• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 26, 2014
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    I decided to watch the premier of this show fully expecting it to be awful. (Admission: I am an 80 year old male whose "pickup scene" is currently extremely limited.) It appears that the series may take place in one night at a fairly upscale bar, showing relationships between a new couple each week. The show is written mostly from the young male viewpoint (note the "crass" comments fromI decided to watch the premier of this show fully expecting it to be awful. (Admission: I am an 80 year old male whose "pickup scene" is currently extremely limited.) It appears that the series may take place in one night at a fairly upscale bar, showing relationships between a new couple each week. The show is written mostly from the young male viewpoint (note the "crass" comments from some critic's reviews). I thought the show was extremely funny with crisply written (if crass) dialog. My wife thought the show was "OK", illustrating I think the difference between male and female perceptions of "Mixology". I will definitely continue to watch the show though I have some question if it will be able to sustain its current level. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this series! it is not only funny but it's real life problems that people have. I think that the show has so much potential and I would love for it to continue!
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    this is one of the best romantic shows i have ever watch . Writer of hangover brings us mixology a sexy , funny , romantic comedy tv . it is a wonderful show because it abot love and how 10 singles get these girls . it romantic and i will always watch this show
    Grade A+
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    After the many negative reviews I was somewhat reluctant to watch this show but was very pleasantly surprised when I did. I find the show fresh and innovative and different from most everything else on TV. Of course, some of the characters are more likeable than others. My favorites are Ginger Gonzaga (Maya), Kate Simses ((Liv), Adam Campbell (Ron), Blake Lee (Tom) and Craig Frank (Cal).After the many negative reviews I was somewhat reluctant to watch this show but was very pleasantly surprised when I did. I find the show fresh and innovative and different from most everything else on TV. Of course, some of the characters are more likeable than others. My favorites are Ginger Gonzaga (Maya), Kate Simses ((Liv), Adam Campbell (Ron), Blake Lee (Tom) and Craig Frank (Cal). Ron definitely has the best lines and sweet and dangerously curious Liv makes the perfect foil for him. I found the story lines funny and engaging. I only hope that the negative reviews and the less than stellar ratings don't lead to the show's premature cancellation by ABC. Does anyone remember what a rocky debut Seinfeld had? I strongly recommend that everyone watch this show and give it a chance; you'll be glad that you did! Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    10
    Acting is spot on. The dynamics between the characters is very tight and funny. Each week I like bruce a little more. I cringed at most of what Tom says. It does what it purports to do - makes me feel for the characters.
  6. May 2, 2014
    10
    Two things:
    1. This show is satire. It pokes fun at these exaggerated versions of REAL people you would find at bars. There is no need to get offended.

    2. While this show is hilarious and pretty well-written, it belongs on FX or Comedy Central
  7. May 5, 2014
    10
    Mixology is a hilarious show with great twists and turns. It is a raw and realistic depiction of the dating world today. The guy who plays Bruce (his name escapes me at the moment) plays a hate-to-love character that absolutely NAILS his role! The background narrations of each character are really fun and enable the audience to really connect and almost build a slight rapport with theMixology is a hilarious show with great twists and turns. It is a raw and realistic depiction of the dating world today. The guy who plays Bruce (his name escapes me at the moment) plays a hate-to-love character that absolutely NAILS his role! The background narrations of each character are really fun and enable the audience to really connect and almost build a slight rapport with the characters. The dynamic of each group is smart, funny and again, realistic. The ditsy waitress with the sexy bartender; The single mom and washed up friend; The business professional man-eater with her sweet and naïve friend/co-worker; And lastly the guys; Complete opposites, Tom and Bruce feed off each other and just create magic on the screen. Tom makes me cringe and yet makes me want to cuddle him and hold him while he cries on my shoulder. Overall this show is entertaining, funny and realistic. As much as I am not the hugest Ryan Seacrest fan, he did, in this case, produce something actually worth watching! Well done! Expand
  8. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    I randomly came across this show mid-season and I was instantly hooked and that doesn't happen often at all. The last show I really liked was freaks and geeks. This show is a look at the bar scene from 10 perspectives and each episode is multiple viewpoints of the same point in the night. I thought the concept was original and it was cool to see a representation of a contemporary nightI randomly came across this show mid-season and I was instantly hooked and that doesn't happen often at all. The last show I really liked was freaks and geeks. This show is a look at the bar scene from 10 perspectives and each episode is multiple viewpoints of the same point in the night. I thought the concept was original and it was cool to see a representation of a contemporary night out. The actors themselves are a great collection of funny, talented, and memorable people. Each character gets explored to different extents in each episode and you come to love them all. It's a shame the show was cancelled although it could be a hard concept to turn into a series. It almost feels like it should be a movie. It reminds me a lot of 'nick and norah's infinite playlist'. As for the abysmal critical reviews... well critics are pretentious **** what's new. Expand
  9. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    "Mixology" was amazing.. this is the saddest day of my life.. You know how I know it was good? I couldn't wait for season 2.. then I found out it was cancelled.. Hey ABC go look up "Mixology season 2" on Google, and see how many people want it back. Or better yet, go on Netflix and look at its rating. It's almost 5 stars. Yeah way to figure out the people. Oh and guess what? Since ive been"Mixology" was amazing.. this is the saddest day of my life.. You know how I know it was good? I couldn't wait for season 2.. then I found out it was cancelled.. Hey ABC go look up "Mixology season 2" on Google, and see how many people want it back. Or better yet, go on Netflix and look at its rating. It's almost 5 stars. Yeah way to figure out the people. Oh and guess what? Since ive been watching it.. Ive told 4 friends about it and they all watch it now. So ive basically multiplied an audience by 4. It''s okay.. im still going to tell people.. and when you guys see how bad we want it back, and how many are watching it, you will eventually renew it. So do it now while you still have your pride. Otherwise your just going to renew it later and do what you could have done now, in about a year. Mkay? Thanks =D Expand
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Feb 27, 2014
    16
    Nearly every character is introduced in the most repulsive way possible and then the show tries to backtrack, sell the characters out and make it seem like they're all just marshmallows.
  2. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Feb 27, 2014
    60
    Mixology has sharp-witted lines that are genuinely funny--if at times highly sexist--rather than being gratuitous, clichés, or too-obvious puns.
  3. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Feb 26, 2014
    42
    Only intermittently funny but unceasingly crass.