Man Up! : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 18, 2011
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 11 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 17, 2011
    40
    It's presented in such a familiar single-camera manner it would be easy to mistakenly assume "Man Up!" is a rerun of recent sitcoms past.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 17, 2011
    58
    There's a smoldering ember of promise here, mainly in the cast, even if the pilot tended to smother it.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 17, 2011
    40
    The point is, a bunch of good actors are stuck in a sitcom that has limited appeal.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 18, 2011
    42
    At this stage, Man Up! (which was actually created by co-star Chris Moynihan) is a show with forgettable characters, jokes that don't land and a shaky grasp at best on its own premise.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 17, 2011
    50
    The whole enterprise seems way too wobbly to walk upright under its own power.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 18, 2011
    50
    It's all about their attitudes, and on that front, Man Up! is a downer.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Oct 17, 2011
    42
    Male characters are incompetent but lovable, and their wives nagging but wise, as if both groups had been snatched straight out of ads for beer and yogurt, respectively.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    Please let this show find an audience. It is funny as hell, quirky, different, and thoroughly entertaining. It has an excellent cast, andPlease let this show find an audience. It is funny as hell, quirky, different, and thoroughly entertaining. It has an excellent cast, and the first episodes I've seen show REAL promise. Full Review »
  2. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    It has a great cast and a lot of potential. Critics are vastly wrong on this one. It is so funny, and Dan Fogler is by far the funniest guy inIt has a great cast and a lot of potential. Critics are vastly wrong on this one. It is so funny, and Dan Fogler is by far the funniest guy in this show. I've been a fan of his for years. I really hope this show lasts!! Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    I have to say, despite even seeing a bunch of clips online, I still was pleasantly entertained. I think critics need to stop analysing it soI have to say, despite even seeing a bunch of clips online, I still was pleasantly entertained. I think critics need to stop analysing it so 'fluffin' hard and like it for what it is....a comedy about some real-type guys who feel familiar and are fun to watch.

    Is it brand new type comedy? No. But I dare you to show me something that is? I have watched Last Man Standing (blah) and Modern Family (good) and I think Man Up! beats them both hands down.

    If you don't over-analyse it, you will enjoy it for what it is...SIMPLE FUN COMEDY!

    Sometimes it's not about pushing the envelope, or being different and more about just being the guys next door! It's a character show. Like the characters, like the show.
    Full Review »