Kroll Show Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the new sketch comedy show from The League's Nick Kroll.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Adam B. Vary
    Jan 14, 2013
    83
    Kroll Show runs on the idea that imitation is the highest form of parody, skewering, through pitch-perfect re-creation.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 15, 2013
    75
    Kroll Show works often enough to make a name for itself among young males in particular. Men of a certain age might be more resistant, but still susceptible.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 16, 2013
    40
    In almost every case, even the good concepts (like Kroll as a mic'ed up referee during an NBA game, needily badgering the players) peter out, while the more esoteric ones, such as a spoof of Canadian dramas, are a little too precious for their own good, eh?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 16 out of 25
  1. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    Best sketch show ever. Sloppy Seconds, Rich Dicks, Armand About Town, and of course Wheels Ontario. I have watched every episode at least three times. The second season is way better than the first, can't wait to see what happens to C-zar and pretty Liz!
    Finally a comedy show that understands that there is more to comedy that just nonsensical BS, this show delivers and builds on what it just delivered. If that makes any sense.
    Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe it's just me, conditioned by enough oddball sketch show comedy from the UK and Australia that I don't mind the offbeat humour on offer here, but I found the first three episodes of "Kroll Show" consistently hilarious. While lacking the mile-a-minute laughter you might expect from previous genre favourites, Kroll and Co.'s comedy continually hit the mark in concept, aping--for example--the editing and dramatic conventions of reality TV so immaculately that you can't help but chuckle (or cry, if you flip to TLC soon after and find no difference between imitation and "reality"). Anyone familiar with the sensationalist, unintentionally funny offerings of Zac Bagens' "Ghost Adventures," for instance, should get a fair bit of laughs out of Kroll's "Ghost Bouncers" sketch, in which a gweedo Kroll and crew investigate "para-legal" activity with unnecessary bravado and spout what is "very much" poor grammar.

    On their own, you might not find that these parodies elicit enough laughter to justify your time, but even the bizarre "Wheels Ontario"--which plays like the unexpected child of a teenage "Degrassi Jr. High"--is funny enough in retrospect even while it's actual substance might hit and miss (must refrain from making a "whurling" pun here). In other words, check this show out if you're looking for a satirical take on pop culture, rather than the usual, self-contained humour of conventional sketch shows
    Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2014
    6
    wonder why it´s so badly rated. it´s not a great show, but still solid and Kroll has potential and most of the skits and roles are funny. Watched the first season on Prime, wait for the second season Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2014
    1
    For a while I thought I was only catching the same episode every time it was on. WOOPS, apparently I was watching a different episode every time! The jokes are lame, and imitating somebody's voice doesn't equal being funny! Every episode seems the same to me, the same sketches with a few different lines, and Kroll saying "bruh" way too much. If I had to choose between watching one episode of this show, or sitting through 5 hours of Dane Cook...I'd have to pick Dane Cook. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    1
    Decided to give it a second chance, Watched 3 episodes, and still hated the show. It's so incredibly stupid that it's laughable. I only liked 2-3 skits out of the 3 episodes I watched. Don't bother with this trash. Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    the show is the opposite of funny. Nick kroll needs to retire and stop fouling up the humor business. He can make a fortune working for his dad. humor just isn't his gift. Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    After enjoying Nick Kroll in his stand-up, and one of the funniest shows on TV (The League), I was extremely excited for a show, with Nick at the helm. However I was met with bitter disappointment. I have given the show a chance, and watched all the episodes thus far. Last night was the last one, I cannot do it anymore. Simply: this show is just not funny. In watching all the episodes so far, I was able to force out maybe 2 chuckles. Bobby Bottleservice is definitely Kroll's best character, a veteran from funnyordie.com and seemingly the only character that is somewhat developed. The rest of the characters are bland, and Kroll doesn't do very good accents or impressions of his own characters well, at all. While some premises of his sketches are humorous and entertaining, they are executed with the proficiency of a middle school improv group. Kroll recently was on Adam Carolla's Podcast, The Adam Carolla Show (an excellent podcast), and stated that he really gave Kroll Show everything his all, I do not see the effort. He is either lying for promotional purposes, or if it is true he is not as good of a comic as I had previously thought, which is quite disheartening. Please save your time and go on the elliptical for 30 minutes rather than waste it on this "show" that I am almost certain will not see another season. I don't know how this promising concept could go so wrong. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews