• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Once Upon a Time in Wonderland Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sophie Lowe stars as Alice in a spin-off from ABC's Once Upon a Time, with storylines inspired by Lewis Carroll's fantasy stories. As in the original series, Wonderland mixes scenes set in the present day with flashbacks to the past. Emmy Rigby, John Lithgow, and Naveen Andrews also star in this 13-episode debut season. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 10, 2013
    80
    There is plenty of that--the good, the beautiful and the etc. Some of it is conjured by CG magic (the Red Queen's palace is splendid, and the White Rabbit's ears a masterwork), and some by just good storytelling and performer chemistry, which Lowe and Socha have in abundance. Add to that a smattering of witty dialogue, clever character twists and, of course, the Victo-goth steampunk look, and ABC has another shot at redefining the family hour.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 9, 2013
    75
    The plot is a little overstuffed, but the special effects, crisp direction and high-octane performances keep us interested enough to follow Alice down the rabbit hole.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Oct 10, 2013
    70
    Lowe's job of selling Alice's yearning for Wonderland is all the more remarkable for the fact that her world-spanning love with Cyrus comes off a little bit limp in the premiere.
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 9, 2013
    63
    I can't help but believe that if this new series focused on the dark, foreboding tone in its asylum scenes, it could become a powerful, trippy 9 p.m. drama.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 9, 2013
    60
    A slick effects extravaganza whose pilot episode kept me looking instead of enjoying.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 10, 2013
    58
    As our wanderer through the rabbit hole, Lowe lacks conviction, but Socha is a true charmer as the Knave, and fans will be making wishes for Alice to dump the dreary genie for the rogue. With the mothership’s leads on a similar quest for a missing boy, Wonderland seems like an exercise in magical redundancy.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 9, 2013
    30
    In “Once Upon a Time,” the multiple time streams were clever at first but proliferated to a point of wearying confusion. Wonderland skips straight to bewilderment.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Once Upon a Time in Wonderland is a breath of fresh air when comparing it to other network television. Finally, a show with an interesting, unique premise with a good storyline. I am so sick and tired of generic comedies, singing shows, and the unfathomable amount of crime series. Wonderland is unique and brings to life a world we learned about during our childhood. I hope that ABC will keep this show running and not crawl back to the generic boring crap most networks put on. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    I think this show is absolutely terrific!!!! Please please please don't let them cancel it. Give us at least one more season. I think the cast is great. I think the special effects are spectacular. I am so looking forward to the next season. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    I love this show! As to be expected, this first season is slow but this is the case with most every story. Time to established a plot and show character growth and development shouldn't happen over night. If it did, then there would be no story. That being said, i hope they keep it on for a second season so we can see where the story really goes. I think it has a lot of potential, just maybe some better decisions when it comes to the writing. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    I'm yet to decide where I stand on this series. Sophie Lowe is exceptional as Alice, and the other cast members bring solid support. But I can't help but wonder; was it necessary to make this show? I'm sure we could have gotten the same amount of fun from a few episodes of once upon a time. Do we really need 22 episodes? Don't get me wrong, I'm enjoying it. It's fun escapism. An hour of bubbly company. A guilty-pleasure if nothing else. But again, was it necessary? Collapse
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    It's a good show. There is however, some give and take between the quality of the scripting and the plot-line. The tandem story-lines and how they connect at the end of each episode is good, but sometimes it seems to just lack a certain complexity. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2013
    5
    I like Once upon a time, and I'm a 28 YO White male. I think OUAT has some interesting remakes of popular characters and I like seeing where they go, even if the episodes sometimes drag.

    This... felt weird. Right from the start. Perhaps that is fitting for a tale about Wonderland and Alice, but, I think it might have lost me, and I give pilot episodes a LOT of leeway and drift.

    Here's what's up acting, actually relatively decent. They have a great actor from Britain (previously on Being Human) as the Knave of Hearts, and honestly I only found his part's to be entertaining.

    The entire romantic storyline was so shoddely put together that it felt terrible. It was forced, and it was so briefly introduced. They really could have skipped it entirely except for references to "a genie, or him" and come up with better motives for Alice going into Wonderland. And... what time period are we in? Alice's father seems like he dresses for the early 1900's or 1800's but then the Knave is in modern day storybrooke? Uh... what?

    The story's internal consistency there leaves a LOT to be desired. The main female actor is frankly terrible. her dialogue is even worse. When are these writers going to start giving these actor's lines that any decently intelligent human can't see coming miles away?

    Action scenes? hah, well other than being classically awful in the few we had, the cgi also looked really cheap. They screwed themselves by creating a story that relies so much on the territory of Wonderland... which really should look more unique. I understand everything is darker now... but not only did the contrast feel off so did the colors of the plants.

    The only part I liked, the introduction of the cat...

    Ways to turn this show around? Perhaps make the main actor a little more observant, or the Knave? That's his world, and he doesn't see ANYTHING wrong right off the bat? Or if he knows (like he may seem to) whats going on, wouldn't he say SOMETHING to Alice?

    This show needs something beyond faith and hope. OUAT is fascinating, and a fun adventure. This feels like a pale shadow, for spin offs done right, look to the Originals and Vampire Diaries. Both shows are QUITE different, despite coming from the same place.

    This feels just like OUAT except with worse acting, visuals, and plot. Recommend staying away unless the writers drastically turn this around. But I doubt they will.
    Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2013
    2
    I rated the pilot a couple of weeks back and now the third episode aired a few nights ago and i just want to point out that it was awful. this show is going nowhere! Stick to the original Once upon a time not it's cheap spin-off Expand

See all 21 User Reviews