• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 222

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    2
    Episode 4 of season 5 qualifies as the worst "Mad Men" episode ever. I give the episode a D. Sally may have been slipped a Seconal but I felt sleepy throughout most of the show. And Don's hallucinations from a slight fever should have given the story editor nightmares. Read my full review (what worked/what didnt') here: www.madmenreview.blogspot.com
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    It's still toasted.

    The only other episodes of "Mad Men" that I have watched was the first 4 episodes. They weren't interesting enough that I wanted to continue watching the series. "Mad Men" have alot of great qualities. Those qualities have been mentioned plenty of times before. So, there is no use repeating them. The big flaw of series is the lack of story. Instead of making us
    care about the characters or to be interested in what's going on, the writers seem more interested in pointing out how different things are in sixties than they are now. The comparison that I've came up with is "Masterpiece Theatre." It is also a high quality television show with period pieces starring great actors. Yet, it is so aloof that it's hard to care about the story.

    Earlier, I made a reference from the first episode to sum up my feelings about the show. Like toast, the show is sturdy, but dry & not that filling.
    Expand
  3. May 12, 2012
    2
    This is one of the most painful collapse of a series I have ever seen. Everything I loved in Mad Men has simply disappeared. It had taken four seasons to build meticulously the psychology of characters such as Betty and Pete, and in a flash all this work was swept away with grotesque and implausible solutions. Betty that becomes obese in a few months is simply meaningless. Pete, who had learned to love his wife, who had built a complicity with her and had become an adult, is now again an **** without interest. Undecided about whether to turn to soap opera or sitcom, Mad Men has lost his artistic identity, as pointed out, moreover, by a direction more and more flat and uninteresting. There remain only the jokes of Roger and the hotness of Megan, and nothing else. I am astounded by the fact that everyone seems to be excited about this series. Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 26, 2012
    100
    The show still tends to go suddenly flat--it's hard to tell whether the party is supposed to be dead or it's just incompetently staged--but Hamm is always superb as Don. [2 Apr 2012, p.37]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 23, 2012
    80
    It works because it's less about who we were then--it's a fantasy of who we were then, really--than about who we are now.
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Mar 23, 2012
    80
    Doors are opening. Mind the gap.