• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Leslie visits Washington, D.C. as Lucy Lawless, Glenne Headly and Jonathan Banks guest star on the fifth season of the comedy.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Sep 21, 2012
    100
    Parks and Recreation is a rare gem--a TV comedy that's sweet, good-hearted and even inspirational, but also completely hilarious.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 19, 2012
    91
    Parks and Rec remains funny, sharp and inventive.
  3. Reviewed by: Daniel Goldberg
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    While it's impossible not to love the competent and principled new Leslie, the character is at her funniest when she breaks from the show's easygoing pace and frenetically attempts to discharge her own anxieties by talking at the camera and protesting too much that her idealism is intact.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Parks and Recreation keeps it AMAZINGLY FUNNY! I love this TV show, it has become my favorite sitcom. It is smart, creative and, mostParks and Recreation keeps it AMAZINGLY FUNNY! I love this TV show, it has become my favorite sitcom. It is smart, creative and, most important, funny!! Please watch this piece of art, you won't regret it! Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Parks and Recreation is one of the best comedy's on NBC, along with a great cast. Each season gets better and better. This season is gonna getParks and Recreation is one of the best comedy's on NBC, along with a great cast. Each season gets better and better. This season is gonna get some more Emmy award nominations. Expand
  3. May 28, 2013
    10
    TV's funniest ensemble cast anchored by Amy Poehler and Nick Offerman delivers... SURPRISE: The best show on television. What more can youTV's funniest ensemble cast anchored by Amy Poehler and Nick Offerman delivers... SURPRISE: The best show on television. What more can you say? Unfortunately, Parks and Rec has struggled in the ratings like most NBC sitcoms. However, adding insult to injury, it has been consistently denied countless honors that were once given to and equally funny 30 Rock. Unlike 30 Rock and The Office, Parks and Recreation is still at the top of its game as it heads into its sixth season. I expect that audiences and academy members alike will finally realize that Parks and Rec is one of the best shows on TV and give it its due recognition before it says goodbye in...2091. (please.) Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2014
    9
    Raunchier, sassier and emotionally charged, Season 5 proves as good as its previous seasons, only that a little less coherent in terms of plotRaunchier, sassier and emotionally charged, Season 5 proves as good as its previous seasons, only that a little less coherent in terms of plot in the first episodes in comparison to season 4. Still, it takes everything you love about the world of Pawnee and its characters and makes it larger in scale, and it is also confident you know the world they created and starts playing with it with the return of old characters, personal jokes from each character and lots of cliff-hangers that makes the comedy so good to binge on. If you didn't watch Parks and Recreation yet, watch it. It is seriously an amazing comedy show. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    After being underwhelmed in Season one, I grew to really love this show. The characters are somewhat predictable, and most of them haveAfter being underwhelmed in Season one, I grew to really love this show. The characters are somewhat predictable, and most of them have certain catch-phrases or quirks, but somehow it's done in a way that is fresh and lovable. The series I feel just keeps getting better, where other shows fall, or limp on. This season has interesting relationship issues, very funny scenes and dialogue, and leaves me wanting more. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    One of the best shows on TV. I know many people gave up after the first season, but season 5 proves time and time again why it should beOne of the best shows on TV. I know many people gave up after the first season, but season 5 proves time and time again why it should be watched. The writing is wickedly funny and Amy Poehler consistently makes me laugh. Great show! Collapse
  7. Dec 26, 2014
    8
    While ultimately the laughs weren't as frequent for me in this season it managed to maintain being an enjoyable sitcom that keeps me invested.While ultimately the laughs weren't as frequent for me in this season it managed to maintain being an enjoyable sitcom that keeps me invested. The strength of this season and really the show as a whole is it's ability to make big plot moments when you least expect them.

    The big moments that most sitcoms would save for a season finale pop-up regularly throughout this season. It even introduces a recurring villain character and ditches a dumb relationship from last season. It manages to make some pretty big decisions without sacrificing what so many enjoy about the show. It manages to keep that familiarity without becoming stale. Something every other sitcom struggles with when going on for this long.

    The writing didn't always keep me laughing out loud this season, but it did keep me invested and very entertained. Very few sitcoms have lasted with me this long and still kept me very excited for the next season.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Parks and Recreation Series Finale

    Episode Review: Parks and Recreation Series Finale Image
    Published: February 25, 2015
    Find out what critics are saying about last night's series finale for NBC's Parks & Recreation.
  2. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  3. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  4. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  5. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.