No Ordinary Family : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 28, 2010
No Ordinary Family Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After a plane crash, the Powell family return home to discover they have superpowers.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense, Science Fiction

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Ordinary is super at capturing a middle-class family suffering from self-imposed Kryptonite poisoning
  2. What's different--and refreshing--about ABC's No Ordinary Family is that the efforts made to convince you that the Powells are normal, while entirely sincere, don't last long. Their supposed normalcy disintegrates into something more fun and potentially more compelling well before the pilot's end credits begin to roll.
  3. 75
    Who doesn't want to see Vic Mackey catch bullets with his bare hands? [But] You might be longing for Vic Mackey to crush skulls with his bare hands after a few minutes of this happy-go-lucky, discovering-the-importance-of-family romp.
  4. Chiklis ("The Shield," "Fantastic Four") and Benz ("Dexter") are appealing leads, and "No Ordinary Family" will most likely rise and fall on their backs.
  5. 63
    It was all a bit too corny and predictable for my taste, though. Add a mutant strain of irony, and they just might gain another super-fan.
  6. Maybe there are superheroes who specialize in improving organic-farming methods or eradicating bedbugs, but they probably won't be getting network shows any time soon. Shows that parents might be willing to watch with their kids--and kids with their parents--remain few and far between, so it's too bad that the so far ordinary but at least well-meaning No Ordinary Family is facing off this fall against the phenomenon that is Fox's "Glee."
  7. Again and again, the show takes what should be subtext and turned it into stilted dialogue that grows repetitive very quickly.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is a great show im am completely addicted to it i dont get why they end it wit loads of questions with loads to answer.would abc read all this to see how well the shw is doin or even tv sites would they check them Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2015
    9
    Loved no ordinary family! Great cliff hangers, waiting for next series? when is next series out?
    Great writing! Just now wanting
    Loved no ordinary family! Great cliff hangers, waiting for next series? when is next series out?
    Great writing! Just now wanting more....waiting......??
    Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    8
    OK, it doesn't show promise of being the greatest thing on television, but I have found each episode fully engaging, and have not turned offOK, it doesn't show promise of being the greatest thing on television, but I have found each episode fully engaging, and have not turned off the TV before the end of any one of them. This is actually a relatively rare threshold for me, since I have too much to do, and have had for years. I always liked Chiklis, so I was interested to just see how his show went. I surprised myself by enjoying him but also Benz and Malco. Enough nattering, though: The acting really is very good, the plotting could use a bit of work but is generally well-paced. The direction needs even more work, the limited shooting until the most recent couple episodes was so claustrophobic one would wonder whether the setting was a big city or a town with a school, police station and 5 houses. The scripts are uneven, but generally solid. I'm not going to bother with spoilers, but the dialog can stretch credulity, particularly the parts assigned to the kids. I'll grant that a telepath and an emotionally immature super-genius are difficult to write for, but hey, that's why we watch it on tv, because we couldn't do better work ourselves. I'm going to rate relatively high based on the many high points, and to a small extent, the cleverness of the concept. It is very difficult to break new ground with superhero stories, but this one carries it off reasonably well. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2010
    5
    This family of (fantastic) four can be somewhat bland and whiny, they can annoy you with sanitized cursing ("goshes" and "hecks" abound) andThis family of (fantastic) four can be somewhat bland and whiny, they can annoy you with sanitized cursing ("goshes" and "hecks" abound) and teen/marital problems you have seen a thousand times (and done much better), but it can also be kind of fun in the superpower-exerting parts. At least it does not seem it will be utterly pointless and pay-off-free like "Heroes". This is a superhero show for the whole family and, as it is often the case, no member of the family will be terribly excited about it. But no-one will hate it either. So... Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2013
    5
    There has certainly been no shortage of superhero's on TV in recent years and, as a result, any new shows in the genre need to be truly greatThere has certainly been no shortage of superhero's on TV in recent years and, as a result, any new shows in the genre need to be truly great to stand out. Unfortunately No Ordinary Family can only be described as, well, ordinary.

    The cast, that includes Micheal Chiklis and the gorgeous Julie Benz, is certainly very good but they are let down by an average script as well as the slow moving, and quite frankly rather dull, plot. To make matters worse this is very much a 'family drama' (complete with moody teenage kids) and so there is absolutely zero chance of anything particularly shocking happening to any of the main cast.

    If you have young(ish) kids this might be something worth watching together but there are certainly much better drama series available.
    Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    4
    The idea is good, but the development is poor. The worst thing of the show is the teenage actors and the sidekicks. Chiklis and Benz try toThe idea is good, but the development is poor. The worst thing of the show is the teenage actors and the sidekicks. Chiklis and Benz try to save the show, but the dialogues are too poor to do something about it.
    There is a lack of plot and the fx are BAD!
    Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2011
    1
    I was intrigued by the whole premise of this show. A family with superpowers. Wow!! Not exactly original, but hey!! not alot is these days.I was intrigued by the whole premise of this show. A family with superpowers. Wow!! Not exactly original, but hey!! not alot is these days. The only thing bigger than Micheal 'Jim Powell' Chiklis's biceps in this show, was the dissapointment in what could have been, and hopefully, may still be, a potentially interesting idea. However, the writing is so bad, that no matter how top-heavy with well-known actors the cast is, it can't be saved. I'm afraid, bad writing, equals bad acting. Sorry. I have watched eleven episodes so far, and it still hasn't really estabilshed where it's at. I know that shows like this can take their own time to bed in. Sometimes we can find a gem we haven't watched from the start, and then have to go back and play catch-up, when everyone else is talking about it. But this is ridiculious. The main problem, and the most tiresome one for me, is the constant arguing about using their powers, or not using them. Are you crime-fighting, and saving the world, or not? Either, get on with it. or leave us all to our fate. As with any drama, there has to be a dark side, but we don't really know that much about them yet. Or care, at this stage. The whole thing is punctuated, if not very cleverly, with domestic and family problems. Especially teenage angst and all its heartaches, and anything else beginning and ending in bland, reminding us they're just `an ordinary family'. But they're not. That's the point. A point I feel we could have reached a helluva lot quicker than 11 episodes in. Why watch 11 episodes then? Only for the purpose of giving it a chance really. I know the makers of shows of this genre, ask us to suspend belief somewhat. But there is a difference between that, and an insult to our intelligence. Some of the stuff, although not that important, is just plain silly. The instantly built lair (What are all those screens for. Eh? Jim never looks at anything. He just jumps around keeping the roof repairers in business). The fact that George holds down a very important job as an Assistant DA, eventhough he's hardly ever there, is unbelievable. Maybe it's his chronic insomnia, which keeps him going, day and night. 'The dude never sleeps'. BTW Stephanie. it doesn't matter how fast you vaccum, it won't pick up any quicker. lol. Sorry. I'm just being cruel now. AND, by no means least, are we supposed to believe that when Daphne reads a guy's mind when he's looking at her, he's thinking, ' Hey, she's kinda cute'. Yeah right!! I know that people say you should stick with something until you've given it a decent chance. In this case, if I'd stuck any closer with it, we'd have needed to be surgically seperated. I hope this show does something soon, or I'll be running as fast as Stephanie, in the opposite direction from my TV, before I accquire the Superpower of relentless boredom. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews