• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 180

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    Funny. NBC is starting to seem like a better network than ABC, CBS or even Fox. Along with the brilliant take on poverty and makeshift **** they create better characters than that goddamned Two and a Half Men. They're even more memorable than the kid in that show
  2. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    This is a funny show, and the show is based around an interesting topic, a young man with his brother tries to correct the bad things he did. It is also well-made and smart.
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    7
    Very original idea and great plots and jokes makes this a great show.
  4. Mar 12, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good show. Jason Lee is great and this is such a clever idea to make a show about a man who tries to right all his wrongs and the obstacles he must overcome is hilarious. Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2012
    1
    I feel like my IQ is dropping every time I have to watch this show with my fiance. The people are ridiculously stupid and Earl is just simply dumb and unrealistic.
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    I love shows that make me laugh and tear up a little in every episode. I am also a big fan of the positive comedy - humor that comes from characters and situations rather than references and sarcasm. With a great supporting cast and solid leads (not a fan of Catalina, as she is mostly just eye candy who brings little else to the table, and I find her "accent" pretty annoying), this was aI love shows that make me laugh and tear up a little in every episode. I am also a big fan of the positive comedy - humor that comes from characters and situations rather than references and sarcasm. With a great supporting cast and solid leads (not a fan of Catalina, as she is mostly just eye candy who brings little else to the table, and I find her "accent" pretty annoying), this was a TV treasure. Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    Greg Garcia's comedic sitcom about a petty criminal attempting to make amends is both hilarious and original that now, years after It's abrupt ending, has you down on your hands and knees begging for more, for closure, for some sense of Idea on what happens at the very end.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. 60
    My Name Is Earl is not a stupid sitcom - that is what makes its sexist and homophobic jokes so maddening.
  2. 90
    The NBC sitcom is so unpretentious and original, it will probably win you over on its own sweet merits.
  3. 88
    The casting is for awesome, flat-out too-good-for-TV acting.