• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 16, 2013
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Give credit where credit is due. Sad to say, the beginning of the Mike Tyson story is not unusual; disadvantaged, broken dysfunction family, poorly educated, brought up on the tough streets of Brooklyn, but a young man with unusual pugilistic talent and although Cus D'Amato believes in him, tells Mike, that he will one day become the youngest heavyweight champion of the world; we needGive credit where credit is due. Sad to say, the beginning of the Mike Tyson story is not unusual; disadvantaged, broken dysfunction family, poorly educated, brought up on the tough streets of Brooklyn, but a young man with unusual pugilistic talent and although Cus D'Amato believes in him, tells Mike, that he will one day become the youngest heavyweight champion of the world; we need only to remember that this world is filled with unfulfilled destinies, and broken dreams. Iron Mike through hard work, talent, and dedication, fulfills those dreams and his story becomes one then of fame, fortune, and pleasure absolutely shattered. Still we learn through this one-man drama, that just below the surface of Tyson, through all the ups and downs, incarceration, drug addiction, and divorce that he yearns most for familial love both to give and to receive. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2014
    1
    I was wanting to like this, was wanting to hear something a bit more substantial. Instead after what seemed like a 10 minute rant on how he kicked a boxers ass in a nightclub, I couldn't stand what was, in collaboration with a fawning audience, just a glorification of brutal violence. I just felt pity for the guy. I didn't want to watch past about 53 minutes. Still a thug at heart and II was wanting to like this, was wanting to hear something a bit more substantial. Instead after what seemed like a 10 minute rant on how he kicked a boxers ass in a nightclub, I couldn't stand what was, in collaboration with a fawning audience, just a glorification of brutal violence. I just felt pity for the guy. I didn't want to watch past about 53 minutes. Still a thug at heart and I was hoping he would redeem himself to a certain degree. Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2014
    0
    Should have been to Denmark but canceled for the 2nd time, wrote a email to ask why but no answer, so bad and lousy from a so called champ and his manager or who is in charge, yes I am disapointed, we have so rarely a chance to see big former personalities.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 20, 2013
    75
    The anecdotes slam into each other with a punch-drunk indifference--but director Spike Lee's style is a series of swift jabs. [18 Nov 2013, p.47]
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Lee directs the film in a way that spotlights Tyson’s humor and a degree of articulation that probably still surprises a lot of people.
  3. Reviewed by: Josh Modell
    Nov 15, 2013
    67
    Here, he proves himself a solid entertainer with a fascinating story, but never comes across as fully believable, as if he’s actually sharing the whole story.