• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 13, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Major Crimes Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Raymond Cruz, Mary McDonnell, G.W. Bailey
  • Summary: Captain Sharon Raydor (Mary McDonnell) discovers the Major Crimes division is not thrilled with her taking over from Brenda Leigh Johnson (Kyra Sedgwick).
  • Genre(s): Drama
  • Creator: James Duff
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Aug 13, 2012
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Aug 13, 2012
    83
    A sharply written, acted and directed start that will hook fans immediately.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Aug 9, 2012
    80
    This handoff is clean.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Aug 13, 2012
    80
    As before there is a nice balance between social drama and personal business, the tragic and the comic, exaggeration and authenticity.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Aug 9, 2012
    67
    Relying less on instinct and showy interrogations, Raydor commands her unit with a nice brusqueness, gathers clues, and solves cases with airtight logic. The primary problem with Major is its slow pace.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 13, 2012
    60
    With most of The Closer's original crew staying on, it's almost business as usual--though with Sedgwick no longer at the center, replaced by Mary McDonnell's inscrutably smug and unsympathetic Capt. Sharon Raydor, the franchise can't help but be diminished.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    The first two cases, involving a gang of murderous thieves and the death of a personal trainer, are ho-hum. McDonnell, a fine actress, finally has a chance to inject some dry wit into her stoic investigator.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Aug 13, 2012
    40
    Pleasant in its details but hollow at its center, Major Crimes could argue in favor of a much-derided TV practice: the traditional network development process. It could have benefited from a year or two spent working on a pilot.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    This show takes what The Closer had going to new heights, Mary McDonnell is incredible and brings new perspective to what was becoming aThis show takes what The Closer had going to new heights, Mary McDonnell is incredible and brings new perspective to what was becoming a monotonous tv series, can't wait for Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Major Crimes is a well written show. We look forward to watching it every week. Thought we would miss the Closer but this show is so good weMajor Crimes is a well written show. We look forward to watching it every week. Thought we would miss the Closer but this show is so good we have not. Look forward to next summer when it returns. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    I watched The Closer sporadically because I felt like it was the same thing over and over again. I didn't feel like there was much insightI watched The Closer sporadically because I felt like it was the same thing over and over again. I didn't feel like there was much insight into the cast as a team but more centered on Brenda and her alone (maybe that was the intent)... but I liked the cast so I watched when I could. I thought bringing in Captain Raydor really elevated the show and wished she was around more. Now with Major Crimes, I never miss an episode. The cast seems to shine and it doesn't focus solely on one central character but everyone as a team (and there always seems to be a time when one cast member shines and the others are the support). I like that we are seeing real people do their jobs and balance life issues. It feels like the real world. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    Extremely well done. This is "The Closer" part two, with the same high quality acting, writing and directing. Mary McDonnell does not haveExtremely well done. This is "The Closer" part two, with the same high quality acting, writing and directing. Mary McDonnell does not have Kyra's personality, quirkiness or appeal, but she still pulls off her sterner, stiffer approach to crime solving. The segue from "closing" to "conviction without trials", was a major coup for the writers. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    As this review is written, this series has shown four episodes. In some respects, this first season is a rehash of its progenitor, "TheAs this review is written, this series has shown four episodes. In some respects, this first season is a rehash of its progenitor, "The Closer." We have familiarity with most of the cast, including the new protagonist, Capt. Sharon Raydor, portrayed by Mary McDonnell, who has been a recurring character for the past three seasons. The creators' job is to somewhat rehabilitate this character and make her more likable. The device they use is the "adoption" of a street kid who is a material witness in a serial murder. They also have her slowly winning over the squad who was intensely loyal to former chief, Brenda Leigh Johnson, who is no longer seen. The transition has been slow and plodding. The cases pursued by the squad have been less than potent compared to the prior series.

    However, it's early yet. There are six more episodes to this season to be played out over the fall, and presumably, around the holidays. Will "Major Crimes" attain the popularity of its predecessor? The jury is still out.

    UPDATE:

    The first season has now concluded and the good news is that the series has gotten much better. The emphasis on making deals in order to close cases has been de-emphasized and the cases have more of the twist and turns that "The Closer" had in its cases.

    The device of incorporating the street kid, Rusty Beck, into Sharon Raydor's life has been effective. It shows us another side of a character who, until exposed, has been an anathema to fans of "The Closer." In fact, by season's end, young Mr. Beck has been "adopted" not just by many of the fans and Capt. Raydor, but by the Major Crimes squad itself.

    The other new character introduced, Det. Amy Skyes, was also distasteful in introductory episodes. However, by season's end, she also gained her footing and became an integral part of the squad.

    There are still problems. It's incongruous when the FBI's Fritz Howard is around that no mention of Chief Johnson is made. Johnson, Gabriel and Pope are unseen and, with the exception of Pope, seldom mentioned.

    However, the play's the thing and the quality of the stories have been much more compelling. The characters are even more "familiar" with one another with a simple device of addressing one another by first names.

    All in all, "Major Crimes" has developed into a solid series. I'm looking forward to next summer's 13 episodes.
    Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2012
    7
    Major Crimes basically picks up where The Closer left off. The cast seems to be trying extra hard to cover the hole left by the amazing KyraMajor Crimes basically picks up where The Closer left off. The cast seems to be trying extra hard to cover the hole left by the amazing Kyra Sedgwick. Maybe too hard. In one episode Mary McDonnell dramatically screams at a Lab Technician "don't put me on hold I am the police." The most interesting character might be the awkward yet strangely talented detective Amy Sykes played by Kearran Giovanni. The writing on the show is still top notch. The cast may want to dial it back a notch. Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    Could be a great show,but for Mary McDonnell.I find she is so wooden,and shows no facial expressions. She always seems to be reading off a cueCould be a great show,but for Mary McDonnell.I find she is so wooden,and shows no facial expressions. She always seems to be reading off a cue card,and badly. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews