• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 9, 2011
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2011
    4
    No, it's not "Friends 2011," but Matthew Perry is definitely playing Chandler Bing again. Granted, it's Chandler Bing in an existential crisis or a permanent snit (I can't tell from the pilot), but Perry trots out the same narrow repertoire of exaggerated facial expressions that passed for acting on his earlier comedy, perhaps hoping to recapture ratings gold. And maybe he will; heavenNo, it's not "Friends 2011," but Matthew Perry is definitely playing Chandler Bing again. Granted, it's Chandler Bing in an existential crisis or a permanent snit (I can't tell from the pilot), but Perry trots out the same narrow repertoire of exaggerated facial expressions that passed for acting on his earlier comedy, perhaps hoping to recapture ratings gold. And maybe he will; heaven knows there are worse shows on TV. This one should be better, though, with cast members such as Allison Janney involved. Janney is wasted (in multiple senses of the word) here, playing an exaggerated, incoherent character who, one moment, is so high she answers a non-ringing phone and, the next, offers Perry's character a cogent analysis of his social isolation and its psychic roots. And, because she's supposed to be the loony of the show, she doesn't just match, but surpasses, Perry's facial gymnastics, making this normally compelling actress unwatchable. Others in the superb cast also seemed to be stuck in single-gag mode, with only James Lesure allowed a degree of naturalism. Much of this schtick is the fault of the writers, of course, who seem to believe viewers hunger for axe-wielding clowns, racist songs, and witless-yet-constant references to sex and drugs. The entire cast and crew ought to go on a weekend retreat and watch all 45 episodes of "Sports Night" then try their best to imitate it. Perhaps the resulting hybrid will be dumb enough for ABC not to cancel after only two seasons but sharp enough to engage viewers whose synapses still fire occasionally. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    5
    Started off promising but it became dull and the same thing every episode. I am a fan of Matthew Perry, i liked Studio 60 & Friends. I believe he is a smarter man and could have changed the pace of the comedy in this.
  3. Feb 28, 2011
    6
    The jury is still out on the long-term future of Mr. Sunshine, but so far the episodes have been funnier with every installment. 3 episodes in, I'm still not attached to all the characters, but the ensemble is delightful and writing smart and funny. I'm bothered that Matthew Perry is more Chandler Bing than his impressive break from Friends as Matt Albie on Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip,The jury is still out on the long-term future of Mr. Sunshine, but so far the episodes have been funnier with every installment. 3 episodes in, I'm still not attached to all the characters, but the ensemble is delightful and writing smart and funny. I'm bothered that Matthew Perry is more Chandler Bing than his impressive break from Friends as Matt Albie on Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, but I enjoy Perry in just about anything. I'm happy to see him back on TV. Andrea Anders is becoming less appealing on screen, even though I loved her in The Class and Joey. However, Allison Janney is at her best, which is perfect for the show, as are Nate Torrence as her dim-witted son and his unbelievable girlfriend, played by Portia Doubleday. Portia steals the show as Heather, the secretarial pyromaniac! Considering the mindless, generic drivel on network TV, Mr. Sunshine is a ray of...well, you know. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2011
    4
    Mr. Sunshine isn't the best thing ABC has delivered recently. It has its lucky moments when one can laugh and click, but it is underdeveloped under the name of Matthew Perry. The show itself revolves under the character of Ben outshining others. As a result, the main character doesn't have a comedy team to support the whole act. This makes theme storyline and funnylines fall flat fromMr. Sunshine isn't the best thing ABC has delivered recently. It has its lucky moments when one can laugh and click, but it is underdeveloped under the name of Matthew Perry. The show itself revolves under the character of Ben outshining others. As a result, the main character doesn't have a comedy team to support the whole act. This makes theme storyline and funnylines fall flat from time to time. Mr. Sunshine can improve, but we Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    The worst part about Mr Sunshine is that the show revolves around Matthew Perry. The rest of the cast seems to work well but Perry seems like an out of place character in the wrong show. But because he's the leading man, the spotlight will rarely stray from his dull performance. If this show is to succeed then Perry needs to mingle better with the rest of the cast or this show is cancelled.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 18, 2011
    63
    For now, Sunshine is a bit busy and unfocused. [28 Feb 2011, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 9, 2011
    25
    I suppose Sunshine can get by for a time on Perry's familiarity to audiences and because it has the great "Modern Family" as a lead-in. But in the long run, those factors aren't enough to counterbalance how much of a downer the show is.
  3. Unfortunately, things just never really gel in a pilot episode that falls flat and is only intermittently funny....In fact, only Janney, whose gleefully oblivious character spews un-PC zingers and keeps a huge self-portrait in her office, makes a truly fresh impression.