Justified : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 16, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Justified Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 480 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The new series based on Elmore Leonard's short story "Fire in the Hole" follows US Marshal Raylan Givens (Timothy Olyphant) as he is transferred from Miami back to his hometown of Harlan, Kentucky, after causing trouble for his superiors with a high-profile shooting of a suspect.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    Olyphant is surrounded by a terrific supporting cast, including Dirty Sexy Money's Natalie Zea as Raylan's ex-wife and Nick Searcy (Deke Slayton in From the Earth to the Moon) as his deceptively cornpone boss. But in the end, it comes down to hard stares and that combination of drawled amusement and sudden violence that make him so cool yet exciting.
  2. 100
    Finishing each episode is like closing up a really great, gritty, little crime novel.
  3. On screen the show has a soaked-in mood, courtesy of pilot director Michael Dinner, and terrific performances that mark Justified as the best new series premiere so far in 2010.
  4. 88
    Olyphant's devilish looks balance his white-cowboy-hat principles.
  5. Justified will not stretch the dramatic envelope the way many FX shows have. Still, with its white knight of a hero, fine guest stars and intriguing relationships, one can rely on the show to deliver 13 hours of entertaining and occasionally taut crime drama.
  6. 75
    Less brutal than "Sons of Anarchy" or "The Shield," it's nonetheless a true male fantasy show complete with broads, bad guys, blow-ups, bullets and buckets of blood.
  7. 40
    Although Justified qualifies as cryptic, and its mouth is plenty potty, it definitely lacks edge, the most important quality of the three. In fact, it can get downright sleepy between killings. It moseys. It meanders.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 54
  2. Negative: 5 out of 54
  1. May 26, 2011
    10
    The last episode of this second season has left me breathless and proves that the series has tremendous staying power and can get even betterThe last episode of this second season has left me breathless and proves that the series has tremendous staying power and can get even better than it already is. What sets this series apart from everything else that's on TV right now (and frankly, has been for the past few years) is plot and character development. Not only is the central plot gripping and innovative, all the subplots thus far presented serve it amazingly well and are worthy in their own right. The same can be said about characters. As if characters as rich and multi-layered as Raylan and Boyd weren't enough, we still get marvelous supporting characters for them to play off of, such as the whole of the Bennett family. Elmore Leonard is a freaking genius!!! Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    10
    Justified is currently my favorite show on TV. The casting, writing, and acting all come together to create a thoroughly entertainingJustified is currently my favorite show on TV. The casting, writing, and acting all come together to create a thoroughly entertaining television experience. It's a drama, but it can also be witty, hilarious. The dialog is snap crackle popping smart, in the always enjoyable style of Elmore Leonard. The dance between the US Marshals and the bad guys is choreographed in a way that reminds me of the Road Runner and Wiley E. Coyote.

    Timothy Olyphant is so super cool in his portrayal of US Deputy Marshal Raylan Givens. Walton Goggins as Raylan's 'frenemy,' Boyd Crowder is outstanding. And every single cast member and guest star is equally well suited for his/her role. I love them all.
    Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    I heart Timothy Olyphant. I have ever since he starred in Deadwood and even as far back as Go. Not that I want to see him typecasted but thisI heart Timothy Olyphant. I have ever since he starred in Deadwood and even as far back as Go. Not that I want to see him typecasted but this is the type of role that he was made to play. He excels as the tough but fair lawman with a sensitive and oh so dreamy underbelly. This show has excellent dialogue, writing, editing and the acting is perfect. I am hoping that season two is just as good and am excitedly awaiting it's release to DVD. I highly recommend this show to anyone who enjoys a good old fashioned ass kicking, hard loving, tough guy sort of show. Bravo FX! Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    This show has a cool factor. Raylan Givens and Boyd Crowder are the main guys, and everyone else will likely die in this or a future episode,This show has a cool factor. Raylan Givens and Boyd Crowder are the main guys, and everyone else will likely die in this or a future episode, and that's ok... Not a typical shoot em up law show. Usually some unexpected turns. Always give kudos to shows where they make you root for the good guys and the bad guys at the same time. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    The good: always been a well written show from season 1 till 5. The acting is superb and the character (even some of the bad guys) are justThe good: always been a well written show from season 1 till 5. The acting is superb and the character (even some of the bad guys) are just loveable. This and Longmier has been the best "Western" themed shows that I've seen on the tube over the past 5 years.

    The bad: there ain't no more seasons after this year! Shame....truly.
    Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2010
    8
    Great show-- well acted, and has the balls to go in some directions you would not expect. Doesn't hurt that it is set very near where I grewGreat show-- well acted, and has the balls to go in some directions you would not expect. Doesn't hurt that it is set very near where I grew up-- but I do remember most residents being slightly less armed than portrayed on the show... Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2011
    0
    Now this may just be one of the sappiest shows I have seen in a long, long time. Timothy Olyphant may be a fine actor for a televisionNow this may just be one of the sappiest shows I have seen in a long, long time. Timothy Olyphant may be a fine actor for a television commercial, but dress him up in a cheesy cowboy hat at your own peril. While the premise of the show may be interesting, one should note that it's set in Nowhere, Kentucky, and how many people can he really shoot in a town of 57 habitants? I've seen ol' Tim play a bunch of terrible bad guys in movies and television before and I really wanted him to do well in this one. He doesn't seem like too bad of a guy and why not cheer for the Working Man's Hero, but the writing in this show is truly brutal. Why even attempt to turn this guy into some sort of mutant television character with Jack Bauer's mean streak, Dr House's wit and Don Draper's womanizing charm? I'd rather saw off my own foot with a rusty saw from 8th grade shop class than be forced to watch this tripe. After all, it's just like my old man used to say: you can't make chicken salad from chicken **** Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Justified Series Finale

    Episode Review: Justified Series Finale Image
    Published: April 15, 2015
    What did critics think of last night's series finale of Justified? Find out inside, and give us your take.
  2. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  3. Episode Review: Justified Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Justified Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: April 3, 2013
    Critics are raving about last night's finale of Justified. Find out what they liked about the show, and give us your take on the episode and the season as a whole.
  4. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  5. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.