• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 309

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    After a slow start with the first episode, this show quickly became one of my favorites. I watched the first two seasons quite quickly on Netflix, and it's great to see the characters actually grow and change. It's quirky and fun, and quite funny.
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    2
    I mostly agree with LP68CA about this show. I love Zooey Deschanel, but this was just terrible. The show felt stilted and poorly edited/directed in general. Zooey's character is far too beautiful to be believable as a girl that has a hard time with men. And seriously, that Lord of the Rings crack? Are we back in the 80s where the world is divided into nerds and jocks? We do realize that most guys that love Deschanel do not typically fall into the "jock" category right? The guys are okay in hindsight, but the douchebag one was just plain corny. The only one whose name I remember is Coach, and he was just okay too. Also, why does Douchebag go with the other two to save Zooey at the end? Are two of them not enough? The show just reeks of lazy writing. Everything is cookie-cutter hoping that Zooey's adorability will save the show - but it won't. As great as she is, she's got a terribly unrelatable character to portray with one-dimensional characters to interact with. The 2 points my review grants are for 1) casting Zooey and 2) the douchebag jar - the one good joke. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    2
    I'm sorry I really wanted to like this show. But it is horrible! It's not funny and the guys are just stereotypes of the stupid guys on every other show. I have watched every episode and it is not getting any better. Itâ
  4. Sep 28, 2011
    2
    I've watched two episodes of this show and didn't even laugh once. Normally I enjoy Deschanel but her acting in this show is so.... dull. Her quirkiness is just annoying. I can't even say I enjoyed any of the supporting cast. A bomb if there ever was one.
  5. Sep 22, 2011
    7
    As a single het guy who lived with two single het women, platonically, as roommates for three years, I have to say the female character on this show probably has a better deal than I had. It's a great learning experience, and if the show can resist making two of the primary characters hook up, then there are a good many situational opportunities for comedy. I repeat, the secret to this show staying fresh is to not have her fall in love with any of her roommates. As soon as the writers break that rule, the show will get predictable. Also, don't dumb down the male characters, smart men are funny.
    A tentative 6/10 because I'm hoping the arc is on an upward trajectory.
    Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2011
    2
    Badly written show with little sense of narrative flow or character development--and, for a so-called comedy, it's surprisingly unfunny. Zooey Deschanel has charm but her two costars (whose names I don't want to bother to learn or remember) are untalented and unattractive shlubs (the actors and the characters they play)--who I think the writers want us to find quirky and charming, as opposed to annoying, shallow, and all-too-familiar. The show seems to be written by and for adolescent boys (ones who don't want to grow up)--like much else on the TV and film landscape. It seems like a terrible waste of Zooey's charm and talents to put her in this tired, forgettable show. I can't believe any professional critics or even amateur reviewers think it's one of the best new shows of the fall. What low expectations they must have! For quirky charm and some actual humor, watch "Raising Hope" or "The Middle." How about no more shows about cute girls living with dweeby boys--or about dweeby boys living with each other?? Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    6
    A few smiles. A few groans. Have the feeling the title character may bug the hell out of me before too long though. But my biggest problem with the pilot was the totally forced "happy" ending. The guys ditching the party to support "the new girl" who'd just been stood up and the lengths they went to cheer her up were completely unearned, story-wise. Up to that point, they mostly just seemed annoyed with her. To sum up, it's another average sitcom pilot that could go either way. Expand
  8. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    I only watched because I like Ms. Deschanel---rescue her from this inane unfunny mess! An unmitigated disaster on a par with the Titanic, the Hindenburg and BP oil spill.
  9. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    you've got to be kidding me. This show is hilarious and strongly character-driven by Zooey. I can't get enough of her quirkiness. After one episode I can tell something special is happening here....I can see Zooey ranked up there with strong female leads such as Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett, and their hasn't been any strong female leads since. Zooey is unstoppable and the 1st episode shows a huge range of comedy that i'm dying to see where she can take this. Expand
  10. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    All the talk about this show always is about Deschanels, but the truth is her character has more of a supporting role. The real main character is Nick, and Jess (Deschanels) is more like the goofy roomate. It's a pretty standard sitcom, minus the fake laughs (which is a good thing). The happy endings are sometimes forced, and it's not always hilarious, but you always have a smile. Not a great show, but it's ok. Collapse
  11. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    A lot of the reviews of this show seem to hinge on where you stand in relation to Zooey Deschanel's unique brand of hipster adorability. Fans of Zooey either love the show because she's so cute in it, or hate the show because her interminable cuteness can't save it from banality. Those who can't stand Zooey Deschanel hate the show because they can't stand Zooey Deschanel. Before watching "New Girl" I was completely ambivalent to Zooey Deschanel, and I still am - this show is successful because of the chemistry between its ensemble cast including Jake Johnson, Max Greenfield and Lamorne Morris as new girl Jess's room-mates. These three provide the comedy, and Jess's adorkability is satirised rather than celebrated. Jake Johnson is hilarious and immensely likeable as Nick, the guy you laugh AT, not WITH; Lamorne Morris's Winston is witty, flawed and endearing, and Schmidt (Max Greenfield) is wickedly funny, a compelling blend of madness and mania: think Tom Cruise when he's jumping on couches or talking about Scientology. Jess is exactly what you expect her to be; an eccentric, creative, doe-eyed, hair-twirling ingénue whom the boys instinctively protect and nurture. Jess sort of mothers them in return, and there are some genuinely heart-warming moments among the four, five if you include the beautiful Hannah Simone as Jess's best friend Cecilia. I actually can't stand Zooey's haircut, and I wish she wouldn't wear so many tiny skirts and high-waisted shorts. I find some of her interactions too eccentric to be credible - at times she seems to go out of her way to be quirky and unconventional - but I did find myself liking Jess, largely because of the way she seemed to electrically charge the group dynamic. Regardless of how you feel about Zooey Deschanel, the best thing about this show is that it's funny. I haven't laughed out loud so much since Arrested Development, and I don't often laugh out loud watching sitcoms. But this is no standard sitcom rehash. It's witty, modern, sharply edited and well paced. It's quality comedy. At the very least, you can't not laugh at Schmidt. Expand
  12. Jan 18, 2013
    5
    Have just split from her long term boyfriend Jess (Zooey Deschanel) answers an internet ad from three guys looking for a new roommate. The opening couple of episodes are passable, doing a good job of introducing the different characters as well as being fairly humorous in places. From then on much of your enjoyment of the show will largely depend on how you feel about Deschanel
  13. May 22, 2012
    7
    The show is good but not great. There are scenes that are great, there are scenes that are too cheesy, there are scenes that are very connective and there are scenes that are too lousy. Zooey Deschanel really did act great in the show, but sometimes she's too goofy. Not the best sitcom, but it's good.
  14. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Who doesn't love Zooey Deschanel? This show took a little time to find its footing, but once it did, it turned into a charming comedy with a few laughs here and there. Hopefully people will watch it.
  15. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Amazing Zoey , good story , funny and .......Amazing Zoey Amazing Zoey Amazing Zoey ! New girl will be one of the top show in this season . It could go long because it has really funny characters .
  16. Dec 15, 2011
    5
    When its not funny its charming but the humor has really waned since the second episode. While the show has promise, its so far lacking direction, and the quirks of the characters have already lost their impact. The show hasn't found its groove yet, and the episodes feel like the writers have writers block, which shouldn't be happening in the first season...
  17. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    I found it really funny!! Dechanel IS INCREDIBLY FUNNY!! This goofie and innocent kind of comedy is the one that is ruling this days... No need to be dirty o unbelievably potty-mouthed!! And this has really good potential..!! I think this will go far...! I'm sure of it!
  18. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    New Girl is one of the brightest spots on TV. Zooey Deschanel is utterly charming and completely irresistible! I've truly loved the episodes so far because of the writing, directing, editing, and wonderful supporting cast. Keep up the good work!
  19. Sep 20, 2011
    1
    I'm a big Deschanel fan, so I really wanted to like this show, but it's a train-wreck. I know Zooey loves the part, but she's so dweeby in New Girl, she makes the cast of Big Bang Theory look hip. And I don't mean she's her normal adorably quirky, goofy self---no, her character Jess is such a painfully awkward nerd that it's hard to watch. Worse, the supporting cast doesn't prop her up, because not one of them can act. That actually turns out to be a good thing because it directs attention away from their superficial, one-dimensional characters. For example, there's the sensitive metrosexual d-bag, the personal trainer with 24/7 Tourette's, and finally a recently jilted nice guy with no other interesting qualities... who will certainly propose marriage to Deschanel in the early series finale in season 2 (I'm feeling generous). But all of this might be forgivable if the series was the least bit funny. It isn't. Unless you think teabag and cold nipple jokes are funny when you can see them coming whole minutes in advance. And while you should never expect sitcom characters to model real world behavior, the idea of three macho guys leaving a **** party to cheer up their stood-up roommate by singing song lyrics from Dirty Dancing screams past plausibility into the realm of pure cheese. The writing was so bad, I found myself wishing they had bothered to include a laugh track, just to dupe myself into some sort of amusement. To top it all off, it felt like every scene was pieced together from 30 separate takes, or that chunks were cut from an hour long show to fit a 30 minute time slot. Whether this was the fault of the photography direction or bad editing, there's no telling, but I wouldn't be surprised if the jerky, almost surreal shots were intentional. 1/10 for casting Zooey, but she can't save this show by herself. Expand
  20. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I have been looking forward to this show for quite some time. And I have to say - it did not disappoint. I enjoyed Zooey immensely, and her interaction with the guys in the cast. I also really enjoyed Hannah Simone's character, and they really underused her in the pilot episode. It has potential, and I'm intrigued to see where they will take it from here.
  21. Sep 23, 2011
    2
    Well, this is just another sad sitcom, and NO Zooey Deschanel is not good enough to make a bad sitcom look descent (she's not Christina Applegate or Julia Louis-Dreyfus). You'd think people would get tired of these "This is how men work, and this is how women work" sitcoms, but apparently they're not.
  22. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    ya i agree with both the low raters.I am a Zooey maniac,but only Zooey cant really pull off such bad writing.But the most important point is zooeys increased quirkiness and cuteness,she is great in the show!coach is pretty decent,but the other two arent much close to funny.Also,it just follows in line with other sitcoms too much.The story is weak and i dont get why men will hate Zooey(maybe 500 days of summer got me too prejudiced).But lets however give the show some time its just the first episode people. Expand
  23. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    I'm not a hardcore Zooey fan but I love this show so far. Yes, she is super dorky in this show but after a bit into the pilot it actually started to work. I was actually laughing out loud. The other characters add a nice balance and I'm looking forward to seeing more. I think those who weren't too keen on the pilot should give this show a couple more episodes before they quit it.
  24. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Probably the best new comedy pilot of the season, I like the concept, the leads do a good job and the jokes actually had me laughing! I am definitely rooting for this sitcom!
  25. Sep 28, 2011
    7
    it's an ok show. sadly they replaced the black guy from the pilot, who pretty much owned the scene. but its one of the few 30min shows without stupid background laughter like in every other sitcom. also they picked really beautiful girls, not just zooey
  26. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    Not as good as Raising Hope (which it airs immediately before) or Parks and Recreation (the best show on TV) but it is miles than Glee (which it airs immediately after) and is probably the best new show of the season. Zooey Deschanel is adorable.
  27. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I haven't been this satisfied and entertained by a sitcom in a long time. Its so original and hilarious and well-written, I have watched the pilot episode 4 times and I am still noticing new jokes and am not sick of it. I didn't really like how they wrote Coach's character out on the second episode, but I realize the actor is probably busy filming Happy Endings, I just hope they develop the actor who replaced him better (though I am SO glad they replaced him with a new character, not just used the same character and cast a new actor, but they totally could have with how alike they are). I've seen Zooey in a few things, and I am so glad she is finally starring in her own show, she is so charming and funny, she can really carry the show well. It's about a girl who is going through a breakup and a big change in her life, she's the new girl, so of course its not going to be just basically a show like Curb Your Enthusiasm, where you are basically taking the actor and their real life selves and pasting them into situations. Jess is a character, a funny and original one at that. And I loved some of the supporting characters as well, especially the d-bag Schmidt. Its a person everyone knows, but they are dealing with the character in a fresh and entertaining way. I am so excited to see new episodes, I really look forward to it each week. Expand
  28. Oct 4, 2011
    6
    People watch this show because they love Zooey. Yet I haven't figured out something or someone shining other than Zooey. It's always the same passionate girl, with just different backgrounds.
  29. Oct 7, 2011
    5
    I was enjoying the pilot until the end when one of the characters behaved so inhumanly that it almost soured the taste of the whole episode for me. Zooey is great here and the main attraction of the show. Unfortunately, she doesn't have a supporting cast to back her. The guys are pretty bland. I can't help but feel that Officer Leo can't believe that he got this role and comes off as awkward onscreen. He showed a lot of charisma on Veronica Mars, maybe once he starts to feel more comfortable his comic timing will set in. The long-running gags also fail (douchebag jar and the singing...especially the singing) but the show shines brightly when Zooey seemingly adlibs away. Subsequent episodes reaffirmed what I feared. Zooey is cute, but she can't quite carry a show by herself. It was just more of the same from the pilot, and the singing already got annoying in that first episode. This is passable entertainment but nothing special. Expand
  30. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    New Girl is a fresh comedy that focuses on the tragedy that is Jess. Jess a young teacher has a bad break up with her boyfriend and the show focuses on her trials and tribulations living with three new male room mates who all provide some great comedic relief. Something the show has done very well is provide a diverse cast who compliment each other well and makes for some great laughs and a few of those awwwwwww moments. Though at times it can lack some substance and plot it is a great show that hopefully will run for a few seasons. Its a strong 8/10 and worth a watch this season. Expand
  31. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    When I heard Zooey Deschanel was doing TV, I was a little bit surprised. She's a pretty successful film actor, although not a true A lister, but I figured I would check out her sitcom as friends told me it reminded them of early How I Met Your Mother. I really liked the first couple seasons of HIMYM (and still watch it just because it gives me something to do on a monday night) but I have to say I think New Girl might even be better. First off, if you're a Zooey fan, this show is a must. She's hilarious, cute, adorable, quirky and geeky and I love it... Jess is awesome. But its not just Jess that makes the show awesome, its the three guys she lives with that really elevate this show. Nick is hilarious, while very damaged in early episodes, now he's like that typical shutoff manly man who doesn't like to show emotions, yet clearly has an emotional side; Nick is highly likeable and quiet funny. Winston gets a little bit less airtime than the rest but is equally funny and plays off Nick and Schmidt really well. Schmidt is hilarious, definitely one of the main reasons to watch this show; he's such a d-bag so often that you just can't help but laugh at his ridiculousness; he's like Barney Stinson, but much more metrosexual and effeminate. Schmidt is definitely the source of a lot of this shows humor. Better than all of them alone though is the interplay between all of them, as well as with Jess's best friend Cece, the five of them play off one another so perfectly they are a perfect ensemble cast and their interplay is definitely the reason why this show is great. Its the way they interact with one another that makes this show so funny. Expand
  32. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I forced myself to watch this show once because the girl was so cute in the promos, but after sitting through a full episode I realized the promos were the only thing going for it. The laughs were forced, the characters were cliche and dull. Future episodes will follow a predictable pattern: someone falls in love with someone else, it's awkward, but everyone eventually accepts it. The End.
  33. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    VERY disappointing. The characters have absolutely no depth, there is almost zero plot, and the comedy are unoriginal. Attempts of joke after joke falls flat while there is little, if any, character development between episodes.
  34. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This show is extremely hilarious, the actors are great, especially Schmidt, who is perfect in his freak-guy part. The plot is getting thicker after each episode, and we are discovering new characters who are added to the series. All in all, I can't wait to see what's coming up !
  35. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    This show is getting better every week since its debut. And when it is good, it is amazing, hilarious, well-acted and well written. The actor that plays Schmidt, Max Greenfield, is proving to be a break-out star. His scenes alone are worth watching the show for. The problem with the show is the cheesy tie-up scene that they always have at the end! Are these cheesy, "adorkable" scenes really necessary? The writers must think so, because week in and week out I am cringing at the ending of this show! Please, New Girl writers, get rid of these cheesy tie up scenes! Then the show would be perfect. Expand
  36. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Look forward to this show every week. Jess (Zooey Deschanel) is hilarious in her Quarky but cute way that makes her loveable and relateable to everyone. She is surrounded by an awesopme cast. Nick (Jake M. Johnson) is the more negative than the other characters but finds himself liking Jess and possibly more than the others.... The show is hinting the attraction between the two but nothing yet.. Schmidt (Max Greenfield) is an overly **** and a hopeless romantic. He talks a big game but masses things up and thats when you see his true self, which you will love. His romantic intrest is Jess's best friend Cece (Hannah Simone). She is a model and is there for Jess and to pretect her. She cares for Jess but is still a little self involved and is hinting to schmidt that she likes him but just enough to keep his ego high but she keeps him in check. The show is hilarious and is a success in every way!!! New Girl makes the Geek in all of us Proud!! Expand
  37. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    I don't know if 7 is too low but I know I could never rate it lower. I would've given it a 7.5 but you can't really do that. This show is good, not great, despite my rating. I cannot imagine not watching the show, but at the same time it is not the most original show I've ever watched. Schmidt and Jess are the funniest characters in the show and motivate me to tune in every week. This show is not original, but its light-hearted, will make the viewer chuckle, and its cute and quirky. No real complaints other than hope for it to develop a lot more in terms of story, characters, originality and maybe even humour. It has potential to be a great show, and I look forward to more episodes. Expand
  38. Feb 3, 2012
    6
    Now this is the kind of comedy that was destined to win my heart from the very first watch and it did. The only reason i was excited about watching this show was Zooey Deschannel and didn't quite cared for anything else but i found out how sweet and well written show it turned out. Very funny with sweet, cute moments and Zooey performs amazing, Jess is such a great character. A lovely quirky, goofy and innocent comedy is one the best new TV comedy of 2011 and i am lovin' it. Expand
  39. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    I love Fox Tuesday lineup with New Girl followed by Raising Hope. Back to back laugh out loud funny. Way to go Fox, I almost gave up on you after you cancelled Sarah Connors Chronicles.
  40. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    New girl is a show i look forward to watch every week. The characters, specially "Schmitt" are funny and interesting. I am also happy its not a typically (and boring) romance sitcom. This show makes me laugh a lot. I love Zooey and when her happy world collides with the real world view of the others. Its hilarious.
  41. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    The cast are genuinely charming and the scripts are genuinely funny. Although the constant attempts to make the male trio seem jovial and laddish start to grate fairly quickly, this is enjoyable and fresh.
  42. jrb
    Feb 28, 2012
    9
    Excellent writing, quirky, extremely likable characters all add up to a hit led by the talented Zooey. Would any of them survive without the others? I think not. I can see this show being watched in syndication 10-15 years from now and still getting a following. The casts' nerdiness, fragility, and vulnerability and their refusal to admit to it is what makes their story so successful. I look forward to each episode and identify a bit with each. JRB Expand
  43. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favourite new TV series. If you like 30 Rock then you'll love New Girl. The show is witty and fast paced, filled with many short punchy silly jokes.
  44. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    It starts very badly but it does get better. In the 1st few episodes Jess is just stupid, the guys she lives with are boring and just nothing funny happens, but once it gets going it all the characters get better and it gets a lot funnier. EDIT: Actually, after a few good episodes, then it goes back to sucking again.
    Overall, don't bother, 30 Rock and Happy endings are better.
  45. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    This show is great! The quirky humor throws so many creative curve balls that it just has us bent over laughing. And Zooey Deschanel is just so darned cute!
  46. Apr 21, 2012
    7
    The pilot episode was really funny and it made me want to watch it more. But I got bored watching most of the episodes. Nonetheless, some of the episodes gave me learning and made me realized something.
  47. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    i cant wait until the 2nd season because it is so funny i love how she just breaks out into song at any given moment and when i saw her on bones i thought she was so funny and now both very talented sisters have there own show on the same channel makes it even better
  48. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    Deschanel's new show is a hit! The interaction among the cast is what makes this comedy so attractive since it premiered. Love the show, love the cheesy moments, love the guys and, of course, love Zoey's Jess Day, an awkward teacher and her irreverent personality which, I think, creates the show's adorable and hilarious atmosphere.
  49. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    Funny, charming, and cute. All Zooey Deschanel characteristics, and this show is carried by her for the most part. It has its misfires, and it's not really rooted in reality, but the characters grow on you. An enjoyable sitcom. 6.9/10
  50. Nov 12, 2012
    1
    This show is simply terrible. After hearing so many good things about this show, I tried it out. I couldn't stand it, but I didn't want to judge it on one episode. I got through half of the season, and it was just unbearable to watch; I couldn't take it anymore. Zooey Deshanel plays the worn out "cute dorky girl" persona -- the same thing she plays in just about every role she's ever been in. The rest of the cast are even worse characters than she is. This show is not funny, it's not witty, and the writing sucks. I would rather watch Jersey Shore. Expand
  51. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    Jess becomes annoying as all hell at times with her hipster ways, but this is overall a solid new show. I liked the writing and various characters in the loft. Excited for season 2.
  52. Jan 25, 2013
    5
    Hideous. And enormously awkward. The star Zoey Deschanel plays a character as goofy and undeniably annoying that sitting through an episode is paramount to torture.
  53. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    This is a comedy that's actually funny, something that's kinda hard to accomplish. I'm sure if you watch this show, you'll agree with me. I disagree with the negative reviews!
  54. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    I love this show. I truly can't wait to watch it every week! At times it can be extremely awkward and I feel almost embarrassed to watch it but they do make up for it later! Deschanel is perfect for the part she adds that little extra boost the show needs, but I really wish she would change her hair!!
  55. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. me la veo una y otra vez y no paro de reir me gusta muchisimo son muy divertidos todos los personajes, ademas estan muy actualizados. son muy cheveres Expand
  56. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    This show has caught me off guard--completely. The pilot episode was not a WOW factor but when Damon Wayans left and his replacement stepped in things felt more natural and in sync. The whole gang is just hilarious. The acting, the writing and the comedic timing is pitch perfect. Its warm, funny, and Jess is so deliciously adorable---she can wear on you but she her quirkiness and unique individuality is refreshing and charming. I am not easy going when it comes to comedy but this show has stole my attention completely. This show IS the best, for me that is for so many reasons but mostly because it speaks to me. The language of Jess and her very entertaining yet endearing roommates is familiar to me. Kudos to the writers of this show!!!! Expand
  57. Oct 3, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The show has had some very funny episodes. Unfortunately, the writers decided to hook up Jess and Nick last season. Every episode after that has revolved around their relationship. That horse was beat to death by the 2nd episode of it. The season 3 premiere was so ridiculous that it gave me a headache. In Mexico, Nick decides to shred his passport....so he never has to go back to the U.S.? Beyond stupid and rationality. This one is off the DVR. It'll be showing up on Friday nights soon enough to finish out its punishment to viewers who may or may not have committed egregious sins. Expand
  58. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    I believe this show is brilliant! I adore Zooey Deschanel, she is absolutely talented and adorable, as well as the other actors... I think there couldn't possibly be a better choice of cast for these roles. Most people hear "New Girl" and they immediately assume that it's a chick flick show but that is not the case It expresses a feeling of friendliness and companionship with spontaneous jokes which can really make your day. There's only one problem... There are not nearly enough episodes. Expand
  59. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    PURE MAGIC Zooey Deschannel is perfect for this show. The humour is simple but yet so funny and memorable one of those shows that needs more recognition...I just love the way it is written and it follows a good story TOP KNOTCH
  60. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. New Girl is a very very funny show. I find my self laughing out loud literally. The break-out star of the show is the character Schmidt played by Max Greenfield he keeps me laughing during the entire show. Also, like the chemistry between characters Nick and Jess. The character Winston is great also I want to see the writers give him more screen time. But over all a good solid show that should stay around very long Expand
  61. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    What hooked me about this show is its awkwardness, quirkiness and amazingly funny characters. Zooey Deschanel is an amazing actress. Jess, Schmidt, Nick, and Winston are an overall great group of characters. New Girl season 1 is great and season 2 is even better. I just wish they would have left Wayans Jr. as Coach on the show.
  62. Oct 10, 2013
    8
    New Girl, in its first season, is a somewhat fun sitcom. It definitely improves after the first couple of episodes. At the beginning it is slow but the characters develop and you can relate to them!
  63. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    the show is funny but sometimes i dont understand their joke. but i love the characters. and the show is getting better every week. i love how they built jess and nick's relationship, and love the friendship as well.
  64. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Best show currently on air. The way they talk to/argue with eachother is so chaotic and funny. Schmidt is the ultimate loveable douchebag and Winston is just creepy funny.
    Just watch this show and you'll love it!
  65. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    This show is hilarious. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes comedies. Not only is it funny, it's heartwarming, and the characters are likable, and seem real. In a few days, I've already watched over 30 episodes. Watch this show!

    Overall score: 95/100
  66. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    This show is hilarious! The superb acting and writing make up for any of this show's faults. I have seen seasons 1-2 and it seems to be getting better and better. I find myself enjoying New Girl more than other highly rated sit-coms like the Big Bang Theory and even Friends. I highly recommend this show to anyone looking for a funny sit-com that reaches and goes beyond the standards of its competition. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Oct 31, 2011
    63
    Despite growing out of a plot conceit that involves Craigslist, New Girl--from its characters to the Felix the Cat-like predicaments in which they land--doesn't seem rooted in reality of any kind.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 28, 2011
    88
    This fall sitcom is a hit entirely because of Deschanel's performance as Jess. [7 Nov 2011, p.41]
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 20, 2011
    70
    It's funny and cute.