intense and realistic depiction of the frustrations of trying to start a business in the middle of nowhere. If you don't like it, change the channel, that is the beauty of television. We have enough negativity in this world without everyone trying to tear down the work of others. I hope they hit the mother load and the show continues on for 18 seasons just to spite the negativity.
    Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2013
    7
    Jungle Gold.....painful to watch.im in the very same game in another part of Africa.I have exactly the same scenario regarding ChineseJungle Gold.....painful to watch.im in the very same game in another part of Africa.I have exactly the same scenario regarding Chinese poachers and errant farmers.The Chinese are very pleasant people and always willing to chat and plead ignorance.They are not hostile to anyone but do pay poorly and break every environmental law they can.The locals are jealous greedy bunch led by "illegal gold dealers" who return nothing to the community or environment.The hardships and disappointments faced by the two Americans in procuring gold are not fiction It's tough as they show it.The thieves ,the rain,the corruption,the disappointing results etc etc.I recon the bit about the Chinese being dangerous and aggressive is total crap but the armed robbery threats are real.The on site director is totally useless and his attempts at dramatisation of certain events are real cheap budget movie stuff.Im surprised the Ghanaian govt allow this show to be shot as it does bring the country down in more ways than one.The goldrush Alaska series is more like a real deal but it to is littered with over dramatised issues. Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    0
    Show is extremely exploitative of the people of Ghana. Cocoa farms, the livlihood of the locals being destroyed, underground water systems,Show is extremely exploitative of the people of Ghana. Cocoa farms, the livlihood of the locals being destroyed, underground water systems, rivers being polluted, locals being used all in the name of selling ratings for Discovery Channel. The world needs to become aware of this form of exploitation of innocent locals beieng exploited and ban the sale of gold from these "blood leaches". The Chinese, Indians, Europeans, Americans are all involved in this exploitaion as the program indicates, and no one is crying out against this. Been to Ghana numerous times, not to exploit but to build schools and clinics in the villages and know first hand the plight of the locals. Turning the farm lands into massive heaps of mud, and the rivers these locals drink from into "the dead sea" filled with dangerous chemicals, and void of fish is really pathetic. Cannot see how Discovery Channel can condone this. Anything for ratings and a buck at the expense of an "impoverished people". Who is replacing the cocoa farms and substinance farms being destroyed for "30 pieces of silver? Judas, seems to be the Discovery Channel, Wright and Lomu, The corrupt chiefs, Indian and American partner, Europeans, corrupt chiefs as well as the Chinese. Save our Rain Forests!!! Stop this madness in developing countries. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2012
    0
    This show is totally disgraceful and the Discovery Channel executives who gave it the green light should be ashamed of themselves. The peopleThis show is totally disgraceful and the Discovery Channel executives who gave it the green light should be ashamed of themselves. The people making the show and staring in it should be ashamed as well. Pathetic.

    If this becomes the newest form of colonial exploitation endorsed by large corporations with media assets in poverty stricken areas, it will be a new low for Western culture. I'm just totally disgusted by it.
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    After watching this show I must speak out. This show is an absolutely ridiculous portrayal of African and Chinese people (and Americans forAfter watching this show I must speak out. This show is an absolutely ridiculous portrayal of African and Chinese people (and Americans for that matter). I mean whats with all of the anti-Chinese sentiment here? Creating drama is one thing, but this show goes way out of bounds with the negative stereotyping. Most Chinese and Africans are NOT at all "bad" people. And anyway, are Americans somehow more entitled to African gold than Chinese people? Do you think that just maybe these workers are there working and living on an hourly wage simply trying to provide for and feed their families too? Hilarious. The idea that these guys are sneaking across Chinese land to deliver supplies to their claim and then sticking out their chest, flexing muscles and yelling at the Chinese workers as they walk accross theirs is absurd. First of all, these Chinese companies and workers are there legally, have contracts to claims and visa's to work there...they are not, as this show suggest, gangs of smugglers, strong arming bullies etc. that is not reality. It is VERY difficult and a lengthy process for Chinese people to obtain visa's to leave the mainland, much less work in another country and return home with gold in their pockets. I'm American, have travelled around the world including Africa and China and I'm embarrassed by the actions of these guys. Repulsive. And seriously, how does a realtor become over a million dollars in debt and why would you go to Africa for gold when your claim supposedly only has 1.5 million dollars in value, factor in all of the expenses involved with gold mining, split the profits and what are you left with? The whole premise of this show is a complete joke. It just doesnt make any sense. Now add in all of the "economy is bad", pro-USA!! USA!! banter, anti-Chinese/African crap, mock violence and repetitious, annoying and redundant commentating = a horrible TV show and a complete waste of time. Collapse
  6. Oct 26, 2012
    0
    I live in Ghana part time, and I am mortified that the Discovery Channel has allowed this garbage to air on television. It is neck-deep inI live in Ghana part time, and I am mortified that the Discovery Channel has allowed this garbage to air on television. It is neck-deep in xenophobia and outright lies about Ghana. These two jerks should be thrown out of Ghana on their ears. It's appalling. Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2013
    0
    They are afraid of "getting robbed" again. Who exactly are the thieves? How would these guys react if someone from Ghana found some gold inThey are afraid of "getting robbed" again. Who exactly are the thieves? How would these guys react if someone from Ghana found some gold in the woods behind their house in Utah? They are literally taking gold from the ground right under the feet of people that have a total annual income of less than a thousand dollars. And then if thats not enough plundering, they steal some poor guys boat, and rake over the land with large machines with no consideration of how they will leave it when they take "their fortunes". Appalling!!! Expand

See all 23 User Reviews