• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2009
  • Season #: 1
Mercy Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Drafted to fill in for the delayed "Parenthood," the drama about the staff of New Jersey's Mercy Hospital focuses on three nurses.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 9 out of 17
  1. It sounds soapy, but it's all handled well enough, and with enough humor, that we believe it.
  2. 60
    Looking for a show to stave off "ER" withdrawal? Have Mercy; it's (you'll pardon the expression) strong medicine.
  3. 60
    If Ozzie and Harriet, the original sitcom mom and dad, might have some trouble recognizing themselves in any of this, surely Houlihan, the bullied boy-toy nurse of M*A*S*H, will raise a clenched fist of solidarity with the hardbitten Iraq war veteran Veronica Callahan of Mercy.
  4. 37
    There are some remarkably good actors going to waste here, most of whom will no doubt wipe this showoff their résumé the moment they get the chance.
  5. When it comes to Mercy, they (and we) should probably expect none.
  6. Unlike "Jackie," nothing in Mercy feels real or believable, particularly the naivete of the recent grad student newbie nurse, who acts as if she's never been in a hospital.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    10
    Yes, I saved the worst for last. NBC’s mawkish new nurse melodrama Mercy has no mercy.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26
  1. AleahH.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    This show was way better then I thought it was going to be. I can't wait for next week.
  2. JamesM
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    I have read every single rating on here so far, and I am astounded at the criticalness of most of them. If I wanted to watch a real ER I would go sit in the waiting room. This show is funny, witty, and dramatic all at the same time. If this show is canceled, I will NEVER watch NBC's new shows again!!! This and Trauma are the only new shows on TV that I am even watching this season!! Expand
  3. SARAHB
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    Great show!!! It's about time there's a show about a woman torn between her profession, her insane alcoholic family, herself, her past (war), two lovers Her life is real..tragic and humorous all in a matter of moments. If this show was about a male soldier grappling with "normality" upon returning from war --it would be hailed as genius. ..This show is blue collar, not boston ivy league surgeons and doesn't have profound VO to mask the melodrama... or maybe people don't take post traumatic syndrome by female soldiers seriously..so maybe this show is ahead of it's time..Keep this show on.. and take us to the war -in her head and the one we still fighting... Expand
  4. LuciaT.M.
    Sep 25, 2009
    8
    I liked it! I wish they didn't have so much violent action interspersed with so many commercials tho. It made it hard to follow. We'll be watching next week...& going to eat at Olive Garden to show support! Expand
  5. SuzanneG.
    Sep 26, 2009
    4
    I am an ER nurse myself and I found the majority of the show way out of line in several instances. I would not want the public to think that real nurses act this stupid and "high school." The scene at the bar was just too much. Nurses are professionals who act a lot better than this group. And the doctor pulling the nurse into the closet was Sooooooo obviously done for effect and ratings or something but even my husband turned to me and said nurses don't do this.......Please.......create a show that shows what nurses REALLY are like. There is plenty of drama in what goes on every day. Don't insult us like that. Collapse
  6. LindaS
    Nov 6, 2009
    1
    I watched a few Mercy shows, but simply can not get into it. The show is too much like a night time soap opera centered around the lives of the main hospital characters. Plus the characters are not believable. Good characters make the show. I thought it would be more drama filled with actual hospital cases and how they are resolved. If this one returns next season I will be surprised. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Sep 23, 2009
    0
    This has to be one of the worst shows I have ever seen. Boring, predictable, poorly written, stiffly acted, treating alcoholism and cancer as jokes... So bad. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews