• Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 29, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2011
    5
    I love Callie Thorne, but a therapist she ain't. Not one that can be taken seriously that is. She brings all her charming mannerisms to the role but the plots are for the prime time junkies. She can't even get her therapy methods straight. She says she is a behavioral counselor, then trots out all the tired cliched interventions known to tinsel town. She basically is a therapist forI love Callie Thorne, but a therapist she ain't. Not one that can be taken seriously that is. She brings all her charming mannerisms to the role but the plots are for the prime time junkies. She can't even get her therapy methods straight. She says she is a behavioral counselor, then trots out all the tired cliched interventions known to tinsel town. She basically is a therapist for adolescent males. Sports heroes that is. They all get performance breakdowns, but in the allotted fifty five minutes she has them cured. All except T.K. the football jock who has to be straightened out on a regular basis. Maybe by episode 10 he'll be past his teens! Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    I was looking forward to this show, because I loved Callie Thorne on "Rescue Me" but after watching the first episode, I'm very "meh" on the whole thing. The show itself isn't that interesting...wow, rich famous people have problems and she helps them...so what? It doesn't have the same comedy as "Royal Pains" which is essentially the same show, except the characters on that show areI was looking forward to this show, because I loved Callie Thorne on "Rescue Me" but after watching the first episode, I'm very "meh" on the whole thing. The show itself isn't that interesting...wow, rich famous people have problems and she helps them...so what? It doesn't have the same comedy as "Royal Pains" which is essentially the same show, except the characters on that show are more likable. I'm going to give it a couple more episodes, and if it doesn't get better, then I'm done. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    4
    I only watched the premiere. The characters were shallow. The acting seemed stiff. The dialogue sounded contrived. The acting was probably stiff because of the lousy writing. There is just so much you do do with a part. These folks have done much better on other shows. Unless the writing team is changed it is hard to imagine this getting better.
  4. Sep 4, 2011
    5
    While I really like Callie Thorne, I had a lot of trouble with this show. The premise seemed very contrived and the show just does not "work" for me.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    5
    Necessary Roughness is a pretty interesting show, but it doesn't seem to steer clear of usual TV and movie story lines. An example being getting divorced and starting a new life. I don't know if there are any people like this, but TK seems like a larger than life character, I don't really think anyone actually acts like that... I agree with the others, Callie Thorne isn't a very goodNecessary Roughness is a pretty interesting show, but it doesn't seem to steer clear of usual TV and movie story lines. An example being getting divorced and starting a new life. I don't know if there are any people like this, but TK seems like a larger than life character, I don't really think anyone actually acts like that... I agree with the others, Callie Thorne isn't a very good therapist, but I do like how each show has a different case come in. (I'm a huge fan of medical dramas, crime dramas, I've never seen a show where a psychologist solves cases.) Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    63
    Necessary Roughness hasn't scored a touchdown yet, but it's early in the game.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 5, 2011
    80
    Sins of fathers and mothers not only visit each of the characters, but infest them; the show shimmers with an inner core of volcanic anger that makes it far more interesting than your average family soap.
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jun 30, 2011
    70
    A fine summer show is launched, slick but with feeling, and all the orange-and-red football-season foliage on-screen contributes to a diverting brisk breeziness.