• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 28, 2010
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 65
  2. Negative: 9 out of 65

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2010
    5
    This family of (fantastic) four can be somewhat bland and whiny, they can annoy you with sanitized cursing ("goshes" and "hecks" abound) and teen/marital problems you have seen a thousand times (and done much better), but it can also be kind of fun in the superpower-exerting parts. At least it does not seem it will be utterly pointless and pay-off-free like "Heroes". This is a superhero show for the whole family and, as it is often the case, no member of the family will be terribly excited about it. But no-one will hate it either. So... Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2011
    5
    Too much "family", and not enough "no ordinary". The production is ok, but the emphasis on the average suburb american family is naive and flat. Even the mediocre "Heroes" was more interesting...
  3. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    What I have become tired of in today's shows are these "surprise/secret" shows that string out a plot over 20 episodes. I like a show that has a premise and explains a fair amount so that I can get connected right away. "No Ordinary Family" has proved that surprises should be let out of the bag. Michael Chiklis is great and his supporting cast is believable and cute. This show should grow into extraordinary as it seems the family is ready to move on from crying about their dysfunctional relationships to fighting crime together as a functional team. Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    well from what i have watched so far i have found this an interesting series definitely not the best series on TV but i like it. the character development has gone well so and the plots are satisfactory and i will be watching the rest of the season
  5. Sep 30, 2010
    3
    I was really excited for this show, partly because I love The Incredibles and partly because I'm in love with Julie Benz, but I was pretty disappointed. This seems like a show that would be really fast paced and exciting, but it was quite slow and boring.
  6. Oct 27, 2010
    1
    Wow a complete bore -- how many times can we watch Chiklis land on a rooftop? I loved Julie Benz in Dexter, but here she seems inert and ineffectual. Pass!
  7. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a very enjoyable show. It would be hard to make this a drama, comedy, action thriller in one hour to please a large audience of children, teens, adults and seniors all at the same time. Every show would fail if it tried to do that. The balances what it can between all characters, but the pilot focused on the parents. Though what is getting annoying is the "Crash" phenomenon where one event and all its characters are related in some fashion. Mainly the wife's characters boss with his nefarious plot. Really, cant it be some foreign government or activist group or even a high school club with evil intentions. Hopefully the story will broaden out a bit. The effects are pretty good. The one fight scene continued beyond what was necessary, but was enjoyable. Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2010
    5
    I've always been a sucker for shows about people with superpowers, so I was more than ready to love this show. The premise is fun and they could have done some cool stuff with the show, but they haven't. In fact, I find it almost impossible to believe that any of the writers of this show have written for Chuck and Smallville, which, granted, aren't Emmy-worthy shows, but are still entertaining. The writing, pacing, and direction of this show is painfully clunky and dull as can be. Sometimes I feel like I'm watching a show that was meant for but rejected by even ABC-Family or the Disney channel, meaning, ridiculous plotlines, amateur dialogue, caricatured characters, and simplistic conflicts. This is the kind of show where you start feeling like your brain is starting to slow down and get more dull, by being exposed to something equally so. I am just so disappointed by this poorly imagined and executed show, that I just can't stand watching it anymore. And, seriously, my standards aren't that high. :-) Expand
  9. Feb 10, 2011
    5
    I expected more from this show, all the advertisements for it portrayed it as more of Superhero show than what it really is; a slowpaced cop out about a family who gains powers and do next to nothing with them. Admittedly though, some parts of this show are enjoyable.
  10. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    I have to say that the only problem I have with this show is the pacing, I could stand to see it pick it up a bit. Other than that the cast works well together, and they are believable as a family. The super powers are pretty cool, and I am looking forward to them to digging in a little more and fleshing out the characters abilities. There have already been a couple of instances where I wish the husband and wife had fought as a couple, and I think it was a passed opportunity. I really think this is a show worth watching. Expand
  11. Jan 14, 2011
    2
    I forced myself to sit through the pilot, and it was torture. The idea of a real-life Incredibles for grown-ups is a great one, in my opinion, but this was a terrible execution of it. My main gripe is that it seemed so dumbed-down that I could almost hear the writers saying to each other, "No, our audience is too stupid to understand that. Get rid of it." For example, they kept calling the mother (I've forgotten everyone's names by now) a "scientist", but they are never more specific. As if saying she's a chemist, or a physicist, or a medical researcher, or whatever would confuse us idiotic viewers, they even use the generic "scientist" term in the award she wins (or was it a promotion? I don't remember). And then there's the explanation for how they got their abilities: "The water was glowing. That must have given us our powers." Please. That's so patronizing, and given the woman's career as some kind of general scientist, she should never have been satisfied with that. Yet she's the one who decided it was an amazing explanation! The end hinted at a conspiracy plot, which interested me a little, but not nearly enough to continue watching this. If No Ordinary Family gets a second season after FlashForward was canceled, I swear I'm going to set off a bomb at ABC's Programming offices, then shoot any survivors. This show may as well have been titled "No Decent Writing" instead.

    -IMP ;) :)
    Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2010
    4
    I really wanted this show to work but it already feels like the wheels are falling off. It seemed as if the writers were playing the appropriate pacing game, keeping things slowed down, giving the characters plenty of face time to emote so viewers could empathize, but there just aren't enough details for a viewers to lose themselves in while we're waiting for things to heat up.
    This ones
    skewing towards the younger kids (10-15), and giving us grown up kids too much time to get distracted.
    It's snoozin' and quickly losin'.
    Expand
  13. Nov 6, 2010
    7
    A great story with mostly realistic characters and a likable story. No Ordinary Family is a great comedy, but its problem is when it tries to become serious or intense, it's best as a comedy. This show is almost like ABCs version of The Incredibles, overall its a great show that many will enjoy.
  14. Nov 19, 2010
    3
    I wanted to like this show . The premise sounded fun and exciting , promising laughter , drama , suspense and perhaps a touch of I Love Lucy on steroids . I admire Michael Chiklis from his previous work . I suppose if I had grammar school kids we could watch it together but I can barely sit still through an episode on my own . Sorry , Micheal and cast . You are just too ordinary for me . Expand
  15. Nov 29, 2010
    8
    OK, it doesn't show promise of being the greatest thing on television, but I have found each episode fully engaging, and have not turned off the TV before the end of any one of them. This is actually a relatively rare threshold for me, since I have too much to do, and have had for years. I always liked Chiklis, so I was interested to just see how his show went. I surprised myself by enjoying him but also Benz and Malco. Enough nattering, though: The acting really is very good, the plotting could use a bit of work but is generally well-paced. The direction needs even more work, the limited shooting until the most recent couple episodes was so claustrophobic one would wonder whether the setting was a big city or a town with a school, police station and 5 houses. The scripts are uneven, but generally solid. I'm not going to bother with spoilers, but the dialog can stretch credulity, particularly the parts assigned to the kids. I'll grant that a telepath and an emotionally immature super-genius are difficult to write for, but hey, that's why we watch it on tv, because we couldn't do better work ourselves. I'm going to rate relatively high based on the many high points, and to a small extent, the cleverness of the concept. It is very difficult to break new ground with superhero stories, but this one carries it off reasonably well. Expand
  16. Jan 4, 2011
    3
    I really tried to like this show, but I found myself rolling myself at many scenes. The acting is atrocious and the dialogue is so predictable. It just came across as very cheesy to me. Mind you, I am not well-versed in sci-fi movies or shows, so that could account for part of my opinion.
  17. Jan 10, 2011
    1
    I was intrigued by the whole premise of this show. A family with superpowers. Wow!! Not exactly original, but hey!! not alot is these days. The only thing bigger than Micheal 'Jim Powell' Chiklis's biceps in this show, was the dissapointment in what could have been, and hopefully, may still be, a potentially interesting idea. However, the writing is so bad, that no matter how top-heavy with well-known actors the cast is, it can't be saved. I'm afraid, bad writing, equals bad acting. Sorry. I have watched eleven episodes so far, and it still hasn't really estabilshed where it's at. I know that shows like this can take their own time to bed in. Sometimes we can find a gem we haven't watched from the start, and then have to go back and play catch-up, when everyone else is talking about it. But this is ridiculious. The main problem, and the most tiresome one for me, is the constant arguing about using their powers, or not using them. Are you crime-fighting, and saving the world, or not? Either, get on with it. or leave us all to our fate. As with any drama, there has to be a dark side, but we don't really know that much about them yet. Or care, at this stage. The whole thing is punctuated, if not very cleverly, with domestic and family problems. Especially teenage angst and all its heartaches, and anything else beginning and ending in bland, reminding us they're just `an ordinary family'. But they're not. That's the point. A point I feel we could have reached a helluva lot quicker than 11 episodes in. Why watch 11 episodes then? Only for the purpose of giving it a chance really. I know the makers of shows of this genre, ask us to suspend belief somewhat. But there is a difference between that, and an insult to our intelligence. Some of the stuff, although not that important, is just plain silly. The instantly built lair (What are all those screens for. Eh? Jim never looks at anything. He just jumps around keeping the roof repairers in business). The fact that George holds down a very important job as an Assistant DA, eventhough he's hardly ever there, is unbelievable. Maybe it's his chronic insomnia, which keeps him going, day and night. 'The dude never sleeps'. BTW Stephanie. it doesn't matter how fast you vaccum, it won't pick up any quicker. lol. Sorry. I'm just being cruel now. AND, by no means least, are we supposed to believe that when Daphne reads a guy's mind when he's looking at her, he's thinking, ' Hey, she's kinda cute'. Yeah right!! I know that people say you should stick with something until you've given it a decent chance. In this case, if I'd stuck any closer with it, we'd have needed to be surgically seperated. I hope this show does something soon, or I'll be running as fast as Stephanie, in the opposite direction from my TV, before I accquire the Superpower of relentless boredom. Expand
  18. Jan 13, 2011
    8
    Let's give this show a chance for character development. I think of it as a sci-fi show. Like all good shows it takes time to get to know the people. They need to do more mystery or cliff hangers. We need some family shows where we are fighting the bad guys with out having to make politically correct statements. This is a new kind of super hero show where the people have real vulnerability with out running around in a cape. Expand
  19. Mar 8, 2011
    4
    The idea is good, but the development is poor. The worst thing of the show is the teenage actors and the sidekicks. Chiklis and Benz try to save the show, but the dialogues are too poor to do something about it.
    There is a lack of plot and the fx are BAD!
  20. Mar 29, 2011
    4
    I have a hard time watching No Ordinary Family because I had SUCH HIGH HOPES before it premiered. Ever since then every time I watch im just reminded of what kind of show it could (should) have been.
  21. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    I'll give this show an honest 8. For those of you who mentioned it, yes, the show has had slow points. It wasn't so much that the episodes were bad though. The fact is that people want an early payout whereas this series enjoyed it's time in a process of building. Now, at the end of the season there are so many character and powers showing up, who couldn't love this show. ,
  22. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    One thing that bothers me is that good shows are brought on T.V and then many would rather watch shows like Dancing reality T.V. The cast and story brought imagination, wth a bit of suspense, humor, with a touch of romance. Even brought a few times that you wanted to hit the T.V. I will be heart broken if this show doesn't return to T.V. I usually don't sit and watch, but this show has brought my family in front of the T.V. and gave us entertainment that I believe people need to get away from reality for the hour it is presented on air. Collapse
  23. Aug 11, 2013
    5
    There has certainly been no shortage of superhero's on TV in recent years and, as a result, any new shows in the genre need to be truly great to stand out. Unfortunately No Ordinary Family can only be described as, well, ordinary.

    The cast, that includes Micheal Chiklis and the gorgeous Julie Benz, is certainly very good but they are let down by an average script as well as the slow
    moving, and quite frankly rather dull, plot. To make matters worse this is very much a 'family drama' (complete with moody teenage kids) and so there is absolutely zero chance of anything particularly shocking happening to any of the main cast.

    If you have young(ish) kids this might be something worth watching together but there are certainly much better drama series available.
    Expand
  24. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is a great show im am completely addicted to it i dont get why they end it wit loads of questions with loads to answer.would abc read all this to see how well the shw is doin or even tv sites would they check them Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Kris King
    63
    The pilot offers up the promising and the bland in about equal measure. With its accomplished adult cast, and writers from Chuck and Smallville, the show could go on to make for a pretty fun adventure series, but the looming threat of boring teenage gloom and the hints of a convoluted plot involving Stephanie Powell's sinister employer could sink whatever potential there is.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    50
    Family is a trifle--part comic book, part kids' show--that is perfectly pleasant but without edge, bite or dramatic heft. With Chiklis aboard, it's like witnessing a concert pianist execute an elaborate version of "Chopsticks."
  3. The show's premise has enormous potential--it's essentially a live-action version of "The Incredibles," about a family that gains superpowers--but Tuesday's premiere disappoints with its slow-moving plot and whiny characters.