Monday Mornings : Season 1

  • Network: TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 4, 2013
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 4, 2013
    91
    Monday Mornings is Kelleyesque in all the best and admittedly worst--melodramatic, manipulative, shocking--ways. But it's also intelligent, particularly well-written and acted, and above all interested in matters other than what's directly mounted on the screen before your eyes, most notably ethics, human nature and human fallibility.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 4, 2013
    80
    It’s not perfect, but it’s easily the most restrained--and satisfying--Kelley series since those first couple of years of “The Practice.”
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 4, 2013
    70
    The cast is solid and admirably diverse.... While never as engaging as Grey's Anatomy nor clever enough to make us forget the void left by House's departure, Mornings at least does no harm.
  4. 63
    The cases often seem more obvious than intriguing; the emotions feel forced; much of the dialogue is trite. The cast is unusually diverse, and that's worthy of high praise.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Feb 4, 2013
    63
    It’s just that we’ve seen most of this before, and despite its creative pedigree and a solid cast--fronted by the always reliable Ving Rhames and Alfred Molina--there’s not enough to set Monday Mornings apart from “ER,” “Grey’s Anatomy,” “Private Practice,” et al.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 1, 2013
    75
    There isn't a bad performance in the bunch.... Veterans Molina and Irwin stand out for especially complex and nuanced performances.
  7. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 31, 2013
    63
    Monday Mornings spends a fair bit of time probing controversial and ethically complex issues like organ donation, informed consent, health insurance and advance directives. But that, coupled with a cast of characters who don't become all that compelling after three episodes, isn't enough to elevate the series above the rest of the pack.
  8. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 31, 2013
    91
    It's the strongest medical series since House arrived on Fox for an eight-season run that ended last spring. The genre badly needs a transfusion. And at last, here's a strong one.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    I didn't think I would, but I love this show. Another intelligent, quirky and informative show from David E. Kelley with Dr. Sanjay Gupta. I'mI didn't think I would, but I love this show. Another intelligent, quirky and informative show from David E. Kelley with Dr. Sanjay Gupta. I'm very glad I watched a few episodes before making a judgement, it's turned into a favorite. Give it a chance, you'll like it. Full Review »
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    The reviews are mixed but I enjoyed the first episode. Someone compared it to House but I think that is way off, more like the old ER. AllThe reviews are mixed but I enjoyed the first episode. Someone compared it to House but I think that is way off, more like the old ER. All veteran actors so I imagine if the writing is good it will be a good series. Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Beyond the character's needing some serious building in personality, a few in particular, after watching the first seven episodes I hope itBeyond the character's needing some serious building in personality, a few in particular, after watching the first seven episodes I hope it continues. I liked it. Full Review »