• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 12, 2012
  • Season #: 1
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    This is a solid piece of work about the history of the US that we usually never hear or see about. As they say, the winners write the history, and its always a history that serves the interests of the winners. Oliver Stone tells the history of the losers, the weak, and the ignored. This show also does a great job dramatizing events.
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    the video equivalent of Howard Zinn's "Peoples History of the US". This is the historic reality that most of the the world knows, outside of our own myth-fed public. Must viewing for the majority of our population that still clings to the self-serving historical pablum fed us by our corporatocracy through its educational, media and political organs.
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Oliver Stone is just about as much a "leftist" as Henry Wallace was a Communist! If anything he is a great patriot, who underwent a huge effort to tell us his insights about the greatest story of all; the history of mankind. Yes the president of the US at the time (Truman) was nothing but a schoolyard bully. And yes, many of the enemies the US have nowadays, the US simply produced themselves. It is crucial that we start to understand, why there are such vast parts of the world who hate the US. So I'd personally rather start looking the truth in the eye, even if it hurts, than to go on, like nothing is happening and if, it is still for sure all the others' fault! 'Cos we are the good ones, hooray! So the other ones HAVE to be the bad ones! Hooaaahh!! I say the russians love their children too, and we should never forget that we are one big mankind! And it is just about time that we admit the erroneous ways of out past, just like other did before us, dor the truth shall set us free! Thank you, Mister Stone for producing this document of epic political and humanitarian significance, and for putting your head, your heart and your energy into this great piece of historical and philosophical work! Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Excellent show - educational - always good to get a different perspective on received history.
    Whether or not you agree with his sentiment, his facts are undeniable and that's the education.
    If only every country had someone doing this on their history.
    Well done Oliver
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    A very personal reflection of the achievements, opportunities (both seized and squandered) and failings of the USA in the last 100 years.

    Stone clearly has his own favourites and enemies, and will be villified by the right for not being a patriot, but I thought this was a provocative, thoughtful and ultimately satisfying history of Uncle Sam. Stone flits between archive footage,
    Hollywood rewritings and old interviews to get his message across.

    Compulsive viewing, don't ever expect to see it on Fox News though.
    Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    You could turn the sound down and be floored simply by the images. I do think Stone would have been better served by choosing a narrator but even so...
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    Knowing Stone's interest in illuminating some dark shadows in our past I eagerly wait future episodes. Must admit I thought there would be more skeletons revealed in the first show but I was intrigued throughout.
  8. Jan 10, 2013
    5
    Stumbling into the series I was skeptical at first since Oliver Stone is a liberal filmmaker, however, in this series there is very little bias. One thing the series does well is incorporating the film clips from speeches, films, and other historically important event. However, the show contains many issues in relation to it's production which includes the fact that episodes runs a little bit too long resulting in some parts being very repetitive and stale. Overall, the audience will learn a few interesting and important key historical facts from the series and that's about it. Expand
  9. Jan 11, 2013
    2
    This is like they recorded Oliver Stone doing a Youtube comments section style rant and then added video clips to it later. It just rambles alluding to conspiracies but never following up on them that would actually make it entertaining. Very dis-jointed and jumps around all over the place it makes your head spin. He moves so fast that it doesn't give you enough time to reflect on how dumb it is. I am left of center and this stuff is for far left wing conspiracy nuts. The history of the world is so simple and black and white in Oliver Stone's view that I kinda wish it was all true. If only it was just rich industrialists and Republicans that causes all the wars we could stop all wars pretty easily. Expand
  10. Jan 17, 2013
    1
    Ignoring the first episode (which contained absolutely nothing untold and held no surprises at all for any semi-educated person), the series has proven to be slightly confusing. While at times it seems that it is nothing but elaborately phrased and painfully obvious extreme leftist propaganda, this is led ad absurdum when Stone attacks monuments of left wing politics with no other intend but to make himself appear more credible, more critical and more analytical. It is painful to watch because it uses the most brutish, most obvious and most unworthy rhetorical methods possible. It is a disgrace for any side in the political spectrum, it is mostly uninformative and it leaves the bitter aftertaste of stuporous misinformation and conspiracy nutjob babbling. At least it DOES give some insight into the thoughts of confused leftist conspiracy nutjobs and history revisionists. Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2012
    1
    Some interesting points, but sadly it is overwhelmed by conspiracy theory conjecture that is a hallmark of Stones work. He significantly glosses over any of the negative sides of communism and
    totalitarianism, making one think that they were benign systems that only failed because of subversion from a corrupt United States. Mostly a waste of time watching it.
  12. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    Terrible, without doubt a lie...Where is the story of industrialists? Prescott Bush & Hitler? Wall Street? English Lords? They all supported fascism...Where is that story...Oliver Stone has either lied or been threatened...If anyone has a problem with what i wrote take it up with me and I will happily provide historical evidence - Oliver Stone is a lying scum bag degenerate fool
  13. Dec 3, 2012
    0
    I'm not sure what a far leftist Hollywood producer is doing writing History Channel documentaries. By the over the top anti-American skew of this series, History Channel might as well have hired Michael Moore. Time and time again, we are treated to highly one sided stories which paint the U.S. in the worst possible light. This series, while sometimes interesting, is not history. It is propaganda. I wonder if History Channel would be OK with a similar series by the likes of Rush Limbaugh? Collapse
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. 70
    Four years in the making and ten hours long, it's a remarkable, if dense and often difficult program--at once the most stylistically stripped-down thing Stone has done and (somehow) the most Oliver Stone-y.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Nov 12, 2012
    50
    Narrated by Stone with no other voices (save actors filling in for various world leaders), Untold History is a hodgepodge of terrific if often disturbing historical footage and bizarre theatrical asides (including, at one point, the dictionary definition of "empathy" spelled out on the screen) that are almost overwhelmed by its invasive soundtrack.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Nov 12, 2012
    30
    It is relentless and ultimately meretricious in skewing history to its conceit that the United States is a murderous war machine destroying everything in its path to empire.