• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.5
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 9, 2014
    100
    The writing, by Weiner, direction by Scott Hornbacher and performances are, of course, top notch.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 8, 2014
    100
    This still very much feels like a journey worth taking if only because--in the process--Hamm deftly continues to locate some heroic facet in TV's reigning anti-hero.
  3. Mad Men can still keep us spellbound.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 8, 2014
    100
    Weiner’s ability to capture “human” set Mad Men apart at the first beginning and shows no sign of faltering at the second.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 3, 2014
    100
    Evaluated merely as one episode competing against all the previous episodes in the series, this one is pretty spectacular.... Mad Men is back, looking as vibrant as ever.
  6. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Apr 2, 2014
    100
    It sounds heavy, yet the premiere is as buoyant as it is deep, light as it is layered. It is many things at once, including absolutely fantastic.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 10, 2014
    91
    The pace hasn’t quickened. Nor does the storyline congeal. Instead, Sunday’s re-opener builds to a terrifically poignant finish accompanied by music that likewise cries out in pain.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Apr 15, 2014
    90
    There’s a confidence in the writing in this episode that’s been missing the last few years, in which it sometimes felt like we were spinning our wheels.
  9. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Sunday’s premiere provides the border and key pieces to the oh-so-attractive world that is Mad Men.
  10. 90
    To watch any engrossing drama is to feel for fictional people the way we feel for real-life friends. Even when they piss us off, we wish them the best.
  11. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 11, 2014
    90
    It’s a promising reentry. All the major themes, so subtly articulated across the first six seasons, are coming to a head.
  12. Reviewed by: Tim Molloy
    Apr 11, 2014
    90
    Mad Men is getting better as it goes on.
  13. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Apr 11, 2014
    88
    The contrast between the laid-back romanticism of the West Coast and the formality of New York is palpable in scene after scene.
  14. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 11, 2014
    88
    Mad Men has both the greatness of execution and inscrutability of artistic intent, and it won't be until the show actually ends that I'll know which one won out. [21 Apr 2014, p.41]
  15. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 7, 2014
    88
    The premiere lacks the gravitas of last season’s heavily symbolic opener, but it sets the stage for what promises to be a tumultuous, enticing end run.
  16. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 11, 2014
    83
    A new day is approaching, and Don seems unprepared for what lies ahead.
  17. Reviewed by: Kristi Turnquist
    Jun 24, 2014
    80
    With its signature mixture of tiny details providing texture and easy storytelling flow, Mad Men lures us back into its final season with all the confidence in the world.
  18. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 14, 2014
    80
    You will find things still generally a mess come Sunday, but now there is at least the possibility of light.
  19. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 11, 2014
    80
    While prolonging the inevitable, and potentially blunting whatever narrative momentum still exists in a most inelegant and desperate-seeming way, it's no wonder the often dazzling opening episode--titled Time Zones, in a nod to the firm's now-bicoastal focus--is so preoccupied with time.
  20. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Apr 11, 2014
    80
    In each one [hour] that we do see, there’s a sense of urgency in the face of change, of characters figuring they have maybe one more chance to get themselves where they want to be.
  21. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 11, 2014
    80
    I appreciate its willingness to be life-sized, if not exactly subtle, in a medium that increasingly demands its drama on steroids. And I applaud its rejection of nostalgia as much as I do its avoidance (so far) of serial killers. It's the fetishizing of the visual, not lack of action, that leaves me impatient.
  22. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 14, 2014
    75
    While we appear to be in for a depressing ride, fear not: Creator Matthew Weiner still has a few winks and tricks up his sleeve.
  23. Reviewed by: Luis Sanchez
    Apr 9, 2014
    75
    That the episode feels somewhat uneventful only belies the intriguing, subtle shifts that have taken place since last season.
  24. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 3, 2014
    70
    The start to the bifurcated final season feels more indifferently paced than most--and thanks to the gradual push further into the 1960s, perhaps too groovy and scattered for its own good.
  25. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 11, 2014
    60
    It’s as watchable as ever, and also as unsatisfying as ever, as it veers toward the helter-skelter.
  26. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Apr 10, 2014
    60
    The cinematography is striking, as always; the sets and costumes remain as telling as the dialogue--this is when Peter Max was on the cover of Life magazine. But many of the characters are repeating themselves or pedaling in place, and the historic underlay that was once so piquant is now dreary.
  27. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Apr 11, 2014
    50
    In the past, the slower season premieres crackled with energy. You could feel the tension. Traveling through Time Zones, you experience something of a power failure.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    5
    Mad Men really feels like a show that's run a season too long. It started feeling that way towards the in season 6 and, sadly, season 7Mad Men really feels like a show that's run a season too long. It started feeling that way towards the in season 6 and, sadly, season 7 follows suit as it limps out of the gate. Whatever connections I felt with these characters from seasons 1-4 have slowly been whittled away by seasons 5 and 6. Now in Season 7, I can't bring myself to really care about them anymore. Don is the same old Don. Peggy is the same old Peggy. Sterling is the same old Sterling, now with 100% more LSD instead of booze. Pete has changed for the (somewhat) better but at the cost of everyone else at SC&P, who have all become jerks.

    Like LamontRaymond said in his review of the pilot, it just feels like we've been here before... Over and over and over again. The suspense and drama of the character interactions ran their course a long time ago. Meanwhile, the promo videos show Pete talking to someone on the phone about breaking away and starting yet another agency? We've seen that plot line once already...
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    Don't listen to the naysayers who think the only valid criticism is to carp and complain.

    Mad Men continues to be one of the most
    Don't listen to the naysayers who think the only valid criticism is to carp and complain.

    Mad Men continues to be one of the most brilliantly written, acted, and directed programs on TV. Anyone who claims that the first episode was predictable and the performances phoned in just does not have the inherent capacity to appreciate what they're watching. Matt Weiner still has the ability to both fullfill and upend viewers' expectations at the same time. It's what makes Mad Men so compelling.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    5
    It's only been one episode, but this season feels mailed-in. Workaday. Been there,done that. I'm intrigued by the Freddy storyline, and theIt's only been one episode, but this season feels mailed-in. Workaday. Been there,done that. I'm intrigued by the Freddy storyline, and the Neve Campbell scene was cool, but the rest felt oh so .... standard. Full Review »