Maron Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Marc Maron stars as a fictionalized version of himself in this new sitcom.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Talk & Interview
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    May 2, 2013
    91
    Maron, 49, seems to be effortlessly gliding through his angst, laughing only rarely while giving viewers far more reason to do so.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    May 6, 2013
    80
    Maron is short, funny and coherent.
  3. Reviewed by: Daniel Kohn
    May 9, 2014
    80
    Maron is at its greatest when the comedian plays into the abrasiveness that lands him in trouble with others.
  4. Reviewed by: Luis Sanchez
    Apr 30, 2013
    75
    Though its narrative structure and atmosphere take a markedly different tack, Maron presents itself as a fair complement to Louie in that both shows concern themselves with refreshingly substantive masculine types.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    May 3, 2013
    70
    It’s a likable, natural extension of Maron’s brand.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    May 3, 2013
    70
    It can be claustrophobic; it can be, as Marc’s Twitter hater tells him in the first episode, “whiny.” But it can also be quite funny, as Maron’s instinctive kvetchiness runs up against the practicalities of life.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 29, 2013
    30
    The acrimony between the two men [Marc Maron and his father] doesn’t register as funny or entertaining. Louis C.K. has shown us, on “Louie,” what sort of deeper meaning can be mined in such deep contempt, but on Maron it just feels ugly and dull.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    Two years ago I didn't know who Marc Maron was, and now I'm glad I do.

    While shining an obviously hyperbolic light on the comedic side of
    entertainment, Maron (the show) works through universal issues of humanity in a way not dissimilar to Louie or Seinfeld. There's an aesthetic genuine-ness combined with hyper self-awareness that all of this is in fact merely a representation of somewhat real events. Most importantly, I find it hilarious.

    I totally dig it, man.
    Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    Great show. Smart story-lines, and gets better every week. Marc is terrific as an actor, because he is playing everything as he really would, and that shows. IFC should let this gem grow for many years. The perfect companion to "Portlandia". Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    For those that miss the unique reality that was all Larry David in Curb Your Enthusiasm, or can't get enough of the perpetually awkward-to-hilarity relationship Louis CK portrays in his newer series of same name, you're in for one heck of a treat with this highly original, always entertaining, and downright hilarious new series starring Mark "get used to seeing this guy from now on" Maron!

    Enjoy,
    Christian Hunter
    Austin, TX
    Collapse
  4. May 24, 2013
    8
    Watched the pilot, and I have to say it was pretty hilarious, will be looking forward to upcoming episodes of the show. If you enjoy comedies like Louie and My Name Is Earl, I would highly suggest this. Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    2
    I wanted to like the show, I really did. Maron simply lacks the charisma necessary to star in his own vehicle. His acting is HORRIBLE. Stilted. He doesn't have Larry David or Louis CK's charm. The shows fell flat. I'll stick to his podcasts in the future. Expand

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: Your Guide to 70 New & Returning Shows

    Summer TV Preview: Your Guide to 70 New & Returning Shows Image
    Published: May 7, 2014
    We take a look at the most notable new and returning shows headed to TV screens between now and August, including new seasons of Orange Is the New Black, Rectify, and Masters of Sex, plus intriguing newcomers like The Leftovers, Penny Dreadful, The Strain, The Knick, and Halt & Catch Fire.