• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Orange Is the New Black remains a vibrantly hued, singular achievement. Darkly dramatic and comedically spiked, it deals in the dehumanization and restoration of both guards and inmates.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Jun 10, 2014
    100
    Everybody inside and outside of Litchfield’s walls matters. That shouldn’t feel revolutionary. That it does speaks both to how essential this show is and how much most other TV shows will have to do to catch up to it.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 6, 2014
    100
    Season two of Orange Is the New Black delivers immediately, stays relevant and entertaining, and gives the impression that it has learned a lot of life lessons inside the system.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    It's the show it was last year, but in many ways better.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 4, 2014
    100
    n terms of character and ambitious writing and acting, Orange Is the New Black is certainly one of the best shows going, however you choose to watch it
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 4, 2014
    100
    TV--or whatever it is we're calling Netflix--doesn't get much better than that.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 4, 2014
    100
    Through the six episodes of the second season made available to critics, it's clear that Orange is not only as great as it was the first season, but arguably even better.... It's terrific.
  8. Audacious plot lines help to keep Orange Is the New Black so unusual and refreshing. It's the one prison show that you may never want to escape.
  9. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 2, 2014
    100
    Judging by the first six episodes, this round is just as addicting as the first, the ensemble rising to the occasion of topping their first outting.
  10. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jun 2, 2014
    100
    Creator Jenji Kohan (“Weeds”) continues to tell the fascinating stories of women rarely seen on “TV” in season two.
  11. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Jun 2, 2014
    100
    Orange Is the New Black might be the closest thing we have to Charles Dickens right now: a sharp denunciation of an arcane system, driven by hardscrabble characters with whimsical names that define who they are and what they like.
  12. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 5, 2014
    91
    There isn’t another show that can go from laugh-out-loud funny to soul-crushing sadness in a beat.
  13. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 4, 2014
    91
    If you loved last season, there's nothing so far to indicate you won't like the second just as much.
  14. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Aug 7, 2014
    90
    By the finale, Season 2 is stronger than Season 1, largely because it’s more uncompromising about its characters, at once more nuanced and more damning.
  15. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Jun 11, 2014
    90
    The people of Orange offer some of the best times, and company, to be found on TV.
  16. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 6, 2014
    90
    Just as in TV’s first flashback-heavy, multi-character drama “Lost,” it’s the flashbacks that deepen and humanize the characters, and that makes Orange a unique and outstanding series. Piper’s story may draw viewers to the show, but it’s her fellow inmates who make time spent inside this women’s prison worthwhile.
  17. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 5, 2014
    90
    Even if not every storyline sings and if Season 2 occasionally lacks the forward momentum that Pipex gave it, I still marvel at the urgency that underpins much of OITNB.
  18. Reviewed by: Diane Garrett
    Jun 5, 2014
    90
    Orange Is the New Black is as scatological as ever in the second season and leans awfully heavily on lesbian sex to the point of repetition. But where it shines most is when it shows the sense of dislocation inmates can have from being shuffled around with little explanation. Prisoners come and go, and they all seem to have a story.
  19. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jun 5, 2014
    90
    The memorable characters, playful tone, and subtle examination of culture, gender, and social roles continue to impress, as does the underrated ensemble, led by more confident work from Taylor Schilling than in the first season. If anything feels different, that’s it. There’s a striking sense of confidence across the board.
  20. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 5, 2014
    90
    Almost every woman is a good person who made or was forced to make a bad decision, instead of something more sinister, more evil, or even more banal--as if these too were not human characteristics.... But if this sentimental streak is a little soft-headed, it springs from the series’ huge heart and its expansive humanism.
  21. Reviewed by: Kevin Fallon
    Jun 2, 2014
    90
    It’s better than the breakout first season, even, finally equalizing the wildly--though thrillingly--undulating tones and sprawling cast of characters into a streamlined and balanced, but just as original and bracing, mode of storytelling that makes the 13 episodes more bingeworthy than ever.
  22. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Jun 3, 2014
    88
    Orange Is the New Black is a cultural phenomenon and worthy crowd-pleaser--and is the one series everyone should watch this summer.
  23. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jun 19, 2014
    80
    Consider how well-crafted they are, you might want to pace yourself and savor every precious moment.
  24. 80
    The problem isn’t the sentiments but the clunky way they’re expressed--as if the writers are reserving the good dialogue for the regulars, along with the empathy.... The missteps are easy to forgive because, in content as well as form, ­Orange is a modestly revolutionary show.
  25. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    It's not quite perfection. Nearly everything to do with the character of Piper's fiancé, Larry (Jason Biggs), somewhat based on Kerman's now-husband Larry Bloom, seems problematic to me. Similarly, in emphasizing the humanity of the inmates, their warders have been made to look, for the most part, pathetic, foolish or monstrous. That is remedied in part this season by a deeper look at the staff, even as some of the more difficult prisoners, like Uzo Aduba's Crazy Eyes, are brought into better focus.
  26. Reviewed by: Sarah Huggins
    Jun 2, 2014
    80
    All in all the things we love about OITNB are still there--the dark humor, the camaraderie, the misery and the mystery.
  27. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 2, 2014
    80
    This season also takes a few scenes to get into gear. But it’s faster, and Schilling in particular slides right into her new rhythm as the seasoned prison veteran.
  28. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Jun 2, 2014
    80
    [The pasts of the ladies at Litchfield] are less “Shawshank Redemption” than “Goodfellas,” with every episode using sparse, smartly edited scenes to tell one inmate’s story.
  29. Reviewed by: Matt Brennan
    Jun 2, 2014
    75
    With the exception of the premiere's ingeniously disorienting first half, which is best left a surprise, the episodes that follow blend this communal melodrama with the flashback structure developed in season one.
  30. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 5, 2014
    70
    The show can be applauded for giving opportunities to a wide range of talented actresses and for representing a multiplicity of ethnicities and orientations in its characters, but the stories built around them are notable for their melodramatic underpinnings and an occasional willingness to resort to clichés.... But Ms. Kohan and her writers, abetted by their excellent cast, know how to leave us laughing.
  31. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 2, 2014
    50
    The new season’s highlights feel more scattershot, and the plot offers less urgency.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Jun 7, 2014
    5
    I'm sorry but 3 episodes in and i'm bored to tears. The characters have worn out their welcome. the european chef, the sassy latinas, theI'm sorry but 3 episodes in and i'm bored to tears. The characters have worn out their welcome. the european chef, the sassy latinas, the funky haired prisoners, the crazy christian piper beat up with the annoying voice. yawn. piper is as pale as ever, more downtrodden then before. boring/annoying. Full Review »
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Orange is the New Black is by far the most binge worthy show there is on Netflix. Throughout the entirety of season two it never failed toOrange is the New Black is by far the most binge worthy show there is on Netflix. Throughout the entirety of season two it never failed to make me laugh, feel angry, or feel sorry for the characters I have known for only 26 episodes. The character development is outstanding and all of the actors give nothing below a stellar performance. The mix of dark comedy and drama makes the tone right for every scene. What makes this particular 13 episodes even more satisfying is the fact that I can feel satisfied about the season I just witnessed and aren't going off the charts about that I have to wait months for episodes. That's the advantage about getting all the episodes at once, you don't get used to missing it every week or more. You can watch and enjoy. It is hard not to recognize that this show is something special and not something you watch when you have time, but crave the time you spend watching it. This is by far the most enjoyable show in a long time and I hope it stays that way. Full Review »
  3. Aug 3, 2014
    2
    I kept hearing great things from my friends and after finally watching it with them I don't understand how anyone enjoys this cheap soapI kept hearing great things from my friends and after finally watching it with them I don't understand how anyone enjoys this cheap soap opera... The actors are not very talented (Biggs and the main character are the only competent ones...), the script is convoluted, and it seems like every episode is a bottle episode leading up to nothing... I liked weeds from the same creator but they lost me when they became a soap opera and dropped the entire premise of the show and went to mexico... I think this could be a good show if it had better writing and actors, but even if that happens I won't give it another chance. Also the fact that this is labeled as a comedy is offensive. The fact that this show might win a single emmy is appalling. Full Review »