• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 11, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Lights Out Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An FX drama project sees a former boxing champion struggling with the beginning of dementia take a job as a collector. The project is penned by feature film writer of The Bucket List Justin Zackham.
  • Genre(s): Sports, Drama, Sports
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 24, 2011
    100
    Beneath the grit, this is a tale of chivalry. [31 Jan 2011, p.40]
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 7, 2011
    90
    It's quickly clear that this skillfully sustained, sharply plotted series is a fighter saga you'll want to follow to the final bell.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Personally, I have even less interest in boxing than I do in those other worlds, so when I say I swallowed most of the 13-episode first season of FX's new boxing drama, Lights Out in a couple of marathon gulps, it's saying something.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 10, 2011
    80
    Chalk up Lights Out as another creative success for FX, the basic cable network that specializes in series with male-skewing milieus.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 11, 2011
    80
    Lights Out has its work cut out for it to find and hold an audience and deliver the proverbial TKO, but on the basis of the work alone, it's a triumph.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 10, 2011
    75
    Lights Out may not reach the level of "The Sopranos," but it has enough going for it to at least earn a shot at the title.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 11, 2011
    50
    Lights Out isn't a bad show, but it's frustratingly uneven. It has its moments, but at this stage, it doesn't offer the kind of deeply fascinating and addictive portrait of human nature that we've come to expect from the top tier of cable dramas.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    I love this show . it's way better then a lot of the stuff FX shows or has shown. I think this show is right up their with Sons of anarchy ,and the shield . Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This series has everything to go right, a champion to be retired, but be crazy to go back to war of punches back. 100%. A great many early struggles to come, I look at this great emotion. Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    Being a avid boxing fan this show has it all. Very witty with a lot of insight to the boxing world. Very true to a real experience of a boxer and everything around him. One of my favorite shows of all time. Teddy Atlas is an advisor to the show and that says a lot. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2011
    8
    Dark, Gritty, and well written. Was gonna give up on FX after they canned Terriers, but checked this out anyways. This is a story of man doing everything he can to provide for his family after the giving up the one thing that was his passion and life. The lead does a very good job and looks the part of a pro boxer. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2011
    8
    The show started off slow but has picked up the last couple of weeks, I went from watching it because it was on, to counting down till the next episode, can't wait to see how the season ends! Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2011
    8
    This show is great. More of a story line than I expected - not all violence and blood as I feared. Holt McCallany is very convincing as a boxer. Pablo Schreiber as his bro is a true find, great in this role. Would like them to pick up the pace a bit, but I'll stick around until that happens. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    I cannot believe that people that claim to be boxing fans actually like this show. Its fight scenes are crap. The lead is completely unconvincing as a boxer; he looks like a pudgy old man, and cannot throw a convincing punch. As a drama, it's middling and clichéd. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews