Once Upon a Time in Wonderland : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2013
Once Upon a Time in Wonderland Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sophie Lowe stars as Alice in a spin-off from ABC's Once Upon a Time, with storylines inspired by Lewis Carroll's fantasy stories. As in the original series, Wonderland mixes scenes set in the present day with flashbacks to the past. Emmy Rigby, John Lithgow, and Naveen Andrews also star inSophie Lowe stars as Alice in a spin-off from ABC's Once Upon a Time, with storylines inspired by Lewis Carroll's fantasy stories. As in the original series, Wonderland mixes scenes set in the present day with flashbacks to the past. Emmy Rigby, John Lithgow, and Naveen Andrews also star in this 13-episode debut season. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 10, 2013
    80
    There is plenty of that--the good, the beautiful and the etc. Some of it is conjured by CG magic (the Red Queen's palace is splendid, and the White Rabbit's ears a masterwork), and some by just good storytelling and performer chemistry, which Lowe and Socha have in abundance. Add to that a smattering of witty dialogue, clever character twists and, of course, the Victo-goth steampunk look, and ABC has another shot at redefining the family hour.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 9, 2013
    75
    The plot is a little overstuffed, but the special effects, crisp direction and high-octane performances keep us interested enough to follow Alice down the rabbit hole.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Oct 10, 2013
    70
    Lowe's job of selling Alice's yearning for Wonderland is all the more remarkable for the fact that her world-spanning love with Cyrus comes off a little bit limp in the premiere.
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 9, 2013
    63
    I can't help but believe that if this new series focused on the dark, foreboding tone in its asylum scenes, it could become a powerful, trippy 9 p.m. drama.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 9, 2013
    60
    A slick effects extravaganza whose pilot episode kept me looking instead of enjoying.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 10, 2013
    58
    As our wanderer through the rabbit hole, Lowe lacks conviction, but Socha is a true charmer as the Knave, and fans will be making wishes for Alice to dump the dreary genie for the rogue. With the mothership’s leads on a similar quest for a missing boy, Wonderland seems like an exercise in magical redundancy.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 9, 2013
    30
    In “Once Upon a Time,” the multiple time streams were clever at first but proliferated to a point of wearying confusion. Wonderland skips straight to bewilderment.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Once Upon a Time in Wonderland is a breath of fresh air when comparing it to other network television. Finally, a show with an interesting,Once Upon a Time in Wonderland is a breath of fresh air when comparing it to other network television. Finally, a show with an interesting, unique premise with a good storyline. I am so sick and tired of generic comedies, singing shows, and the unfathomable amount of crime series. Wonderland is unique and brings to life a world we learned about during our childhood. I hope that ABC will keep this show running and not crawl back to the generic boring crap most networks put on. Collapse
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    I think this show is absolutely terrific!!!! Please please please don't let them cancel it. Give us at least one more season. I think theI think this show is absolutely terrific!!!! Please please please don't let them cancel it. Give us at least one more season. I think the cast is great. I think the special effects are spectacular. I am so looking forward to the next season. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    I love this show! As to be expected, this first season is slow but this is the case with most every story. Time to established a plot and showI love this show! As to be expected, this first season is slow but this is the case with most every story. Time to established a plot and show character growth and development shouldn't happen over night. If it did, then there would be no story. That being said, i hope they keep it on for a second season so we can see where the story really goes. I think it has a lot of potential, just maybe some better decisions when it comes to the writing. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    7
    The show is pretty unnecessary, the storyline could be weaved into a back-story of the regular Once Upon a Time series. The plot is OK, but itThe show is pretty unnecessary, the storyline could be weaved into a back-story of the regular Once Upon a Time series. The plot is OK, but it still isn't too interesting. Same stuff we've seen before.

    It was cool seeing characters from the originals series and I hope they have more connections considering that this is a spin-off with completely brand new characters.
    Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2013
    7
    I'm loving this show It makes us disover a new way to interpete the Lewis Caroll's books, and I love the environmment, the plot is simple,I'm loving this show It makes us disover a new way to interpete the Lewis Caroll's books, and I love the environmment, the plot is simple, but fits. I hope it will continue. I just want writers to now find another story line not involving love. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2015
    5
    I usually only write reviews for video games, but felt the urge to write some about Wonderland.

    While the series on its own swings
    I usually only write reviews for video games, but felt the urge to write some about Wonderland.

    While the series on its own swings throughout its 13 episodes from OK to extremely mediocre, I think it is a serious disgrace to Once Upon a Time.

    I really had high hopes for this season, as I really loved the main series and I really love the world and stories of Wonderland.

    Sadly this goes a few levels below the parent series in almost every possible way.
    Although the music is amazing as always (thanks to the talented Mark Isham), and Wonderland looks visually stunning (although sometimes too 'computerized', but I can totally forgive that), the rest just doesn't make up for the series being just a big meeeh for me.

    It tries to focus each episode on two different storylines, just like Once Upon a Time, and while the parent series does so masterfully and wonderfully, Wonderland seems like it simply couldn't accumulate to this formula, and the result is as I already said, very mediocre.

    There are very few of those amazing twists we had in OUAT, and here the seemingly lazy story, the dull script, the so-so actors and the not-too intriguing characters, which have a very (very!) simplistic and obvious course of development throughout the series, simply don't add too much entertainment value to this series.

    I've also expected some cross-overs and interesting connections to the parent series.
    They weren't too impressive or thoughtful, to say the least.
    And sadly, we end up with a series which is barely worth anyone's time, in my humble opinion, aside from some very rare good moments here and there, which, truthfully, I could live without watching.
    Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2013
    2
    I rated the pilot a couple of weeks back and now the third episode aired a few nights ago and i just want to point out that it was awful. thisI rated the pilot a couple of weeks back and now the third episode aired a few nights ago and i just want to point out that it was awful. this show is going nowhere! Stick to the original Once upon a time not it's cheap spin-off Expand

See all 22 User Reviews