• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 2, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Malibu Country Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Lily Tomlin, Sara Rue, Reba McEntire
  • Summary: After the truth that her husband cheated on her comes out, country singer Reba Gallagher (Reba McEntire) leaves for California with her mother (Lily Tomlin) and two children.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Creator: Dave Stewart, Dave Harris
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Nov 2, 2012
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 08:30 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Nov 1, 2012
    67
    I can't say I laughed a lot, but I like the premise and kind of dig the sheer novelty of a show that doesn't have characters forever addressing the camera.
  2. 60
    The multicamera, laughtrack sitcom is completely unoriginal, the jokes are recycled and many of the characters--especially Reba's obnoxious teenage son and daughter--are underdeveloped stereotype. Still, the charismatic country star and Tomlin's droll Lillie Mae, who successfully balances her sharp tongue with surprising softness, are entertaining.
  3. 50
    The dialogue and situations (written by Kevin Abbott) are nothing special.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 1, 2012
    38
    The Nashville-meets-California jokes are pretty weak. [12 Nov 2012, p.46]
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Nov 1, 2012
    37
    Lazy and listless to the point of being sad.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 2, 2012
    30
    Unfortunately, there are few shows this season worse or more grating than tonight's Malibu Country, where the beachfront corn grows awfully and annoyingly high.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    0
    Reba McEntire stars in this unfortunately joyless sitcom about a woman who gave up her own singing career to support her husband's superstardom in country music.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    As usual, critic ratings are, and not surprisingly, inversely proportional to watcher ratings. Critics look for the negative, over dramatizeAs usual, critic ratings are, and not surprisingly, inversely proportional to watcher ratings. Critics look for the negative, over dramatize it, and purposely scare off viewers who would otherwise most likely enjoy a show. I've learned to judge for myself, and oftentimes...when the critics hate it...I know I'll love it. Mostly b/c I know it means the show is most likely good-natured, not full of naked people having sex, or scheming scoundrels trying to out subterfuge each other - which are the shows the critics just "looooove." Screw the critics I love this show. Collapse
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    It's so great to see Reba back on TV with Malibu Country and with such an amazing cast. This show is both funny, tackles issues and familyIt's so great to see Reba back on TV with Malibu Country and with such an amazing cast. This show is both funny, tackles issues and family deals with, and is a family friendly show! I hope to see it around for many years! Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Reba, Sara and Lily are a great comedy team. This show is cute, funny and witty; a must see! It touches on family issues, 'taboo'subjects,Reba, Sara and Lily are a great comedy team. This show is cute, funny and witty; a must see! It touches on family issues, 'taboo'subjects, and has the right amount of sarcasm. I love this show! Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Avery clever gentle comedy with biting humour and social commentary highlighted by Reba and veteran Lily Tomlin and a strong script and aAvery clever gentle comedy with biting humour and social commentary highlighted by Reba and veteran Lily Tomlin and a strong script and a wicked sense of humour. this is a throwback to the tgif friday nights in the 1990s its great family fair for the whole family what a great combination! Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2012
    1
    Depressing and unoriginal. The show is filled with cliches to the brim. The plot is unimaginative and tired, the acting average at best andDepressing and unoriginal. The show is filled with cliches to the brim. The plot is unimaginative and tired, the acting average at best and the actor's habit of laughing at their own jokes no matter how unfunny is sad. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    1
    Having watched "Reba" and enjoyed the joy very much. Having seen the work of Lillie Tomlin as most have, i respect the immense talent ofHaving watched "Reba" and enjoyed the joy very much. Having seen the work of Lillie Tomlin as most have, i respect the immense talent of both and can say that neither would be part of a project they felt would not work. However, i must admit that for what ever reason, they have chosen to stay "within" the box and we must all remember that their are cases where even great actors can not overcome poor writing and lack of creativity... NEVER EVER thought i would rate any piece of work assocaited with Reba poorly, but also know that the most critical person reviewing her work, is her!... luv ya Reba and know the most important value you have is honesty... good luck you guys and work ont his PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    the show is wrong,the story is not catchy enough its a sitcom and yet is really hard to laugh ,the show is not funny i know we all love Rebathe show is wrong,the story is not catchy enough its a sitcom and yet is really hard to laugh ,the show is not funny i know we all love Reba but...come on lets be honest here it is a bad show Expand

See all 10 User Reviews