• Network: PBS , ITV
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 6, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 44
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 29, 2013
    91
    It’s terrific fun as well as involving drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Mar 28, 2013
    80
    This new PBS Masterpiece series written by Andrew Davies is plenty addicting without the lords and ladies, opening a treasure box of tales about love, loss, ambition and the spirit of a new age.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    The sets and costuming are top-notch. The musical score is brash, if redundant. The personal dramas range from silly to 
diverting.
  4. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Mar 28, 2013
    75
    Sumptuously shot and full of period detail, Mr. Selfridge is stocked with plenty of upstairs/downstairs drama, often with a little too much attention being lavished on the workers’ personal storylines.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 1, 2013
    70
    Mr. Selfridge really gets rolling in its third and fourth episodes, when its interlocking stories and Piven’s outsize performance settle into place.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrea Reiher
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    While we don't have the same rush of affection as we did when we first discovered "Downton," we found Mr. Selfridge entertaining.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 22, 2013
    70
    The idea Selfridge was a serial philanderer adds an interesting layer to the character who, despite being the boss, actually blends into the large cast, in a series that’s full of romantic triangles, hunger and striving, and where good-looking waiters are urged to cater to the needs of wealthy socialites.
  8. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Mar 25, 2013
    67
    The 1909 businessman hangs like an ill-fitting suit on Piven, who suffocates his scenes by speaking several decibels louder than his costars and waving his arms around like a magician. A little subtlety might have left some oxygen for the promising supporting cast.
  9. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Mr. Selfridge unfurls a number of subplots, tied to business, politics, class gaps, romance and so on. Some are more engaging than others.
  10. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 1, 2013
    60
    As drama, it's uneven, often cliched, even silly, but, like the store in which it's set--and whose ground floor, mezzanine and facade have been splendidly re-created--so variously stocked that you will likely find something here to take home.
  11. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 29, 2013
    60
    [Piven] brings a contemporary delivery that is jarring in the context of all the period elements around him. Alas, in this particular entourage, which is filled with promise, Piven is the weak link.
  12. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Mar 29, 2013
    60
    As the series goes on and takes a deeper interest in the multitude of characters he's gathered around him, Mr. Selfridge begins to come into focus. Whether you'll find it as engaging as "Downton Abbey" may depend less on any single performance than on how invested you can become in the rise of the modern perfume counter and off-the-rack dresses.
  13. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 1, 2013
    50
    It plays like a desperate attempt to recreate all the wonder of “Downton Abbey”--but with no characters to care about.
  14. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 1, 2013
    50
    In execution, Mr. Selfridge is a bit of a slog.
  15. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 27, 2013
    50
    It's modestly entertaining, but because Davies and his writers and directors have employed a kind of wink-wink artificiality to the performances and style of Mr. Selfridge, you never quite believe much of it and you may find yourself caring only in passing.
  16. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 27, 2013
    50
    There’s not much that’s particularly fresh in Mr. Selfridge beyond the premise, and whether that deserves eight parts is up to you.
  17. 40
    It suffers from hyperbole-exhaustion. Piven's performance is too broad. One wishes Ira would show up and give Harry a slap.
  18. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 29, 2013
    40
    A so-so, meandering soap opera that reduces its central character to a set of clichés about missing fathers and American energy and egalitarianism.
  19. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 29, 2013
    40
    The lavish Selfridges is a fine setting for class-conscious if derivative period drama--with shopgirl gossip and staff romances--and what we learn about the history of commerce is often entertaining, but the philandering showman whose name is on the door makes you feel you're being sold an inferior bill of goods.
  20. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 28, 2013
    25
    The production is gorgeous and the tedium unrelenting. [8 Apr 2013, p.42]
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    6
    Rarely have I seen a series where the cast is excellent EXCEPT for the lead. Mr. Piven is overacting in egregious fashion. But the plots are intriguing, the players consummate and photography and art direction sublime. I just look forward to the Selfridge-less scenes. Full Review »
  2. May 25, 2014
    8
    The second season is much better than the first. Jeremy Piven has somewhat toned down his infuriating mugging (especially in reaction shots) and the rest of the cast is marvelous. The old dramatic standby of World War I is hauled out once again (Upstairs, Downstairs; Downton Abbey; The Duchess of Duke Street, etc.) to full effect. As always, the settings are sumptuous and the plotting is lively. Everything just seems so much self-assured than it did in year one. And I remain hopelessly infatuated with dear Agnes. Full Review »
  3. Apr 26, 2014
    9
    I love Mr. Selfridge! Jeremy Piven is awesome. He is naturally an actor that is easy to love. What I like is that he plays a passionate, kind, intelligent, and caring business man. He is so convincing. Yes, we all love/hate and miss Ari Gold (Entourage) terribly in my house.. but lets move on and appreciate what is new and the wonderful talent he once again brings to us. He is SO underrated.

    Love Frances O'Conner! And though I don't know many of the other actors or their work they are all making their way into my heart. It's a GREAT show. It's very refreshing.
    Full Review »