• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 28, 2007
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 537 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: CBS rehashes the formula with a vamp PI named Mick (not Nick or Angel eh?), but will it have bite or just bite?
  • Genre(s): Action & Adventure, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 11 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    67
    Sure, Mick's life is ridiculoous, but you don't go lookin' for realism between "Ghost Whisperer" and "Numb3rs." [05 Oct 2007, p.67]
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Abernethy
    50
    With a winning lead player and supporting cast, plus an interesting premise, Moonlight has potential.
  3. 50
    It doesn't go quite far enough into uncharted territory but gets off to a basically promising start nonetheless.
  4. While it is formulaic and slow-paced, Moonlight is stylish entertainment with a charming star aimed at a specific audience--the folks who stay home Friday night and watch CBS.
  5. 30
    The direction is flat-out awful (there are many choppy shots from bizarre, if not inexplicable, angles). Much of the dialogue is groan-inducing, the acting by some of the guest actors is jaw-droppingly wooden, and I guessed who the villain was way before the halfway mark.
  6. 30
    Much of Moonlight is amateurish, but nothing is more amateurish than the artificial chemistry between O'Loughlin and Myles.
  7. This vampire detective show (sorry, can't resist this) is one that first bites, then sucks. Hard.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 395
  1. TinaE.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Finally - something to watch tv for on Fridays!! Great Show!!
  2. AliceKeener
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Love this show! I was completely hooked within the first five minutes.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    There are some good lines and some cheesy ones, but the main thing that will make or break it for you is how you feel about Alex O'Loughlin.There are some good lines and some cheesy ones, but the main thing that will make or break it for you is how you feel about Alex O'Loughlin. Personally, I don't understand the bad reviews for his acting--what others call stiff, I'd call subtle, but whatever (I think Americans' taste is closer to Bollywood than the BBC). And he's gorgeous. Expand
  4. ShawnaG.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    This show is my favorite show in years. The writing is wonderful; lots of subtle wit. The actors are savory and I just get giddy after some This show is my favorite show in years. The writing is wonderful; lots of subtle wit. The actors are savory and I just get giddy after some scenes because they have been so well done. I used to never watch TV on Fridays, and now it is the night I most look forward to! Expand
  5. EmmaB.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Totally Awesome show. Dialog is a little weak, but everything else makes up 4 it! Plus they have Alex!
  6. MaryanneB.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    This is the best show on TV. The storyline is great and the actors really connect. It's the only show I find worth watching
  7. D.S.
    Sep 29, 2007
    0
    Worst thing I have EVER seen on television. I was looking forward to a decent vampire story, but this is awful. Awful.

See all 395 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.