• Network: Syfy , Space
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 29, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 7, 2013
    75
    The premiere is slow to start, but does get better if you hang in there--or in the case of the T-Rex, hang on there.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jun 6, 2013
    70
    The sets are somewhat spartan, and the cast of investigators almost uniformly young and good looking (a token geezer gets eviscerated early on), never a good sign if big budgets and verisimilitude are your thing. Yet the animals that matter look terrifyingly real, and the prospect of watching the human cast try to put the ferocious visitors back where they came from before "history unravels" is exciting.
  3. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Jun 10, 2013
    50
    Ultimately, both series [Sinbad and Primeval: New World] are the TV equivalent of summer beach reading: popcorn fun while they last, but don't expect a lasting impression.
  4. 40
    The CGI dinosaur renderings vary in quality, but the plot is fairly predictable from the get-go.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 7, 2013
    40
    An otherwise drab reboot of the British series that earned acclaim during its intermittent run on BBC America.
  6. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    May 24, 2013
    33
    It is very, very bad. And yet: Dinosaurs! [31 May/7 Jun 2013, p.131]
  7. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jun 10, 2013
    30
    There's no real chemistry among the cast--or much of a plot.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 6, 2013
    30
    Primeval, by contrast, makes the original series look like “King Kong” by comparison--not because the visual effects are bad, but because the plotting is so wooden that the human characters are about as interesting as impalas grazing in an open plain.
  9. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 7, 2013
    25
    The CGI stuff is cool; if only the acting were half as realistic.
  10. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 7, 2013
    0
    This thing is so bad, it makes SyFy's goofy piranha-gator-shark movies seem as if they were made by Terrence Malick.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Sep 4, 2014
    1
    This is really un-inpressive. It's such a shame, because the original British Primeval, i thought was amazing, but sadly New World justThis is really un-inpressive. It's such a shame, because the original British Primeval, i thought was amazing, but sadly New World just doesn't make me as excited as I was watching Primeval. A huge waste of potential too. An American series could've really made Primeval so much better. Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    3
    Lol no I'm so done with this show. I usually love crystal lowe's movies and shows but this one was just plain bad like I can't even. Very slowLol no I'm so done with this show. I usually love crystal lowe's movies and shows but this one was just plain bad like I can't even. Very slow to start with boring. Bad acting, etc Full Review »
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    Frankly, any critic giving this show a ridiculously low score, or likening this show to other Syfy original movies such as "Mothman" or "MegaFrankly, any critic giving this show a ridiculously low score, or likening this show to other Syfy original movies such as "Mothman" or "Mega Piranha" is intellectually dishonest; however, I will admit that the show definitely had a slow and generally disappointing start. That said, the second half of the series offered generally good computer graphics (as opposed to most Syfy movies which seem to shoot for the most unrealistic dinosaurs possible), decent acting, and a somewhat engaging story-line (if you can get past the glaring holes in the time-space continuum story plot). I, at the very least, appreciate Syfy's apparent attempt to create a new dinosaur drama. While the show was not perfect, at least it seemed like a good-faith effort at creating something entertaining and in that regard, they succeeded, as the show was, at times, generally entertaining. In that regard, I am saddened that like other shows, (*ahem* Terra Nova what's in the badlands?!?!?!) I will likely not receive the closure that I desire. C'est la vie! Full Review »