• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 27, 2012
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 27, 2012
    60
    First impressions suggest the writers of Last Resort are waging an internal battle between grounding the show in some semblance of reality and allowing it to spin out into cheap soap opera territory.
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 21, 2012
    60
    Conflicts and tortured characters abound. Unfortunately, the drama goes somewhat soggy when the camera leaves the tight confines of the submarine and the complex plotlines twist into knots.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 25, 2012
    50
    The show, co-created by Shawn Ryan of "The Shield," is weirdly watchable, the way a hamster spinning a treadmill is watchable.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 27, 2012
    40
    When you get a headache just trying to follow a show's setup, that's not a good sign. When a show's twists and turns make it hard to concentrate on what seems to be a terrific performance from the splendid Andre Braugher, that's even worse.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    1
    From high hopes to up in flames. What a disjointed mess of a show. The writers seem torn betwee a show based on reality and a cheesy soapFrom high hopes to up in flames. What a disjointed mess of a show. The writers seem torn betwee a show based on reality and a cheesy soap opera. Plots are complex and don't flow, the acting goes from average to bad. It had potential. underscore had.. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    5
    Really disappointing. Previews were great, sucked me right in. Looked like a Tom Clancy thriller..... instead looks like we have a 90210 on aReally disappointing. Previews were great, sucked me right in. Looked like a Tom Clancy thriller..... instead looks like we have a 90210 on a Sub. I'm going to give it a few more episodes to make my final judgement. Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    By far this is one of the best shows to come out in years. An interesting plot, well written characters, and just enough action to keep peopleBy far this is one of the best shows to come out in years. An interesting plot, well written characters, and just enough action to keep people interested without being "overkill". My only real complaint about the show is that the premiere was only 1 hour, when it should have been a 2 or even 3 hour event. Hopefully we'll get a little more back story through flashbacks etc. in the coming episodes. 10/10! Full Review »