• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 26, 2014
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 25, 2014
    80
    Maintaining this sort of rat-a-rat patter is no small feat, but the series gets off to such a promising start as to bode well for future installments. Moreover, the shifting pairings from episode to episode create a semi-serialized element that deftly builds off the groundwork laid the previous week, conjuring questions about who’s going to wind up with whom.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Feb 25, 2014
    75
    Some twisty situations, some unexpected heart, some nuanced acting. Some serious single-camera potential.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 24, 2014
    75
    The show is funny enough, although you might wonder where it would go in a second season, but here's the dirty little secret of Mixology: It's intelligent and poignant as well as being entertaining.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 21, 2014
    75
    The characters are too uneven a group: Some of them you instantly overlook, like the olive in a cocktail. Even so, thus has potential. [3 Mar 2014, p.41]
  5. Reviewed by: Karen Valby
    Feb 14, 2014
    75
    If you like--or like zoning out to--slick and shiny romantic comedies in the vein of New Year's Eve and Valentine's Day, Mixology is the show for you. But underneath the glossy, Ryan Seacrest-produced banner, this cocktail actually has some genuine sweetness and originality.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 25, 2014
    70
    The mix of characters works well and provokes a fair number of laughs.
  7. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Feb 26, 2014
    63
    For every great line, there’s a dud.
  8. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Feb 27, 2014
    60
    Mixology has sharp-witted lines that are genuinely funny--if at times highly sexist--rather than being gratuitous, clichés, or too-obvious puns.
  9. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 26, 2014
    58
    Troubled spirits: Mixology is drowning in them. Save yourself.
  10. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 25, 2014
    50
    The producers of this series, who include Ryan Seacrest, nonetheless are asking viewers to patiently sort through a lot of characters.
  11. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 14, 2014
    50
    So far, it's less funny than intriguing, a way to shake up the sitcom.... The series, the first scripted entry from Ryan Seacrest Productions, seems awfully superficial, at least in the first three episodes available for preview.
  12. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Feb 26, 2014
    42
    Only intermittently funny but unceasingly crass.
  13. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Feb 25, 2014
    42
    Mixology has a big enough ensemble that it can present the dating game from multiple angles, but almost all of the angles it picks are stale and predictable.
  14. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 26, 2014
    40
    While some of the flirtatious banter in these random odd couplings can be witty and even winsome, after a few rounds (I made it through three episodes), I was ready to close out my tab.
  15. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 26, 2014
    40
    There is something mechanical and arbitrary about the plotting, as if a mess of gears that didn't actually go together had been smashed into some semblance of a working order.
  16. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 26, 2014
    40
    At the end of the night, Mixology doesn’t have a lot of fizz.
  17. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 25, 2014
    40
    Despite an honest attempt at a fresh concoction, the results taste watered-down.
  18. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Feb 20, 2014
    40
    A show with a reasonably clever conceit and strong cast but sunk, again, by weak, narrow-minded writing.
  19. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 26, 2014
    37
    The ones who aren't cruel, disloyal and sex-crazed are dim-witted and sex-crazed, which isn't much of an improvement.
  20. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Feb 21, 2014
    20
    ABC is advertising that the show's creators wrote "The Hangover," but imagine that movie with the heart and charm removed, and you're left with these skeevy remains.
  21. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Feb 27, 2014
    16
    Nearly every character is introduced in the most repulsive way possible and then the show tries to backtrack, sell the characters out and make it seem like they're all just marshmallows.
  22. 10
    ABC's new comedy Mixology is vile.
  23. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 26, 2014
    0
    Mixology is a tone-deaf, poorly executed, badly written series that, in the parlance of the show, kind of rapes comedy.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this series! it is not only funny but it's real life problems that people have. I think that the show has so much potentialI absolutely love this series! it is not only funny but it's real life problems that people have. I think that the show has so much potential and I would love for it to continue! Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    I decided to watch the premier of this show fully expecting it to be awful. (Admission: I am an 80 year old male whose "pickup scene" isI decided to watch the premier of this show fully expecting it to be awful. (Admission: I am an 80 year old male whose "pickup scene" is currently extremely limited.) It appears that the series may take place in one night at a fairly upscale bar, showing relationships between a new couple each week. The show is written mostly from the young male viewpoint (note the "crass" comments from some critic's reviews). I thought the show was extremely funny with crisply written (if crass) dialog. My wife thought the show was "OK", illustrating I think the difference between male and female perceptions of "Mixology". I will definitely continue to watch the show though I have some question if it will be able to sustain its current level. Full Review »
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    this is one of the best romantic shows i have ever watch . Writer of hangover brings us mixology a sexy , funny , romantic comedy tv . it is athis is one of the best romantic shows i have ever watch . Writer of hangover brings us mixology a sexy , funny , romantic comedy tv . it is a wonderful show because it abot love and how 10 singles get these girls . it romantic and i will always watch this show
    Grade A+
    Full Review »