Mr. Selfridge : Season 1

  • Network: PBS , ITV
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 6, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 29, 2013
    91
    It’s terrific fun as well as involving drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Mar 28, 2013
    80
    This new PBS Masterpiece series written by Andrew Davies is plenty addicting without the lords and ladies, opening a treasure box of tales about love, loss, ambition and the spirit of a new age.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    The sets and costuming are top-notch. The musical score is brash, if redundant. The personal dramas range from silly to 
diverting.
  4. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Mar 28, 2013
    75
    Sumptuously shot and full of period detail, Mr. Selfridge is stocked with plenty of upstairs/downstairs drama, often with a little too much attention being lavished on the workers’ personal storylines.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 1, 2013
    70
    Mr. Selfridge really gets rolling in its third and fourth episodes, when its interlocking stories and Piven’s outsize performance settle into place.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrea Reiher
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    While we don't have the same rush of affection as we did when we first discovered "Downton," we found Mr. Selfridge entertaining.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 22, 2013
    70
    The idea Selfridge was a serial philanderer adds an interesting layer to the character who, despite being the boss, actually blends into the large cast, in a series that’s full of romantic triangles, hunger and striving, and where good-looking waiters are urged to cater to the needs of wealthy socialites.
  8. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Mar 25, 2013
    67
    The 1909 businessman hangs like an ill-fitting suit on Piven, who suffocates his scenes by speaking several decibels louder than his costars and waving his arms around like a magician. A little subtlety might have left some oxygen for the promising supporting cast.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Dec 13, 2014
    7
    I actually like this one, well played, maybe even usurped by Piven. It's coresponding a little with Downton Abbey and you might consider itI actually like this one, well played, maybe even usurped by Piven. It's coresponding a little with Downton Abbey and you might consider it like some kind of supplement to this show, focusing more on London and actuall change of sociaty (not only upper class like in DA). Full Review »
  2. May 25, 2014
    8
    The second season is much better than the first. Jeremy Piven has somewhat toned down his infuriating mugging (especially in reaction shots)The second season is much better than the first. Jeremy Piven has somewhat toned down his infuriating mugging (especially in reaction shots) and the rest of the cast is marvelous. The old dramatic standby of World War I is hauled out once again (Upstairs, Downstairs; Downton Abbey; The Duchess of Duke Street, etc.) to full effect. As always, the settings are sumptuous and the plotting is lively. Everything just seems so much self-assured than it did in year one. And I remain hopelessly infatuated with dear Agnes. Full Review »
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    6
    Rarely have I seen a series where the cast is excellent EXCEPT for the lead. Mr. Piven is overacting in egregious fashion. But the plots areRarely have I seen a series where the cast is excellent EXCEPT for the lead. Mr. Piven is overacting in egregious fashion. But the plots are intriguing, the players consummate and photography and art direction sublime. I just look forward to the Selfridge-less scenes. Full Review »